So this has been discussed with no resolution but here is my take on the question
Can ynnari units start on cross faction ynnari transports? Eg can a unit of fire dragons in a reborn warhost start on a fast attack Raider from the same Warhost?
Now the biggest argument against this was that since the keep both factions, the eldar fire dragons (factions: ynnari, eldar) would be battle brothers with the dark eldar raider (factions: ynnari, dark eldar) and due to the 40k faq could not start embarked.
Here is the important part and why I believe this statement is incorrect. It is true that they keep both factions, and it is true that eldar and dark eldar are battle brothers.
The problem is people who have said this did not apply this statement correctly. The above unit of fire dragons counts as eldar and ynnari. What if instead of a Raider, we took say a falcon. The Falcon in that warhost would also be a ynnari eldar model, both factions.
However, the ynnari faction is battle brothers with harlequins, eldar and dark eldar. From the previous argument, that unit of fire dragons could not embark on the Falcon during deployment, because their ynnari faction is a battle brother with the eldar faction of the Falcon, and vice versa. If the fire dragons took a DT wave serpent, that wave serpent would get the same faction as the unit it was bought for. Now it counts as ynnari eldar and cannot have another eldar model embark on it because they are battle brothers with its ynnari faction.
This would mean the whole army could not start in transports due to the dual faction conflict. If the issue counts for the eldar/dark eldar problem, it counts for the ynnari/eldar problem.
If an army that can't start in any of its transports, even if they come from the same codex makes sense to all of you, then we have a full foot army that has to wait till turn 1 to embark. I don't think this was intended.
Otherwise just let those fire dragons in the Raider.
There are rules on multi faction armies but I think multifaction detachments, as long as a faction is shared, should be able to start on a transport that at least shares one faction.
|