Switch Theme:

Summoning cost Q  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in pl
Fresh-Faced New User




Hi,

Quick one :

When You summon any unit (f.e you want to summon Lord of change - and you have spare 300 pts for him), when the spell is succesful BUT is dispelled by the enemy, do you lose your 300pts for summoning?

   
Made in us
Rotting Sorcerer of Nurgle






The spell isn't successful if unbound, to my understanding. Either way if the spell is stopped you don't lose the points.

"Putting a statement in quotations makes it seem more legitimate."
--Bette R. Withname

Imagine three people with the same set of values but radically different emotional states, each of them believes their position is more valid than the other two, they all post using the same account, and your job is to make it coherent. 
   
Made in us
Painting Within the Lines




Seattle, WA USA

If unbound, it's still technically successfully cast:

Age of Sigmar Core Rules wrote:To cast a spell, roll two dice. If the total is equal to or greater than the casting value of the spell, the spell is successfully cast.

If a spell is cast, the opposing player can choose any one of their wizards that is within 18" of the caster, and that can see them, and attempt to unbind the spell before its effects are applied. To unbind a spell, roll two dice. If the roll beats the roll used to cast the spell, then the spell’s effects are negated. Only one attempt can be made to unbind a spell.


That said, if it's unbound, then the effects are negated, so you wouldn't set up the models, and therefore you wouldn't pay the points, since:

General's Handbook 2017 wrote:“Each time a unit is added to an army during a battle, or a destroyed unit is returned to play, you must first subtract the number of points the unit would cost from your pool of reinforcement points, unless noted otherwise.”
Since you didn't add the unit, you don't pay the points.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2017/11/21 02:44:39


 
   
 
Forum Index » AoS Tactics, Army Lists & Rules Questions
Go to: