Switch Theme:

Transports and Objectives.  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Nihilistic Necron Lord






Do models inside a Transport that is in range of an Objective count for controlling said Objective?

 
   
Made in gb
Khorne Chosen Marine Riding a Juggernaut





UK

bit o a grey area really

transport rules don't specifically say the models are not there, but physically they are not...

so i'd go with no

 
   
Made in us
Irked Necron Immortal





Jackson, TN

Under the Transport rules (side bar on page 183) it says "Remove the unit from the battlefield" and "units cannot normally do anything or be affected in any way whilst they are embarked"

Based on that, that unit is not on the battlefield and has no effect on the number of models the transport counts as.

So, 1 Transport loaded with 2 Units of SM = 1 Model for Objective holding.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2017/06/20 13:24:41


 
   
Made in us
[ADMIN]
Decrepit Dakkanaut






Los Angeles, CA


Agreed with Draco. Its not a grey area at all. Embarked units do not count as being on the table except for the specific situations when the transport has a special rule allowing them to do stuff (like fire out of the vehicle via the open-topped ability).

In all other cases, embarked models are ignored.


I play (click on icons to see pics): DQ:70+S++G(FAQ)M++B-I++Pw40k92/f-D+++A+++/areWD104R+T(D)DM+++
yakface's 40K rule #1: Although the rules allow you to use modeling to your advantage, how badly do you need to win your toy soldier games?
yakface's 40K rule #2: Friends don't let friends start a MEQ army.
yakface's 40K rule #3: Codex does not ALWAYS trump the rulebook, so please don't say that!
Waaagh Dakka: click the banner to learn more! 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: