Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/06/07 11:35:39
Subject: Command Point Rerolls and 2D6 tests.
|
 |
Mounted Kroot Tracker
|
Since a player can spend a command point to reroll any die, how will this work on rolls that involve 2D6? Say I wound with a melta weapon in half range and roll a 6 and a 1 for the damage. My opponent spends a command point to reroll the 6. May I wait for that result before deciding to reroll the 1 or not?
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/06/07 11:47:07
Subject: Command Point Rerolls and 2D6 tests.
|
 |
[ADMIN]
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Oaka wrote:Since a player can spend a command point to reroll any die, how will this work on rolls that involve 2D6? Say I wound with a melta weapon in half range and roll a 6 and a 1 for the damage. My opponent spends a command point to reroll the 6. May I wait for that result before deciding to reroll the 1 or not?
I'd actually say per the RAW you can't re-roll an opponent's die because a re-roll by its definition means you must be RE-rolling the die (rolling it a 2nd time). As the opponent, since you never rolled the die to begin with, you cannot, by definition re-roll it (you'd be rolling it for the first time).
However, if you were playing under the assumption that you could re-roll an opponent's roll, there would certainly be nothing stopping you from re-rolling the '1' after seeing the result of your opponent's re-roll.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/06/07 11:48:26
Subject: Command Point Rerolls and 2D6 tests.
|
 |
Prescient Cryptek of Eternity
|
Oaka wrote:Since a player can spend a command point to reroll any die, how will this work on rolls that involve 2D6? Say I wound with a melta weapon in half range and roll a 6 and a 1 for the damage. My opponent spends a command point to reroll the 6. May I wait for that result before deciding to reroll the 1 or not?
Wait... can an opponent reroll YOUR die? I thought you could only reroll your own dice. How do you reroll a die you didn't roll?
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/06/07 11:54:23
Subject: Command Point Rerolls and 2D6 tests.
|
 |
Mounted Kroot Tracker
|
Good points, that certainly would make things simpler. I've already seen in a few battle reports, however, of players spending their CP to reroll a passed armor save or successful charge during their opponent's turn. So if you can only reroll your own dice, should that still be declared with simultaneous rolls from the opponent? Roll offs from psychic powers and the Wych No Escape rule come to mind.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2017/06/07 11:59:09
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/06/07 12:16:02
Subject: Command Point Rerolls and 2D6 tests.
|
 |
Prescient Cryptek of Eternity
|
Oaka wrote:Good points, that certainly would make things simpler. I've already seen in a few battle reports, however, of players spending their CP to reroll a passed armor save or successful charge during their opponent's turn. So if you can only reroll your own dice, should that still be declared with simultaneous rolls from the opponent? Roll offs from psychic powers and the Wych No Escape rule come to mind.
It just says "You can re-roll any single die."
It seems strange that you can re-roll an opponent's dice, but that's sure how it looks.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/06/07 15:51:39
Subject: Command Point Rerolls and 2D6 tests.
|
 |
Fresh-Faced New User
|
Kriswall wrote:
It seems strange that you can re-roll an opponent's dice, but that's sure how it looks.
No. You can't re-roll an opponent's dice. It doesn't look like that and there's nothing that implies it.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/06/07 17:20:30
Subject: Command Point Rerolls and 2D6 tests.
|
 |
Prescient Cryptek of Eternity
|
amhoward wrote: Kriswall wrote:
It seems strange that you can re-roll an opponent's dice, but that's sure how it looks.
No. You can't re-roll an opponent's dice. It doesn't look like that and there's nothing that implies it.
Agree to disagree. The rules text is ambiguous and needs an FAQ. It could easily go either way. I do agree that anecdotal evidence (which proves nothing) from previous editions leads me to believe that the intent is to only allow you to re-roll your own dice.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/06/07 17:46:44
Subject: Command Point Rerolls and 2D6 tests.
|
 |
Trustworthy Shas'vre
|
Kriswall wrote:amhoward wrote: Kriswall wrote:
It seems strange that you can re-roll an opponent's dice, but that's sure how it looks.
No. You can't re-roll an opponent's dice. It doesn't look like that and there's nothing that implies it.
Agree to disagree. The rules text is ambiguous and needs an FAQ. It could easily go either way. I do agree that anecdotal evidence (which proves nothing) from previous editions leads me to believe that the intent is to only allow you to re-roll your own dice.
It is not even remotely ambiguous.
No. This is plain up insane and has ZERO precedent. one of the benefits of the new edition is where things may have been worded poorly before, they are much better now. To somehow divine you can roll the other players dice, is rationalization at best and plain asshattery at worst.
|
DavePak
"Remember, in life, the only thing you absolutely control is your own attitude - do not squander that power."
Fully Painted armies:
TAU: 10k Nids: 9600 Marines: 4000 Crons: 7600
Actor, Gamer, Comic, Corporate Nerd
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/06/07 18:05:37
Subject: Command Point Rerolls and 2D6 tests.
|
 |
Prescient Cryptek of Eternity
|
davethepak wrote: Kriswall wrote:amhoward wrote: Kriswall wrote:
It seems strange that you can re-roll an opponent's dice, but that's sure how it looks.
No. You can't re-roll an opponent's dice. It doesn't look like that and there's nothing that implies it.
Agree to disagree. The rules text is ambiguous and needs an FAQ. It could easily go either way. I do agree that anecdotal evidence (which proves nothing) from previous editions leads me to believe that the intent is to only allow you to re-roll your own dice.
It is not even remotely ambiguous.
No. This is plain up insane and has ZERO precedent. one of the benefits of the new edition is where things may have been worded poorly before, they are much better now. To somehow divine you can roll the other players dice, is rationalization at best and plain asshattery at worst.
I don't appreciate the personal attack. What sort of precedent are you looking for? This is an entirely new edition of a game, rewritten from the ground up. It hasn't even been released yet. There are TONS of games out there that let you re-roll an opponent's die. But please, tell me how Command Points worked in 7th Edition. Of course there's no precedent in 40k. This is an entirely new rules concept in this game.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/06/07 18:27:35
Subject: Command Point Rerolls and 2D6 tests.
|
 |
Trustworthy Shas'vre
|
I am not attacking you, I am attacking your argument. My apologies for the inference. It is a game after all.
However, I am stating that someone who would try to make this argument, would be considered a poor individual to play with with - if they would rationalize to this degree - what other rules or interpretations could I trust them on.
While this is a new game, it is at its core, really 40k (some call it 3rd edition -revised).
We have modifiers to opponents roll - occasionally - in the past- but these were very specifically called out.
We do have precedence in the new edition, where serious departures to previous rules - are clearly spelled out.
I would say that this gives precedence in the current edition that something so radical - would be entirely spelled out, very distinctly.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2017/06/07 18:27:57
DavePak
"Remember, in life, the only thing you absolutely control is your own attitude - do not squander that power."
Fully Painted armies:
TAU: 10k Nids: 9600 Marines: 4000 Crons: 7600
Actor, Gamer, Comic, Corporate Nerd
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/06/07 18:39:59
Subject: Command Point Rerolls and 2D6 tests.
|
 |
Norn Queen
|
davethepak wrote:one of the benefits of the new edition is where things may have been worded poorly before, they are much better now. 1) Robin Crudface helped write the main rule book. He's the guy responsible for the last 2 Nid codexes. He is directly responsible for the wording on the Pyrovore rule that made it so Pyrovores blow up the entire table. Expect problems. 2) RAW right now pistols, assault weapons, and all the rules that let you shoot after advancing don't work because of the way they worded the shooting phase. (Go reread the page on the shooting phase. Step 1 in order of operations is selecting a unit to shoot. You cannot select the unit if it advanced or is within 1" of enemy models. At no point in any other rule do you gain permission to select the unit to shoot before you ever get to the step where you start picking weapons). The 12-14 pages of core rules are full of very poorly worded rules.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2017/06/07 18:40:40
These are my opinions. This is how I feel. Others may feel differently. This needs to be stated for some reason.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/06/07 19:21:18
Subject: Command Point Rerolls and 2D6 tests.
|
 |
Prescient Cryptek of Eternity
|
Lance845 wrote:davethepak wrote:one of the benefits of the new edition is where things may have been worded poorly before, they are much better now.
1) Robin Crudface helped write the main rule book. He's the guy responsible for the last 2 Nid codexes. He is directly responsible for the wording on the Pyrovore rule that made it so Pyrovores blow up the entire table. Expect problems.
2) RAW right now pistols, assault weapons, and all the rules that let you shoot after advancing don't work because of the way they worded the shooting phase. (Go reread the page on the shooting phase. Step 1 in order of operations is selecting a unit to shoot. You cannot select the unit if it advanced or is within 1" of enemy models. At no point in any other rule do you gain permission to select the unit to shoot before you ever get to the step where you start picking weapons).
The 12-14 pages of core rules are full of very poorly worded rules.
I still think they should hire a law student intern to proof read and make clarity changes to the rules. Saying that 8th Edition rules are "much better now" doesn't say much because 7th Edition was pretty bad. Much better can still be pretty bad.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/06/07 19:25:08
Subject: Command Point Rerolls and 2D6 tests.
|
 |
Terminator with Assault Cannon
|
Oaka wrote:Since a player can spend a command point to reroll any die, how will this work on rolls that involve 2D6? Say I wound with a melta weapon in half range and roll a 6 and a 1 for the damage. My opponent spends a command point to reroll the 6. May I wait for that result before deciding to reroll the 1 or not?
The rule clearly says "die that you rolled."
You roll for damage, not your opponent.
You can only use a command point to re-roll your own dice.
However, let's assume that you rolled 2d6 for charge distance and you have a rule that allows you to reroll the entire charge range, and you come up with a 1 and a 6.
Yes, you can reroll the 1 (but not both) with a command point.
No, you cannot wait to see the result before deciding whether or not to reroll your entire charge range.
The rules plainly say that any die may be rerolled only once.
|
|
 |
 |
|