Switch Theme:

Roll for initiative timing.  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in au
Regular Dakkanaut




The rules in the mission for deployment say that each player takes turn setting up a unit. In the rule for first turn it says "the player who finishes setting up their army first can choose to take the first or second turn."

Does this happen as soon as the first player finishes setting up their army and if so would that mean the other player rolls for initiative immediately after but before they finish setting up?

This is the way my group has interpreted it as it helps offset the disadvantage horde armies get against armies like knights by being able to deploy the remainder of their units know whether or not they will actually have the first or second turn.

The thing that makes me think this is not the case is that if you play it this way and choose to go second it would mean there is no point rolling to seize (although if your going to choose to go second it probably isn't going to be that big a deal).
   
Made in gb
Deranged Necron Destroyer



UK, Midlands

You roll after both sides have finished deploying.

The "deployment" paragraph ends with "continue setting up until both sides have set up their army."

Seize is described in the next paragraph under the "first turn heading". Just follow it through in order.
   
Made in de
Witch Hunter in the Shadows



Aachen

Nebulas1 wrote:
The rules in the mission for deployment say that each player takes turn setting up a unit. In the rule for first turn it says "the player who finishes setting up their army first can choose to take the first or second turn."

Does this happen as soon as the first player finishes setting up their army and if so would that mean the other player rolls for initiative immediately after but before they finish setting up?

I'm going with "you decide once everything is deployed, and the roll to seize is done after that, but before you start the first turn".

This is the way my group has interpreted it as it helps offset the disadvantage horde armies get against armies like knights by being able to deploy the remainder of their units know whether or not they will actually have the first or second turn.


Nebulas1 wrote:
The thing that makes me think this is not the case is that if you play it this way and choose to go second it would mean there is no point rolling to seize (although if your going to choose to go second it probably isn't going to be that big a deal).

I'm not 100% sure but I believe you cannot roll to seize if you choose to go second.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: