Switch Theme:

need help with this transport question?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Screaming Shining Spear





USA

 admironheart wrote:
 Marius Xerxes wrote:


https://whc-cdn.games-workshop.com/wp-content/uploads/2017/11/warhammer_40000_stepping_into_a_new_edition_en.pdf

Q: Can a unit that Advances or Falls Back embark
within a transport? What about if the transport has
moved before – can a unit still embark inside?

A: Yes, yes and yes (remember though that a transport
cannot both embark and disembark units in the
same turn).

FAQ made it clear that the transport cannot embark and disembark units in the same turn either.


Yes...that is the FAQ I was noting. It COULD BE as straight as you stated or It does seem the response to the main rule that one cannot jump some tac squad in a transport and then jump out....which breaks the main transport rule. So was that a clarification or a broad restriction?.

One could argue that that statement said 'embark and disembark' which COULD be different from 'disembark and embark' . That is completely different. Its like my swooping hawks jump out of tactical reserves and land from the skies. That is different from leaving the battlefield and flying into the skies. I cannot do both in the same round. (But I could do it that both ways with 2 separate units of swooping hawks)

My thoughts are that you can disembark and then embark a different unit later RAW because it specifically stated you could NOT do the opposite but did not address the reverse. There is implication of the FAQ context that it was stating for the record a single unit cannot do both in the same turn.


So I brought this over here to see what the consensus was? Is ti a broad RESTRICTION from the FAQ simple and plain.....or is it a RAW only intended for the exact process of embarking and then disembarking (not in any way limiting the different disembarking then embarking option)

thanks

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2017/12/03 19:50:21


 koooaei wrote:
We are rolling so many dice to have less time to realise that there is not much else to the game other than rolling so many dice.
 
   
Made in gb
Khorne Chosen Marine Riding a Juggernaut





UK

after looking into it seems you could do the above with RAW

the FAQ clarification is reminding you of something that is also actually wrong the rule book specifically says a'a unit' cannot embark and disembark on the same turn not unit[[s]]

cant see anything wrong with rhino with a spare seat have a captain jump in and then the 8 marines jump out

 
   
Made in gb
Norn Queen






The FAQ is simply wrong. It's meant to talk about the unit, not the transport itself. So it all comes down to how you interpret the text in parenthesis, either as errata grade special snowflake FAQ or as poorly worded incorrect reminder text. Discuss it pre game.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2017/12/03 20:31:18


 
   
Made in us
Screaming Shining Spear





USA

thanks!!

 koooaei wrote:
We are rolling so many dice to have less time to realise that there is not much else to the game other than rolling so many dice.
 
   
Made in us
Unhealthy Competition With Other Legions




Lost Carcosa

Since I am not one to go and decide which FAQ I want to follow or not in a tournament environment just because I don't like the wording, I've gone ahead and submitted the question for clarification to the GW FB page.

The answer, if any, wont be official. But maybe it gets them to clarify it on the documents themselves when the next wave of FAQ stuff gets published.

Fingers crossed.

Standing in the light, I see only darkness.  
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: