Switch Theme:

Transports in 8th  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in se
Furious Raptor




Gothenburg, Sweden

A friend told me that in 8th Transports can carry more than one unit (if capacity allows). For example, a Rhino could carry two five man units. The rulebook doesn´t forbid it but doesn´t expressively allow it either.

Peace is a lie, there is only passion...and bacon! 
   
Made in us
Lieutenant General





Florence, KY

From 'Transports':

When you set up a transport, units can start the battle embarked within it instead of being set up separately – declare what units are embarked inside the transport when you set it up.

Note several other places where they use the plural 'units' instead of the singular 'a unit'.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2017/07/07 22:27:42


'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents
cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable
defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'

- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty
Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim
 
   
Made in us
[ADMIN]
Decrepit Dakkanaut






Los Angeles, CA

 Luusormi wrote:
A friend told me that in 8th Transports can carry more than one unit (if capacity allows). For example, a Rhino could carry two five man units. The rulebook doesn´t forbid it but doesn´t expressively allow it either.


The rules allow a unit that ends its move within 3" of a transport to embark upon it. Since units move one at a time, that gives permission for each unit to embark on a transport when they end their move within 3" of it.

Therefore the RAW would have to forbid multiple units from embarking on a transport to stop it from happening. Since they do not, you are allowed to embark any number of units onto a transport.




I play (click on icons to see pics): DQ:70+S++G(FAQ)M++B-I++Pw40k92/f-D+++A+++/areWD104R+T(D)DM+++
yakface's 40K rule #1: Although the rules allow you to use modeling to your advantage, how badly do you need to win your toy soldier games?
yakface's 40K rule #2: Friends don't let friends start a MEQ army.
yakface's 40K rule #3: Codex does not ALWAYS trump the rulebook, so please don't say that!
Waaagh Dakka: click the banner to learn more! 
   
Made in us
Numberless Necron Warrior




This is necessary because characters are their own units now. A standard line in a given transport description is "any number of Infantry Characters and one other Infantry unit, to a maximum of XX models."

   
Made in us
Lieutenant General





Florence, KY

silentone2k wrote:
A standard line in a given transport description is "any number of Infantry Characters and one other Infantry unit, to a maximum of XX models."

Actually that's only found in the rules for Buildings as far as I can see. Most Transports don't have a limitation of a single unit plus characters, but can carry as many units as will fit in the Transport.

'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents
cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable
defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'

- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty
Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim
 
   
Made in us
Not as Good as a Minion





Astonished of Heck

silentone2k wrote:
This is necessary because characters are their own units now. A standard line in a given transport description is "any number of Infantry Characters and one other Infantry unit, to a maximum of XX models."

Most of the Characters we have now have always been their own units. They just can't join other units any more, so it wouldn't be one single unit boarding the transport.

Are you a Wolf, a Sheep, or a Hound?
Megavolt wrote:They called me crazy…they called me insane…THEY CALLED ME LOONEY!! and boy, were they right.
 
   
Made in us
Abel





Washington State

The only thing I would add here is that some transports are very specific about what kind of units, or even mentions specific units, that can use the transport.

Kara Sloan shoots through Time and Design Space for a Negative Play Experience  
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




 Tamwulf wrote:
The only thing I would add here is that some transports are very specific about what kind of units, or even mentions specific units, that can use the transport.


Yes, you need to check each transport. For example, poor Tyranids have the Tyrannocyte that can still only carry 1 unit.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: