Switch Theme:

Terminus Ultra rules  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in fi
Fresh-Faced New User




Does the points cost for UM Terminus Ultra already include it's weapons? It's not marked in one way or the other in the list, but it would be unreasonably expensive if not. On the otherhand, seems quite a bargain if it does.
   
Made in us
Loyal Necron Lychguard






Palm Beach, FL

You need to buy all those lascannons.
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





 MasterSlowPoke wrote:
You need to buy all those lascannons.


Are you sure? It does not say it does not come with the wargear not paid for nor does it say it is paid for. If it was 400 points just for the chassis when a normal one is around 260 that would make very, very little sense.

 
   
Made in us
Legendary Master of the Chapter






Holy hell it doesnt say it comes with or without points included. HA.

its best to just email them for clarification or run with the extra points until otherwise stated.

its a LOT of lascannons.

 Unit1126PLL wrote:
 Scott-S6 wrote:
And yet another thread is hijacked for Unit to ask for the same advice, receive the same answers and make the same excuses.

Oh my god I'm becoming martel.
Send help!

 
   
Made in us
Gore-Soaked Lunatic Witchhunter







Given that the cost of stapling all those lascannons to a normal Land Raider would theoretically be 439pts (239 base, 3x twin lascannon (150), 2x single lascannon (50)) I'd say the cost of the Terminus Ultra does include the lascannons, and you're getting a 39pt discount for losing transport capacity and gaining Power Overload.

Not that much of a bargain, but the prices are close enough to make me think they wanted the Terminus Ultra to be 400pts, not 600pts. Especially given that if it were 600pts you could just get two Phobos and you'd be getting twice the hull points, two twin heavy bolters, and two ten-model transport bays for another hundred points, which seems like the real bargain here.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2017/06/05 20:04:01


Balanced Game: Noun. A game in which all options and choices are worth using.
Homebrew oldhammer project: https://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/790996.page#10896267
Meridian: Necromunda-based 40k skirmish: https://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/795374.page 
   
Made in de
Longtime Dakkanaut




It's listed as 400 points and 30 power. Usually things cost about 1 power per 20 points assuming some upgrades. The power rating is consistent with Terminus Ultras costing around 600 points to actually field. This suggests that it's 400 before the lascannons.

That said it may be the most obviously underpowered thing in the game.
   
Made in gb
Sinewy Scourge




Everything pays its points for its weapons. I don't think this would be any different. Some things have weapons at 0 points, but this doesn't seem to be the case here.
   
Made in us
Legendary Master of the Chapter






Drager wrote:
Everything pays its points for its weapons. I don't think this would be any different. Some things have weapons at 0 points, but this doesn't seem to be the case here.


Named characters dont.

Lysander is a buck 50 with equipment included.

 Unit1126PLL wrote:
 Scott-S6 wrote:
And yet another thread is hijacked for Unit to ask for the same advice, receive the same answers and make the same excuses.

Oh my god I'm becoming martel.
Send help!

 
   
Made in gb
Fresh-Faced New User







Named characters dont.

Lysander is a buck 50 with equipment included.


But named characters have a note under the "points per model" section which says "(Including wargear)". The terminus ultra doesnt say that or say "(Does not include wargear)" which is why it is a different level of ambiguity.
   
Made in gb
Sinewy Scourge




I'm failing to see how it is particularly different to a Ravager, say, which pays 60 points for dark lances on a 95 point chasis. I don't think anything says "Does not include war gear" as that is the default.

EDIT: Hang on I see what you are talking about. I was looking in the profile!

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2017/06/06 16:13:43


 
   
Made in gb
Steady Space Marine Vet Sergeant




England

I would say it is 400 pts, because it is underneath the Named Characters table, so the intent must be that it is an extension of it, except it is a Lord of War.

If you can't believe in yourself, believe in me! Believe in the Dakka who believes in you!  
   
Made in us
Lieutenant General





Florence, KY

 WarbossDakka wrote:
I would say it is 400 pts, because it is underneath the Named Characters table, so the intent must be that it is an extension of it, except it is a Lord of War.

Except none of the other tables are an extension of another table.

'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents
cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable
defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'

- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty
Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim
 
   
Made in us
Legendary Master of the Chapter






 WarbossDakka wrote:
I would say it is 400 pts, because it is underneath the Named Characters table, so the intent must be that it is an extension of it, except it is a Lord of War.


Not sure about that its kinda odd. looking at the Necron ones. their lord of wars are piled together in the same list as other vehicles and units and says does not include wargear.

I dont think its a named tank and certainly not unique.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2017/06/06 16:45:28


 Unit1126PLL wrote:
 Scott-S6 wrote:
And yet another thread is hijacked for Unit to ask for the same advice, receive the same answers and make the same excuses.

Oh my god I'm becoming martel.
Send help!

 
   
Made in us
Dakka Veteran





It's 400 points plus weaponry. Unless specifically stated that it does include wargear, then assume it doesn't. and yes I know that the other section says does not include wargear but this is how the stompa works, you have to pay for it's weapons still too. Now if they wanted it to be included they would say it had some unique lascannons andprice them at 0.


Automatically Appended Next Post:
mhalko1 wrote:
It's 400 points plus weaponry. Unless specifically stated that it does include wargear, then assume it doesn't. and yes I know that the other section says does not include wargear but this is how the stompa works, you have to pay for it's weapons still too. Now if they wanted it to be included they would say it had some unique lascannons andprice them at 0.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2017/06/06 17:16:56


 
   
Made in gb
Longtime Dakkanaut




Seems pretty unambiguous really: A land raider with nothing is 200 and a bit points, 8 Lascannons is 200 points and this gives up transport capacity.

So yeah it's 400 with base equipment.
   
Made in us
[ADMIN]
Decrepit Dakkanaut






Los Angeles, CA

changemod wrote:
Seems pretty unambiguous really: A land raider with nothing is 200 and a bit points, 8 Lascannons is 200 points and this gives up transport capacity.

So yeah it's 400 with base equipment.


Until they FAQ it otherwise, its 400 points and then you pay for all the Lascannons.

It may well end up being FAQ'd, but until then, 400 points absolutely does not cover the weapons.


I play (click on icons to see pics): DQ:70+S++G(FAQ)M++B-I++Pw40k92/f-D+++A+++/areWD104R+T(D)DM+++
yakface's 40K rule #1: Although the rules allow you to use modeling to your advantage, how badly do you need to win your toy soldier games?
yakface's 40K rule #2: Friends don't let friends start a MEQ army.
yakface's 40K rule #3: Codex does not ALWAYS trump the rulebook, so please don't say that!
Waaagh Dakka: click the banner to learn more! 
   
Made in gb
Longtime Dakkanaut




 yakface wrote:
changemod wrote:
Seems pretty unambiguous really: A land raider with nothing is 200 and a bit points, 8 Lascannons is 200 points and this gives up transport capacity.

So yeah it's 400 with base equipment.


Until they FAQ it otherwise, its 400 points and then you pay for all the Lascannons.

It may well end up being FAQ'd, but until then, 400 points absolutely does not cover the weapons.



RAW says neither, so if you really want to drive pedantry home it's technically unfieldable in a limbo state of ambiguous point cost.
   
Made in us
[ADMIN]
Decrepit Dakkanaut






Los Angeles, CA

changemod wrote:
RAW says neither, so if you really want to drive pedantry home it's technically unfieldable in a limbo state of ambiguous point cost.


"Simply add together the points values of all your models, as well as the wargear they are equipped with, to determine your army's total point value."

So unless something specifically says that its wargear is included in its points cost (which the Terminus Ultra does not), then you must add the point values of the model's wargear.


This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2017/06/07 01:14:16


I play (click on icons to see pics): DQ:70+S++G(FAQ)M++B-I++Pw40k92/f-D+++A+++/areWD104R+T(D)DM+++
yakface's 40K rule #1: Although the rules allow you to use modeling to your advantage, how badly do you need to win your toy soldier games?
yakface's 40K rule #2: Friends don't let friends start a MEQ army.
yakface's 40K rule #3: Codex does not ALWAYS trump the rulebook, so please don't say that!
Waaagh Dakka: click the banner to learn more! 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: