Switch Theme:

8th: Can you mix CSM and Chaos Demons in the same detachment?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Sergeant First Class



Dulles, VA

They both share the chaos faction keyword...could I have a detachment of say a Keeper of Secrets and a couple units of Chaos Space Marines?
   
Made in gb
Fresh-Faced New User




Yes.
   
Made in us
Sergeant First Class



Dulles, VA

Cool, thanks!

Consequently, could those Chaos Space Marines be "Emperor's Children" Noise Marines counting as troops choices, assuming any other CSM unit I took was Emperor's Children as well?
   
Made in us
Prescient Cryptek of Eternity





East Coast, USA

You absolutely can. Just be aware that it is very likely that futures Codexes will only grant benefits if your detachment/army is all a specific sub-faction. I'm fully expecting Codex Chaos Daemons to mainly grant benefits to detachments/armies where every model has the Chaos Daemons faction keyword.

That's how it works in Age of Sigmar. You can legally build an ORDER keyword army using Stormcast Eternals, Sylvaneth, High Elves, etc. BUT... the benefits presented in Battletome Sylvaneth only apply if every unit/battalion in your army has the Sylvaneth keyword.

In other words, go crazy now, but be prepared to miss out on army wide rules in the future if your army is fragmented across multiple sub factions.

Check out my website. Editorials! Tutorials! Fun Times To Be Had! - kriswallminis.com


https://www.thingiverse.com/KrisWall/about


Completed Trades With: ultraatma 
   
Made in us
Tzeentch Veteran Marine with Psychic Potential





piperider361 wrote:
They both share the chaos faction keyword...could I have a detachment of say a Keeper of Secrets and a couple units of Chaos Space Marines?


No, the entry of every chaos army says that same thing. "Rules for <Legion> Army". To have an army of any kind in Matched play EVERY model must have the same key word. If you bring the keeper then you lose the Army wide keyword of EC which means you lose tge ability to bring Noise Marines ability to be troops.

 
   
Made in us
[ADMIN]
President of the Mat Ward Fan Club






Los Angeles, CA

 Thousand-Son-Sorcerer wrote:
piperider361 wrote:
They both share the chaos faction keyword...could I have a detachment of say a Keeper of Secrets and a couple units of Chaos Space Marines?


No, the entry of every chaos army says that same thing. "Rules for <Legion> Army". To have an army of any kind in Matched play EVERY model must have the same key word. If you bring the keeper then you lose the Army wide keyword of EC which means you lose tge ability to bring Noise Marines ability to be troops.


You seem to be misunderstanding the rules here a bit.

Your army must just share a single keyword of any type. So you could choose CHAOS as your keyword, and take any units with that keyword in any of your detachments.

If you read the legion rules carefully, you'll see that if they have a limited list of which units can be taken, that's actually just a limitation on which units can be given that specific legion keyword. So the Deathguard army rules have a list of units, but those are actually just the units you're allowed to give the DEATHGUARD keyword to. You could still include any other units you wanted in the army so long as they had the CHAOS keyword (and that's the keyword you were using to build your army.

When I first looked at the rules for the different legions, I was also confused and thought what I am telling you now was totally wrong. But then I actually read the rules carefully and realized I was totally off about what they actually said.


I play (click on icons to see pics): DQ:70+S++G(FAQ)M++B-I++Pw40k92/f-D+++A+++/areWD104R+T(D)DM+++
yakface's 40K rule #1: Although the rules allow you to use modeling to your advantage, how badly do you need to win your toy soldier games?
yakface's 40K rule #2: Friends don't let friends start a MEQ army.
yakface's 40K rule #3: Codex does not ALWAYS trump the rulebook, so please don't say that!
Waaagh Dakka: click the banner to learn more! 
   
Made in us
Ancient Chaos Terminator





Eye of Terror

 yakface wrote:

If you read the legion rules carefully, you'll see that if they have a limited list of which units can be taken, that's actually just a limitation on which units can be given that specific legion keyword. So the Deathguard army rules have a list of units, but those are actually just the units you're allowed to give the DEATHGUARD keyword to. You could still include any other units you wanted in the army so long as they had the CHAOS keyword (and that's the keyword you were using to build your army.

I had the same impression and came to the same conclusion.

The Death Guard faction limits what units which can receive the keyword Death Guard. This does not mean you cannot include units that are not part of that list.


   
Made in us
Dakka Veteran






I agree that you have fulfilled the detachment requirements because all of your units have the keyword "Chaos".
   
Made in us
Pyromaniac Hellhound Pilot








Not to jump the thread, but this question is related to the ideas of keywords...

So I take a Battalion Detachment and 6 units of storm troopers with keyword Imperium.

Can I then take 3 Vindicare assassins which also have keyword Imperium?

And can I take say, 3 Space Marine Vindicators as they have keyword Imperium in addition?

.Only a fool believes there is such a thing as price gouging. Things have value determined by the creator or merchant. If you don't agree with that value, you are free not to purchase. 
   
Made in us
Hardened Veteran Guardsman






Yep. Which is why the keyword Imperium is kinda broken.
   
Made in us
Pyromaniac Hellhound Pilot






 SuspiciousSucculent wrote:
Yep. Which is why the keyword Imperium is kinda broken.


It is...wow. I want to do the 6 stormtrooper squads, but need anti-vehicle, and since vendettas are out for now, I'm thinking of Preds with las and the assassins, or even some ratling snipers.

.Only a fool believes there is such a thing as price gouging. Things have value determined by the creator or merchant. If you don't agree with that value, you are free not to purchase. 
   
Made in us
Dakka Veteran




@SuspiciousSucculent: Yup - "Imperium" factions get 2 whole Indexes to pick through, Chaos gets 1, and Xenos get 1/3rd at best (unless you're Tyranids, then you get 1/3+1/3+1/3 for Tyranids/GSC/Astra Militarum).

We'll see what happens with the codexes.
   
Made in us
Dakka Veteran






I'm half expecting you to still be able to mix units in the future too, but I think there will be lots of advantages to keeping your force down to one narrow faction in the future.

They've hinted at codex specific strategems, for example, and we might get relics and warlord traits on top of new character auras that will only affect one narrow set of keywords. For now, I'd say enjoy mixing and matching armies a lot while there aren't incentives to do otherwise.
   
Made in us
Nurgle Chosen Marine on a Palanquin






I'm thinking that down the line you will get more bonuses for the more keywords you have in your army. Most likely codex specific detachments or bonuses.


Currently I am really enjoying freely bring daemons and CSM in my chaos army. This weekend I should have access to all my renegades as well. Making for some really nice fun lists I couldn't run before.

   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: