Switch Theme:

Tau supprting fire out of an open topper transport - legal?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in ca
Regular Dakkanaut




So basically it says that Open Topped allows a unit to shoot in the shooting phase, supporting fire allows a unit within 6" to overwatch as if it was being selected as the charge target.

Can the tau in the vehicle getting charged make an overwatch action?

4000
5200 
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut




I don't have the rules for open-topped in front of me, but if it specifically calls out the "Shooting Phase" then no, as overwatch occurs in the Charge phase.
   
Made in gb
Grim Dark Angels Interrogator-Chaplain





Cardiff

There's another thread on the same topic on the first page:

https://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/731185.page

 Stormonu wrote:
For me, the joy is in putting some good-looking models on the board and playing out a fantasy battle - not arguing over the poorly-made rules of some 3rd party who neither has any power over my play nor will be visiting me (and my opponent) to ensure we are "playing by the rules"
 
   
Made in ca
Regular Dakkanaut




Jackal444 wrote:
I don't have the rules for open-topped in front of me, but if it specifically calls out the "Shooting Phase" then no, as overwatch occurs in the Charge phase.

Supporting fire says a unit within 6" can act as if it was charged, not that it has to be charged, just within 6".

 JohnnyHell wrote:
There's another thread on the same topic on the first page:

https://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/731185.page


I saw but nothing there about tau, only other units getting charged. Tau supporting fire allows a unit within 6" of the unit being charged to overwatch as if it were the target.

4000
5200 
   
Made in us
Auspicious Daemonic Herald





Units in transports aren't considered to be on the table
   
Made in gb
Grim Dark Angels Interrogator-Chaplain





Cardiff

 CrownAxe wrote:
Units in transports aren't considered to be on the table


This. OP, that's why I referenced the other thread, where this was covered.

 Stormonu wrote:
For me, the joy is in putting some good-looking models on the board and playing out a fantasy battle - not arguing over the poorly-made rules of some 3rd party who neither has any power over my play nor will be visiting me (and my opponent) to ensure we are "playing by the rules"
 
   
Made in ca
Regular Dakkanaut




Awesome thanks guys, just wanted to make sure!

Appreciate it.

I assume this means that if the vehicle is in combat the unit embarked can still make shooting attacks normally?

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2017/07/02 22:47:44


4000
5200 
   
Made in gb
Stubborn White Lion





UK

Only if they have pistols as the unit is considered to be within 1" of an enemy model, that's how I think it works anyway.





 
   
Made in ca
Regular Dakkanaut




 Mantle wrote:
Only if they have pistols as the unit is considered to be within 1" of an enemy model, that's how I think it works anyway.


but the unit isn't considered on the battlefield so how is it within 1"?

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2017/07/02 23:50:49


4000
5200 
   
Made in us
Lieutenant General





Florence, KY

optrgrow wrote:
 Mantle wrote:
Only if they have pistols as the unit is considered to be within 1" of an enemy model, that's how I think it works anyway.


but the unit isn't considered on the battlefield so how is it within 1"?

Read the 'Open-topped' rule.

'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents
cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable
defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'

- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty
Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim
 
   
Made in us
Dakka Veteran





The open topped rule allows passengers to shoot in the shooting phase only - which is found under any "Open Topped" entry.

   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: