Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/07/07 22:19:44
Subject: Transports in 8th
|
 |
Furious Raptor
Gothenburg, Sweden
|
A friend told me that in 8th Transports can carry more than one unit (if capacity allows). For example, a Rhino could carry two five man units. The rulebook doesn´t forbid it but doesn´t expressively allow it either.
|
Peace is a lie, there is only passion...and bacon! |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/07/07 22:25:45
Subject: Re:Transports in 8th
|
 |
Lieutenant General
|
From 'Transports': When you set up a transport, units can start the battle embarked within it instead of being set up separately – declare what units are embarked inside the transport when you set it up.
Note several other places where they use the plural 'units' instead of the singular 'a unit'.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2017/07/07 22:27:42
'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'
- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/07/07 23:05:52
Subject: Transports in 8th
|
 |
[ADMIN]
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Luusormi wrote:A friend told me that in 8th Transports can carry more than one unit (if capacity allows). For example, a Rhino could carry two five man units. The rulebook doesn´t forbid it but doesn´t expressively allow it either.
The rules allow a unit that ends its move within 3" of a transport to embark upon it. Since units move one at a time, that gives permission for each unit to embark on a transport when they end their move within 3" of it.
Therefore the RAW would have to forbid multiple units from embarking on a transport to stop it from happening. Since they do not, you are allowed to embark any number of units onto a transport.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/07/08 02:48:48
Subject: Transports in 8th
|
 |
Numberless Necron Warrior
|
This is necessary because characters are their own units now. A standard line in a given transport description is "any number of Infantry Characters and one other Infantry unit, to a maximum of XX models."
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/07/08 03:03:17
Subject: Transports in 8th
|
 |
Lieutenant General
|
silentone2k wrote:A standard line in a given transport description is "any number of Infantry Characters and one other Infantry unit, to a maximum of XX models."
Actually that's only found in the rules for Buildings as far as I can see. Most Transports don't have a limitation of a single unit plus characters, but can carry as many units as will fit in the Transport.
|
'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'
- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/07/08 03:52:30
Subject: Transports in 8th
|
 |
Not as Good as a Minion
|
silentone2k wrote:This is necessary because characters are their own units now. A standard line in a given transport description is "any number of Infantry Characters and one other Infantry unit, to a maximum of XX models."
Most of the Characters we have now have always been their own units. They just can't join other units any more, so it wouldn't be one single unit boarding the transport.
|
Are you a Wolf, a Sheep, or a Hound?
Megavolt wrote:They called me crazy…they called me insane…THEY CALLED ME LOONEY!! and boy, were they right. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/07/08 15:07:07
Subject: Re:Transports in 8th
|
 |
Abel
|
The only thing I would add here is that some transports are very specific about what kind of units, or even mentions specific units, that can use the transport.
|
Kara Sloan shoots through Time and Design Space for a Negative Play Experience |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/07/08 21:31:22
Subject: Re:Transports in 8th
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Tamwulf wrote:The only thing I would add here is that some transports are very specific about what kind of units, or even mentions specific units, that can use the transport.
Yes, you need to check each transport. For example, poor Tyranids have the Tyrannocyte that can still only carry 1 unit.
|
|
 |
 |
|