Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/08/25 21:11:10
Subject: Declaring shooting targets
|
 |
Annoyed Blood Angel Devastator
|
Hi All,
I did do a search but got 465 hits so thought I would put a post up..
In the shooting phase, does a player have to declare where each unit will shoot (including any split firing) and then start resolving, or can you just choose a unit declare targets, resolve and then move to the next?
Obviously it's an advantage for the latter, as you can choose those with few options first, resolve and then alter your targets afterwards depending on whats still standing, but the former would be more "true to life".
Cheers
|
If you ever play with "that guy" remember this :
"there may be times when you are not sure exactly how to resolve a situation that has come up during play. When this happens, have a quick chat with your opponent and apply the solution that makes the most sense to both of you (or seems the most fun!), If no single solution presents itself, you and your opponent should roll off, and whoever rolls the highest gets to choose what happens." BRB pg 180 |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/08/25 21:18:06
Subject: Re:Declaring shooting targets
|
 |
Drop Trooper with Demo Charge
|
P. 179 CRB Core Rules 3. Shooting Phase
|
If Khorne needs blood, will drown him in his own blood!
If Slaanesh wants pleasure, then we´ll give him DEATH, the greatest pleasure known to man!
If Tzeentch asks for forbidden knowledge, then we will enlighten him with fear of The God Machine!
If Nurgle wants us to embrace rebirth, then to hell with that, the Guard embrace Death, we live to DIE! |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/08/25 21:39:30
Subject: Declaring shooting targets
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
It's resolved unit-by-unit.
You do have to declare where every gun within a unit is pointing before rolling any dice.
But you don't have to aim all of your units.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/08/25 22:01:00
Subject: Declaring shooting targets
|
 |
Humming Great Unclean One of Nurgle
|
For an example, let's say you have Squad A (10 man tactical, plasma gun, plasma cannon) and Squad B (5 man tactical, all bolters).
You decide to shoot with Squad A first. You declare that the Plasma Gun AND the Cannon will shoot at Rhino C, and bolters will shoot at Enemy Squad D. You then resolve those shots in whatever order you feel like. But, let's say you shoot the Cannon first, and it destroys the Rhino, you CANNOT choose to shoot the Plasma Gun elsewhere.
Then, you can shoot with Squad B, following the same procedure.
|
Clocks for the clockmaker! Cogs for the cog throne! |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/08/26 22:43:19
Subject: Declaring shooting targets
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
JNAProductions wrote:For an example, let's say you have Squad A (10 man tactical, plasma gun, plasma cannon) and Squad B (5 man tactical, all bolters).
You decide to shoot with Squad A first. You declare that the Plasma Gun AND the Cannon will shoot at Rhino C, and bolters will shoot at Enemy Squad D. You then resolve those shots in whatever order you feel like. But, let's say you shoot the Cannon first, and it destroys the Rhino, you CANNOT choose to shoot the Plasma Gun elsewhere.
Then, you can shoot with Squad B, following the same procedure.
Taking that a step-by-step further if the rhino had Marines in it when it exploded the owner of the rhino has to place them on the field and then your squad b could target them assuming Los and range were OK.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/08/26 22:47:49
Subject: Declaring shooting targets
|
 |
Annoyed Blood Angel Devastator
|
Thanks all, excellent answers and apologies for my ignorance.
|
If you ever play with "that guy" remember this :
"there may be times when you are not sure exactly how to resolve a situation that has come up during play. When this happens, have a quick chat with your opponent and apply the solution that makes the most sense to both of you (or seems the most fun!), If no single solution presents itself, you and your opponent should roll off, and whoever rolls the highest gets to choose what happens." BRB pg 180 |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/08/27 05:46:09
Subject: Declaring shooting targets
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
No apologies needed! We were all new once. Gl with your games! Remember, if you can't agree or figure a rule out while playing the easiest answer to keep the game going is to roll a die and let fate give the answer, after which do what you did and ask other players how they would play it.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/08/27 08:24:29
Subject: Declaring shooting targets
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
Vanished Completely
|
Technically, we are all newbies right now... but more eyes mean less gets over-looked.
|
8th made it so I can no longer sway Tau onto the side of Chaos, but they will eventually turn aside from their idea of the Greater Good to embrace the Greatest of pleasures. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/08/27 21:57:41
Subject: Declaring shooting targets
|
 |
Annoyed Blood Angel Devastator
|
Azuza001 wrote: JNAProductions wrote:For an example, let's say you have Squad A (10 man tactical, plasma gun, plasma cannon) and Squad B (5 man tactical, all bolters).
You decide to shoot with Squad A first. You declare that the Plasma Gun AND the Cannon will shoot at Rhino C, and bolters will shoot at Enemy Squad D. You then resolve those shots in whatever order you feel like. But, let's say you shoot the Cannon first, and it destroys the Rhino, you CANNOT choose to shoot the Plasma Gun elsewhere.
Then, you can shoot with Squad B, following the same procedure.
Taking that a step-by-step further if the rhino had Marines in it when it exploded the owner of the rhino has to place them on the field and then your squad b could target them assuming Los and range were OK.
hmm.. could the squad that disembarked be considered an intrinsic part of the Rhino, hence open to attack from the remaining shots of squad A?
|
If you ever play with "that guy" remember this :
"there may be times when you are not sure exactly how to resolve a situation that has come up during play. When this happens, have a quick chat with your opponent and apply the solution that makes the most sense to both of you (or seems the most fun!), If no single solution presents itself, you and your opponent should roll off, and whoever rolls the highest gets to choose what happens." BRB pg 180 |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/08/27 22:02:30
Subject: Declaring shooting targets
|
 |
Norn Queen
|
gkos wrote:Azuza001 wrote: JNAProductions wrote:For an example, let's say you have Squad A (10 man tactical, plasma gun, plasma cannon) and Squad B (5 man tactical, all bolters).
You decide to shoot with Squad A first. You declare that the Plasma Gun AND the Cannon will shoot at Rhino C, and bolters will shoot at Enemy Squad D. You then resolve those shots in whatever order you feel like. But, let's say you shoot the Cannon first, and it destroys the Rhino, you CANNOT choose to shoot the Plasma Gun elsewhere.
Then, you can shoot with Squad B, following the same procedure.
Taking that a step-by-step further if the rhino had Marines in it when it exploded the owner of the rhino has to place them on the field and then your squad b could target them assuming Los and range were OK.
hmm.. could the squad that disembarked be considered an intrinsic part of the Rhino, hence open to attack from the remaining shots of squad A?
No. It's never worked like that, it never will work like that.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/08/27 22:11:38
Subject: Declaring shooting targets
|
 |
Annoyed Blood Angel Devastator
|
hey ho.. Fair enough
|
If you ever play with "that guy" remember this :
"there may be times when you are not sure exactly how to resolve a situation that has come up during play. When this happens, have a quick chat with your opponent and apply the solution that makes the most sense to both of you (or seems the most fun!), If no single solution presents itself, you and your opponent should roll off, and whoever rolls the highest gets to choose what happens." BRB pg 180 |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/09/01 07:16:51
Subject: Declaring shooting targets
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
So what if a unit has a gun that can fire twice if they didn't move. Does the unit still need to declare all its targets before any dice are rolled. For example the auto boltstorm gauntlets on Aggressors.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2017/09/01 07:20:37
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/09/01 13:30:21
Subject: Declaring shooting targets
|
 |
Powerful Phoenix Lord
|
yellowfever wrote:So what if a unit has a gun that can fire twice if they didn't move. Does the unit still need to declare all its targets before any dice are rolled. For example the auto boltstorm gauntlets on Aggressors.
Yes, they do.
|
Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/09/01 15:20:31
Subject: Declaring shooting targets
|
 |
Norn Queen
|
Happyjew wrote:yellowfever wrote:So what if a unit has a gun that can fire twice if they didn't move. Does the unit still need to declare all its targets before any dice are rolled. For example the auto boltstorm gauntlets on Aggressors.
Yes, they do.
That highly depends on what the rule specifically says. Aggressors say they can fire twice, and it's unclear whether this means they can be picked twice to shoot ala Khorne Berzerkers or if they resolve both sets of firing at once.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/09/01 15:58:25
Subject: Declaring shooting targets
|
 |
Powerful Phoenix Lord
|
BaconCatBug wrote: Happyjew wrote:yellowfever wrote:So what if a unit has a gun that can fire twice if they didn't move. Does the unit still need to declare all its targets before any dice are rolled. For example the auto boltstorm gauntlets on Aggressors.
Yes, they do.
That highly depends on what the rule specifically says. Aggressors say they can fire twice, and it's unclear whether this means they can be picked twice to shoot ala Khorne Berzerkers or if they resolve both sets of firing at once.
Which means each shooting attack is separate, resolved as if it was a different weapon.
FAQ somewhat relevant:
Q: If a model has an ability that allows it to ‘shoot twice’ (e.g.
Maugan Ra and his Whirlwind of Death ability), do I need to
shoot the same target each time or can I choose different targets?
A: Unless otherwise stated, you can shoot different
targets each time it shoots. Resolve the first shooting
attack completely before resolving the second.
|
Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/09/01 16:15:31
Subject: Declaring shooting targets
|
 |
Ridin' on a Snotling Pump Wagon
|
JNAProductions wrote:For an example, let's say you have Squad A (10 man tactical, plasma gun, plasma cannon) and Squad B (5 man tactical, all bolters).
You decide to shoot with Squad A first. You declare that the Plasma Gun AND the Cannon will shoot at Rhino C, and bolters will shoot at Enemy Squad D. You then resolve those shots in whatever order you feel like. But, let's say you shoot the Cannon first, and it destroys the Rhino, you CANNOT choose to shoot the Plasma Gun elsewhere.
Then, you can shoot with Squad B, following the same procedure.
For added clarity to the above.....
You can't bypass this by 'declare, resolve, declare, resolve' with the same unit. So you must declare targets for the whole squad at the same time.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/09/01 16:50:42
Subject: Declaring shooting targets
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
That's what I thought. Thanks guys
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/09/01 18:00:28
Subject: Declaring shooting targets
|
 |
Esteemed Veteran Space Marine
Ottawa
|
Mad Doc Grotsnik wrote: JNAProductions wrote:For an example, let's say you have Squad A (10 man tactical, plasma gun, plasma cannon) and Squad B (5 man tactical, all bolters).
You decide to shoot with Squad A first. You declare that the Plasma Gun AND the Cannon will shoot at Rhino C, and bolters will shoot at Enemy Squad D. You then resolve those shots in whatever order you feel like. But, let's say you shoot the Cannon first, and it destroys the Rhino, you CANNOT choose to shoot the Plasma Gun elsewhere.
Then, you can shoot with Squad B, following the same procedure.
For added clarity to the above.....
You can't bypass this by 'declare, resolve, declare, resolve' with the same unit. So you must declare targets for the whole squad at the same time.
So in this case, if we're talking Aggressors (who have a special rule that allows them to shoot twice), and when taking into consideration the FAQ reference above and how they can select different targets, you would actually have to "declare, resolve, declare, resolve" with the same unit because you're supposed to resolve the shooting attack "completely" before firing again, right?
Sorry if that was long winded. I would want to get this right the first time I do it, lol
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/09/01 18:17:14
Subject: Declaring shooting targets
|
 |
Lieutenant General
|
Step 4 of the Shooting phase is 'Resolve Attacks'. That is what is being referred to in the FAQ.
|
'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'
- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/09/01 18:52:55
Subject: Declaring shooting targets
|
 |
Ridin' on a Snotling Pump Wagon
|
Lemondish wrote: Mad Doc Grotsnik wrote: JNAProductions wrote:For an example, let's say you have Squad A (10 man tactical, plasma gun, plasma cannon) and Squad B (5 man tactical, all bolters).
You decide to shoot with Squad A first. You declare that the Plasma Gun AND the Cannon will shoot at Rhino C, and bolters will shoot at Enemy Squad D. You then resolve those shots in whatever order you feel like. But, let's say you shoot the Cannon first, and it destroys the Rhino, you CANNOT choose to shoot the Plasma Gun elsewhere.
Then, you can shoot with Squad B, following the same procedure.
For added clarity to the above.....
You can't bypass this by 'declare, resolve, declare, resolve' with the same unit. So you must declare targets for the whole squad at the same time.
So in this case, if we're talking Aggressors (who have a special rule that allows them to shoot twice), and when taking into consideration the FAQ reference above and how they can select different targets, you would actually have to "declare, resolve, declare, resolve" with the same unit because you're supposed to resolve the shooting attack "completely" before firing again, right?
Sorry if that was long winded. I would want to get this right the first time I do it, lol
In this case, yes. Because the Aggressors don't so much fire each gun twice, but effectively gain two shooting phases.
Now, I'd need to read the rules properly, but I think you have to resolve one batch after the other - rather than Aggressor first volley, Tactical Squad to wipe up, Aggressor second volley?
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/09/01 19:03:59
Subject: Declaring shooting targets
|
 |
Lieutenant General
|
Mad Doc Grotsnik wrote:In this case, yes. Because the Aggressors don't so much fire each gun twice, but effectively gain two shooting phases.
From the Aggressors 'Fire Storm' rule:
Fire Storm: Models in this unit can fire twice if they remained stationary during their turn (including when firing Overwatch).
So yes, they do fire each gun twice and do not receive two Shooting phases.
|
'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'
- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/09/01 23:34:11
Subject: Declaring shooting targets
|
 |
Esteemed Veteran Space Marine
Ottawa
|
Ghaz wrote: Mad Doc Grotsnik wrote:In this case, yes. Because the Aggressors don't so much fire each gun twice, but effectively gain two shooting phases.
From the Aggressors 'Fire Storm' rule:
Fire Storm: Models in this unit can fire twice if they remained stationary during their turn (including when firing Overwatch).
So yes, they do fire each gun twice and do not receive two Shooting phases.
I'm not sure that answers my question, forgive me. The FAQ states that you can choose different targets for each attack but that the first attack needs to be fully resolved before moving to the next. When you say it doesn't grant two shooting phases, are you therefore saying that it would require you to declare both targets up front?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/09/01 23:44:17
Subject: Declaring shooting targets
|
 |
Lieutenant General
|
Choosing your target is not a part of Step 4 of the Shooting phase which again is 'Resolve Attacks'. You choose all of the targets before resolving any shooting attacks. You choose Unit A for the first time they fire and Unit B for the second time they fire. Then you reach the 'Resolve Attacks' step of the Shooting phase, completely resolving all of the shooting at Unit A before you move on and resolve all of the shooting at Unit B
|
'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'
- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/09/01 23:45:12
Subject: Declaring shooting targets
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
Ghaz explained it better.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2017/09/01 23:47:01
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/09/02 00:38:04
Subject: Declaring shooting targets
|
 |
[ADMIN]
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Hmmm, we seem to now be having the same discussion in two different places. If you want to continue to discuss models that are able to fire twice, please go to this thread:
https://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/738204.page
|
|
|
 |
 |
|