| Author |
Message |
 |
|
|
 |
|
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/01/20 16:41:42
Subject: Did the official finished FAQ (1/20/17) remove GSC first turn charge?
|
 |
Battlefortress Driver with Krusha Wheel
|
Or am I just reading it like I would like to see it. It seems some ways that army interacts changed today.
|
warhammer 40k mmo. If I can drive an ork trukk into the back of a space marine dread and explode in a fireball of epic, I can die happy!
8k points
3k points
3k points
Admech 2.5k points
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/01/20 17:08:44
Subject: Did the official finished FAQ (1/20/17) remove GSC first turn charge?
|
 |
Ragin' Ork Dreadnought
|
What specific ruling are you getting this from? Because I haven't seen it anywhere.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/01/20 17:11:26
Subject: Re:Did the official finished FAQ (1/20/17) remove GSC first turn charge?
|
 |
Quick-fingered Warlord Moderatus
|
What specific ruling are you getting this from? Because I haven't seen it anywhere.
I'm curious about that too. I didn't see it either, but it wouldn't be the first time I missed the obvious.
On one hand, it would be a shame as GSC would no longer be the meta-buster they currently are. On the other hand, it would be great as I wouldn't need to worry about including Greyfax in my Mechanicum lists. lol
|
Edit: I just googled ablutions and apparently it does not including dropping a duece. I should have looked it up early sorry for any confusion. - Baldsmug
Psiensis on the "good old days":
"Kids these days...
... I invented the 6th Ed meta back in 3rd ed.
Wait, what were we talking about again? Did I ever tell you about the time I gave you five bees for a quarter? That's what you'd say in those days, "give me five bees for a quarter", is what you'd say in those days. And you'd go down to the D&D shop, with an onion in your belt, 'cause that was the style of the time. So there I was in the D&D shop..." |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/01/20 17:55:49
Subject: Did the official finished FAQ (1/20/17) remove GSC first turn charge?
|
 |
Daemonic Dreadnought
|
You mean this one?
Q: If a unit has Infiltrate and is using Cult Ambush to deploy,
it’s not using Infiltrate as such. Does this mean it can charge in
the first turn?
A: No.
Not a GSC player. Help me understand - does this stop a first turn charge?
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/01/20 17:59:56
Subject: Did the official finished FAQ (1/20/17) remove GSC first turn charge?
|
 |
Trazyn's Museum Curator
|
techsoldaten wrote:You mean this one?
Q: If a unit has Infiltrate and is using Cult Ambush to deploy,
it’s not using Infiltrate as such. Does this mean it can charge in
the first turn?
A: No.
Not a GSC player. Help me understand - does this stop a first turn charge?
Yes? The question basically asks it. I don't see the confusion here.
|
What I have
~4100
~1660
Westwood lives in death!
Peace through power!
A longbeard when it comes to Necrons and WHFB. Grumble Grumble
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/01/20 18:02:25
Subject: Did the official finished FAQ (1/20/17) remove GSC first turn charge?
|
 |
Shadowy Grot Kommittee Memba
|
the "6" result of the Cult Ambush level specifically states that they can charge even if it is turn 1 or even if they arrive from reserves, doesn't it?
|
"Got you, Yugi! Your Rubric Marines can't fall back because I have declared the tertiary kaptaris ka'tah stance two, after the secondary dacatarai ka'tah last turn!"
"So you think, Kaiba! I declared my Thousand Sons the cult of Duplicity, which means all my psykers have access to the Sorcerous Facade power! Furthermore I will spend 8 Cabal Points to invoke Cabbalistic Focus, causing the rubrics to appear behind your custodes! The Vengeance for the Wronged and Sorcerous Fullisade stratagems along with the Malefic Maelstrom infernal pact evoked earlier in the command phase allows me to double their firepower, letting me wound on 2s and 3s!"
"you think it is you who has gotten me, yugi, but it is I who have gotten you! I declare the ever-vigilant stratagem to attack your rubrics with my custodes' ranged weapons, which with the new codex are now DAMAGE 2!!"
"...which leads you straight into my trap, Kaiba, you see I now declare the stratagem Implacable Automata, reducing all damage from your attacks by 1 and triggering my All is Dust special rule!" |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/01/20 18:03:46
Subject: Did the official finished FAQ (1/20/17) remove GSC first turn charge?
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
The reason regular infiltrating units can't charge turn 1 is because the infiltrate rule says you can't.
Cult ambush replaces infiltrate, so I suppose you could say that restriction wasn't there.
Basically this answer is just patching that hole and saying that cult ambushers can not charge on rolls less than a 6.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/01/20 18:08:04
Subject: Did the official finished FAQ (1/20/17) remove GSC first turn charge?
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Yeah, nothing groundbreaking there. HOWEVER their answers on what does and doesn't happen during the "deployment Cult Ambush" are really odd. Like the Cult Ambush instead of Infiltrating is counting as stationary during shooting, but one arriving after deployment is counting as having moved.
|
Galef wrote:If you refuse to use rock, you will never beat scissors. |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/01/20 19:12:04
Subject: Did the official finished FAQ (1/20/17) remove GSC first turn charge?
|
 |
Heroic Senior Officer
|
Arson Fire wrote:The reason regular infiltrating units can't charge turn 1 is because the infiltrate rule says you can't.
Cult ambush replaces infiltrate, so I suppose you could say that restriction wasn't there.
Basically this answer is just patching that hole and saying that cult ambushers can not charge on rolls less than a 6.
Then that is what they should have said. But they didn't. What they did say was that if using Ambush instead of Infiltrate, you cannot assault on the first turn... they don't specify any dice roll, they don't say unless you rolled a 6, they just say "No."
Which makes no sense at all. Because the Ambush rule says you have to use Ambush to be able to assault on the first turn... Automatically Appended Next Post: the_scotsman wrote:the "6" result of the Cult Ambush level specifically states that they can charge even if it is turn 1 or even if they arrive from reserves, doesn't it?
Yep.
"Unlike other units that Infiltrate or arrive from Reserves, the ambushing unit can charge in their first turn or on the turn they arrive from Reserves."
So let's see, if you Infiltrate as normal, you cannot charge on the fist turn. Got it. Per the FAQ, if you use Cult Ambush instead of Infiltrate, you... CANNOT ... charge on the first turn. Huh? Just a flat out "no.". If they meant No, unless it is a '6', then they should have said that. They didn't.
And actually, nowhere in the rule does it specify the '6' result. It merely says the 'ambushing unit' and refers to both infiltrating and Reserves, where the '6' result only specifies a 3" infiltrate. So why mention Reserves unless it applies to the other ('1' and '2') results? And sure, they could have meant 'Ongoing Reserves', but if so, they should have said so.
But yeah, as written, the FAQ removes the ability for Cult Ambush units to infiltrate and assault on the first turn.
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2017/01/20 19:23:42
Don "MONDO"
www.ironfistleague.com
Northern VA/Southern MD |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/01/20 19:29:00
Subject: Did the official finished FAQ (1/20/17) remove GSC first turn charge?
|
 |
Battlefortress Driver with Krusha Wheel
|
Frankly I won't shed a tear to see it go. It did not become the meta buster here, it BECAME the meta. Literally last tournament half the players were running it. Every game I played was vs some flavor of them/guard/nids.
|
warhammer 40k mmo. If I can drive an ork trukk into the back of a space marine dread and explode in a fireball of epic, I can die happy!
8k points
3k points
3k points
Admech 2.5k points
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/01/20 19:52:27
Subject: Did the official finished FAQ (1/20/17) remove GSC first turn charge?
|
 |
Shadowy Grot Kommittee Memba
|
Orock wrote:Frankly I won't shed a tear to see it go. It did not become the meta buster here, it BECAME the meta. Literally last tournament half the players were running it. Every game I played was vs some flavor of them/guard/nids.
So I guess nobody brought gladius? Because gladius beats the tar out of GSC.
|
"Got you, Yugi! Your Rubric Marines can't fall back because I have declared the tertiary kaptaris ka'tah stance two, after the secondary dacatarai ka'tah last turn!"
"So you think, Kaiba! I declared my Thousand Sons the cult of Duplicity, which means all my psykers have access to the Sorcerous Facade power! Furthermore I will spend 8 Cabal Points to invoke Cabbalistic Focus, causing the rubrics to appear behind your custodes! The Vengeance for the Wronged and Sorcerous Fullisade stratagems along with the Malefic Maelstrom infernal pact evoked earlier in the command phase allows me to double their firepower, letting me wound on 2s and 3s!"
"you think it is you who has gotten me, yugi, but it is I who have gotten you! I declare the ever-vigilant stratagem to attack your rubrics with my custodes' ranged weapons, which with the new codex are now DAMAGE 2!!"
"...which leads you straight into my trap, Kaiba, you see I now declare the stratagem Implacable Automata, reducing all damage from your attacks by 1 and triggering my All is Dust special rule!" |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/01/20 19:58:55
Subject: Did the official finished FAQ (1/20/17) remove GSC first turn charge?
|
 |
Brutal Black Orc
|
the_scotsman wrote: Orock wrote:Frankly I won't shed a tear to see it go. It did not become the meta buster here, it BECAME the meta. Literally last tournament half the players were running it. Every game I played was vs some flavor of them/guard/nids.
So I guess nobody brought gladius? Because gladius beats the tar out of GSC.
And apparently nobody brought in superfriends or daemons out of the whazoo.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/01/20 20:01:52
Subject: Did the official finished FAQ (1/20/17) remove GSC first turn charge?
|
 |
Flashy Flashgitz
Armageddon
|
No it shouldn't remove the charge, but I think it removes shooting heavy weapons. I'm not sure we might need an FAQ for the FAQ.
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2017/01/20 20:03:46
"People say on their first meeting a Man and an Ork exchanged a long, hard look, didn't care much for what they saw, and shot each other dead." |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/01/20 20:25:12
Subject: Did the official finished FAQ (1/20/17) remove GSC first turn charge?
|
 |
Battlefortress Driver with Krusha Wheel
|
I think what it means is it does not override the infiltrating first turn charge restriction, BUT on subsequent turns, like after going back into the shadows, any 6s can charge same turn they come in. Much more balanced without invalidating certain armies.
|
warhammer 40k mmo. If I can drive an ork trukk into the back of a space marine dread and explode in a fireball of epic, I can die happy!
8k points
3k points
3k points
Admech 2.5k points
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/01/21 03:27:00
Subject: Did the official finished FAQ (1/20/17) remove GSC first turn charge?
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
|
Orock wrote:I think what it means is it does not override the infiltrating first turn charge restriction, BUT on subsequent turns, like after going back into the shadows, any 6s can charge same turn they come in. Much more balanced without invalidating certain armies.
What are you saying? Are you saying even if you roll a 6 on turn one you can't assault?
|
Agies Grimm:The "Learn to play, bro" mentality is mostly just a way for someone to try to shame you by implying that their metaphorical nerd-wiener is bigger than yours. Which, ironically, I think nerds do even more vehemently than jocks.
Everything is made up and the points don't matter. 40K or Who's Line is it Anyway?
Auticus wrote: Or in summation: its ok to exploit shoddy points because those are rules and gamers exist to find rules loopholes (they are still "legal"), but if the same force can be composed without structure, it emotionally feels "wrong". |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/01/21 04:07:39
Subject: Did the official finished FAQ (1/20/17) remove GSC first turn charge?
|
 |
Locked in the Tower of Amareo
|
Yes, because the Eldar might lose if GSC kept the rule. GW can't have that.
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2017/01/21 04:07:58
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/01/21 05:07:27
Subject: Did the official finished FAQ (1/20/17) remove GSC first turn charge?
|
 |
Battlefortress Driver with Krusha Wheel
|
Davor wrote: Orock wrote:I think what it means is it does not override the infiltrating first turn charge restriction, BUT on subsequent turns, like after going back into the shadows, any 6s can charge same turn they come in. Much more balanced without invalidating certain armies.
What are you saying? Are you saying even if you roll a 6 on turn one you can't assault?
Yes. I believe they realized they messed up, that this rule invalidates many army's, And unlike with tau you cant just fix the board with good terrain coverage, partially alleviating the horrible losses turn one. I think this is their way out of it. And since its the most up to date ruling, and specifically says they cant charge on turn one, im pretty sure they mean they cant charge turn one.
|
warhammer 40k mmo. If I can drive an ork trukk into the back of a space marine dread and explode in a fireball of epic, I can die happy!
8k points
3k points
3k points
Admech 2.5k points
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/01/21 05:14:59
Subject: Did the official finished FAQ (1/20/17) remove GSC first turn charge?
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
I would say the faq ruling pertains to cult ambush on a general level, and specifically rolling a 6 lets you charge. Any other result = no charge.
A lot of people were claiming cult ambush was something different from infiltrating, and had none of the restrictions of infiltrating therefore they could charge on any result from deployment. Which of course makes the benefit of rolling a 6 moot...
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/01/21 06:17:26
Subject: Did the official finished FAQ (1/20/17) remove GSC first turn charge?
|
 |
Battlewagon Driver with Charged Engine
|
Most likely the person writing it was thinking about all the other results aside from 6. It has been argued by some that if CA doesn't count as Infiltrating, then by the rules you are allowed to charge with any CA result.
The result 6 clearly states you can charge when using CA, and the results are and function the same both when Infiltrating and arriving from reserves.
Infiltration can only be used during the deployment sub-phase. A result of 6 allows you to charge when using Infiltrate;
Unlike other units that Infiltrate or arrive from Reserves, the ambushing unit can charge in their first turn or on the turn they arrive from Reserves.
A mistake I guess they'll fix soon, altough I know many gunline players wish they didn't.
|
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2017/01/21 06:23:21
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/01/23 19:22:56
Subject: Did the official finished FAQ (1/20/17) remove GSC first turn charge?
|
 |
Battlefortress Driver with Krusha Wheel
|
How are tournaments abiding by gw FAQ's running it. Because all it says is no. I imagine people are segueing about it.
|
warhammer 40k mmo. If I can drive an ork trukk into the back of a space marine dread and explode in a fireball of epic, I can die happy!
8k points
3k points
3k points
Admech 2.5k points
|
|
|
 |
 |
|
|