Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/06/21 13:05:31
Subject: Do flying units have to fall back? (Was Kamikaze Nids?)
|
 |
Tough Tyrant Guard
|
Wierd rules thing popped up and I think I played it right.
Harpy charged into combat with a knight. Combat went brutally and both were left with one wound after his fight phase.
In my movement phase I chose to not move the Harpy. That killed it and triggered death throes. I rolled a 4 so used a reroll and got a 6 and killed his knight.
This lead to a few rules arguments.
1) If the moving my flyer was manditory or optional.
2) If 6 on death throes is considered a failure or a success for getting a reroll.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2017/06/21 17:56:38
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/06/21 13:10:41
Subject: Kamikaze Nids?
|
 |
Omnipotent Necron Overlord
|
I'm not sure this is covered in the rules or the FAQ - but I believe the dice should for explosions should be rolled by the owner of the model and in that case could be rerolled by the owner of the model with a command point.
The movement of flyers is not optional. You will see the movement min and max when it is displayed on the data sheet. For example 20"-45" that means 20 min - 45 max.
|
If we fail to anticipate the unforeseen or expect the unexpected in a universe of infinite possibilities, we may find ourselves at the mercy of anyone or anything that cannot be programmed, categorized or easily referenced.
- Fox Mulder |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/06/21 13:24:09
Subject: Kamikaze Nids?
|
 |
Tough Tyrant Guard
|
Right. That's what killed my Harpy.
However I was in CC and chose to not fall back. As I did not fall back I was unable to move and died.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/06/21 13:45:03
Subject: Kamikaze Nids?
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
I'm no rules lawyer, but I believe you are violating the spirit and letter of the rules. You cannot choose to not do a mandatory action.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/06/21 14:36:21
Subject: Kamikaze Nids?
|
 |
Tough Tyrant Guard
|
Justyn wrote:I'm no rules lawyer, but I believe you are violating the spirit and letter of the rules. You cannot choose to not do a mandatory action.
I'm doing niether.
I can charge a flyer into CC.
Fly LETS me leave combat. It is not manditory that I fall back.
If I do not fall back I can not move.
If I can not move the minimum distance the unit dies.
None of those violates the letter or the spirit of the rules. If I choose to kill my unit in exchange for a chance to hurt yours then that is both fluffy and completely legal.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/06/21 14:43:14
Subject: Kamikaze Nids?
|
 |
Automated Rubric Marine of Tzeentch
|
I think you're mixing it up. In the Movement rules it says units with a minimum move MUST move at least the minimum, while under Falling Back it says units within 1" of enemy models may remain stationary. I think most people are going to think the "must move" will override the "may stay." You are allowed to not leave combat. You are forced to move a minimum distance due to the rules. It could probably use some clearing up, but the movement is mandatory, staying in combat is not, so you have to leave combat. As far as the reroll, the CP reroll doesn't require it to be a "failure," just says you can reroll any one die.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2017/06/21 14:44:12
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/06/21 14:56:27
Subject: Kamikaze Nids?
|
 |
Tough Tyrant Guard
|
Your combining rules in a way that does not exist.
At start of movement phase units within 1" may choose to remain in combat or fall back. If they remain in combat they can not move.
And
At the end of the movement phase check to see if flyers have moved the minimum distance required. If not they must move that minimum distance. If they are not able to then they are destroyed.
The only note on falling back about flyers us that if they fall back they can still shoot. If your reading was either RAW or RAI it would also say " flyers with a minimum move distance must fall back"
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/06/21 15:08:04
Subject: Re:Kamikaze Nids?
|
 |
Lieutenant General
|
'Must' overrides 'can'. Therefore this... Units starting the Movement phase within 1" of an enemy unit can either remain stationary...
Is overridden by this... The first is the model’s minimum speed – in the Movement phase, all parts of the model’s base must end the move at least that far from where they started.
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2017/06/21 15:08:51
'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'
- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/06/21 15:15:45
Subject: Kamikaze Nids?
|
 |
Automated Rubric Marine of Tzeentch
|
Gloomfang wrote: The only note on falling back about flyers us that if they fall back they can still shoot. If your reading was either RAW or RAI it would also say " flyers with a minimum move distance must fall back" If your reading was either RAW or RAI it would also say "Flyers may choose not to move if they are within 1" of an enemy model." See how that works, we can both do it! As it stands though, you're told generally that models can stay within 1" of an enemy, but you're also told that your flyer with a minimum move HAS to move if possible. Basically we're all wondering how you think you can choose to remain in combat if you HAVE to move.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2017/06/21 15:16:57
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/06/21 15:24:34
Subject: Kamikaze Nids?
|
 |
Prescient Cryptek of Eternity
|
I agree with the interpretation that allows what OP did.
MINIMUM MOVE SECTION
"Some models that can FLY have a Move characteristic consisting of two values. The first is the model's minimum speed - in the Movement phase, all parts of the model's base must end the move at least that far from where they started."
MINIMUM MOVE SECTION
"If a model cannot make its minimum move, or is forced to move off the battlefield because of its minimum speed, it is destroyed and removed from the battlefield"
FALLING BACK SECTION
"Units starting the Movement phase within 1" of an enemy unit can either remain stationary or Fall Back."
I'm reading this as the player having an option to Fall Back or remain stationary, with the understanding that if they choose to remain stationary, the model won't be able to make its minimum move and will be destroyed as part of it's Movement phase 'activation'. It can potentially be a sound tactic, although I think most people would prefer to live to fight another day and would simply Fall Back.
Conceptually, this is a fighter jet pulling a kamikaze move and crashing into its target or a flying monster flailing about and trying to get one last attack in before falling out of the sky. I see no problem with this.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/06/21 22:19:22
Subject: Do flying units have to fall back? (Was Kamikaze Nids?)
|
 |
Screeching Screamer of Tzeentch
|
Death Throes, and similar abilities, only trigger when the model is reduced to 0 wounds. A model that is unable to move it's minimum distance is destroyed and removed from play, but it's technically never reduced to 0 wounds.
Whether or not the flyer can choose not to Fall Back is irrelevant; Death Throes should not have triggered.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2017/06/21 22:20:46
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/06/21 23:20:42
Subject: Do flying units have to fall back? (Was Kamikaze Nids?)
|
 |
Infiltrating Broodlord
|
That does sound like a fun tactic..
But as Avadar said.. Destroyed technically isn't reduced to 0 wounds
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/06/22 00:21:41
Subject: Re:Do flying units have to fall back? (Was Kamikaze Nids?)
|
 |
[ADMIN]
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Agreed that you have the choice whether to fall back or not. If you choose not to fall back then you're not allowed to move. If you're not allowed to move then you cannot complete the minimum move required and the model is destroyed.
Also agree with the last few posters that Death Throes would not occur here, as the model was not reduced to 0 wounds.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/06/23 08:43:02
Subject: Do flying units have to fall back? (Was Kamikaze Nids?)
|
 |
Smokin' Skorcha Driver
London UK
|
I don't think the rules allow you to make a choice in a 'must' scenario. Does choosing not to fall back = cannot make its minimum move?
I would assume that it CAN make its minimum move with Fallback so the choice is an invalid one.
1. Can you make minimum move?
2. Yes because of fallback rule
3. Make move
I think the Fly minimum move overules the choice to fallback or not. Now if the fallback move is not enough to cover the minimum move it is destroyed.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/06/23 08:52:16
Subject: Do flying units have to fall back? (Was Kamikaze Nids?)
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
Denmark
|
Nithaniel wrote:I don't think the rules allow you to make a choice in a 'must' scenario. Does choosing not to fall back = cannot make its minimum move?
I would assume that it CAN make its minimum move with Fallback so the choice is an invalid one.
1. Can you make minimum move?
2. Yes because of fallback rule
3. Make move
I think the Fly minimum move overules the choice to fallback or not. Now if the fallback move is not enough to cover the minimum move it is destroyed.
I read it like this as well. Fallback seems entirely optional and minimum move specifically states "cannot make". Well it CAN make a minimum move, by falling back.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/06/23 09:28:46
Subject: Do flying units have to fall back? (Was Kamikaze Nids?)
|
 |
Grim Dark Angels Interrogator-Chaplain
|
Agree with Avadar that you have the choice to move or not, but Death Throes wouldn't trigger.
|
Stormonu wrote:For me, the joy is in putting some good-looking models on the board and playing out a fantasy battle - not arguing over the poorly-made rules of some 3rd party who neither has any power over my play nor will be visiting me (and my opponent) to ensure we are "playing by the rules" |
|
 |
 |
|