Switch Theme:

Kastelan Robot Maniple and Canticles of the Omnissiah  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Shas'la with Pulse Carbine




Does this unit of 2 MC's and 1 IC count as 1 unit for CotO or 3 units?
For kill points does this units count as 3 units or 1?

I can't seem to find a definitive answer.

9000
8000
Knights / Assassins 800  
   
Made in us
Humming Great Unclean One of Nurgle





In My Lab

I believe it'd be one unit, since it's fielded as one unit, and in that one formation of 2 Maniples and 1 Techpriest, it's referred to as 3 units total.

Clocks for the clockmaker! Cogs for the cog throne! 
   
Made in gb
Regular Dakkanaut




I've always counted it as 3 for canticles and one as kill points, i haven't found any material to say otherwise so it's a very grey area. I've never used them at tournaments and in friendly games everyone has agreed you're paying (a lot) for 3 units you should count them as 3 for canticles.

I would happily count it as 3 for both but it just means more book keeping as you have to determine which robots and datasmiths are from what unit.

TBH in the handfull of killpoints games i've played with the formation i don't think anyone has ever killed enough of them for the killpoints to matter!

Grey Knights - 3500pts
SKitarii - 4000pts
Ad mech - 2000pts
Imperial Knights - 1000pts
Black Templars - 3200pts
Genestealer cults - 1750 
   
Made in us
Quick-fingered Warlord Moderatus





The base book Maniple is one unit that comprises of 2 Kastelan Robots and one datasmith, so its one unit for canticles

The formation specifically calls out that it counts at 3 units for the purpose of Canticles and Kill points

3000
4000 
   
Made in gb
Fully-charged Electropriest






It's a single unit so it counts as one unit for Canticles and one unit for Kill Points, unless it states otherwise on the datasheet.

Edit: it's worth noting that the Datasmith is a Character and not an Independent Character.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2017/03/15 17:34:05


 
   
Made in us
Prescient Cryptek of Eternity





East Coast, USA

I think we're talking about two things...

The basic Kastelan Robot Maniple is a single unit where the basic unit consists of 2 Kastelan Robots and 1 Datasmith. It counts as one unit for all purposes.

We also have the Cohort Cybernetica Formation. It consists of 1x Tech-Priest Dominus and 2x Kastelan Robot Maniples. All of these models collectively form a single unit, but do count as three units for Canticles and Kill Teams purposes. For all other purposes, it's a single unit. Here's the relevant Formation restriction...

"Restrictions: All models in this Formation must be fielded as a single unit, even though this is not normally allowed. The Formation’s Tech-Priest Dominus cannot leave this unit. This Formation counts as three units for the purposes of Canticles of the Omnissiah until it is completely destroyed, and counts as three units for the purposes of Victory Points when it is completely destroyed."

Check out my website. Editorials! Tutorials! Fun Times To Be Had! - kriswallminis.com


https://www.thingiverse.com/KrisWall/about


Completed Trades With: ultraatma 
   
Made in us
Quick-fingered Warlord Moderatus





We're not, the OP's question was if the base Maniple (two bots and a dude) is 1 unit or 3. We told him its 1

We then expanded to state that the formation Counts as 3 units for the purpose of canticles even though its one giant blob unit due to the rules, which you clarified better for us.

3000
4000 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: