Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2018/01/24 23:34:45
Subject: Some tyranids stratagem questions
|
 |
Scuttling Genestealer
|
#1 OPPORTUNISTIC ADVANCE
Kraken Stratagem
Use this Stratagem in your Movement phase when you
roll the dice for an Advancing KRAKEN unit (other than
a unit that can FLY). You can double the number you roll
and add that total to their Move characteristic for that
Movement phase, rather than following the normal rules
for Advancing.
How does this work? There are so many possibilities and it's so vague!
Do I roll 3 dice (as I am Kraken), or 1 dice, as I am not following the 'normal rules' for advancing?
Do I double whatever I roll with the 3 dice (so maybe (2+3+5)x2 = 20" for example), or do I first pick the highest number as per the Kraken rule and then double that (so 5x2 = 10")?
#2 DEATH FRENZY
Tyranids Stratagem
Use this Stratagem when a TYRANIDS CHARACTER from
your army is slain; the Hive Mind compels it to one final
attack, and it can immediately either shoot as if it were
your Shooting phase, or fight as if it were your Fight phase
before it is removed from the battlefield.
What exactly does 'fight as if it were the Fight phase' mean here?
Do I get to do the whole sequence Fight phase actions: pile in, attack, consolidate?
Do I have to already be in close combat with the model I want to fight when the stratagem activates, or can I use the pile in to get into range of a unit currently 3" away and then attack it, even though I was not in CC before?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2018/01/24 23:38:52
Subject: Some tyranids stratagem questions
|
 |
Norn Queen
|
1) Assuming a unit under the influence of the Kraken hive fleet rule, you roll 3, pick the highest and double it. You don't roll 3 and add them for Kraken even without the stratagem. 2) Yes, it gets the whole sequence, just like as if it were selected to fight in the fight phase. As to whether it can start further than 1" and pile in, I am not 100% sure since the rules say you can only select a unit if it's within 1", but this stratagem might override that. I would say that officially it's rather unclear, but I am of the mindset that the RaW would be the more restrictive reading, and if it's not within 1" you can't select it, just like all other units not within 1" in the fight phase.
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2018/01/24 23:40:14
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2018/01/25 03:03:48
Subject: Some tyranids stratagem questions
|
 |
Norn Queen
|
Agree with bcb on all points.
For #2 consider that it is the fight phase. What could that model do from its current location? If it would not be able to pile in and fight then what allows it to now? The strat doesnt give it express permission to make a pile in move so you have to follow the basic fight phase permissions.
|
These are my opinions. This is how I feel. Others may feel differently. This needs to be stated for some reason.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2018/01/25 03:41:22
Subject: Some tyranids stratagem questions
|
 |
Never Forget Isstvan!
|
So funny to have a Tyranid prime swing twice when it dies if its equipped with Bonesword+Lashwhip.
Effective? not usually, but funny.
I do however love the Miasma cannon death frenzy. Oh you smited my HT? eat D3 auto hitting str 9 -2 ap, 3dmg shots.
|
JOIN MY CRUSADE and gain 4000 RT points!
http://www.eternalcrusade.com/account/sign-up/?ref_code=EC-PLCIKYCABW8PG |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2018/01/26 11:53:20
Subject: Some tyranids stratagem questions
|
 |
Sinewy Scourge
|
I'd say you can fight even if outside of the 1" range, due to the fact that per RAW fighting starts at step 2, whereas step 1 is selection of a unit, which has the 1" restriction. The unit is selected in a different way via the stratagem, then fights as if it were the fight phase, step 2 onwards. There are previous threads about this: Here and Here.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2018/01/26 11:56:39
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2018/01/26 11:57:40
Subject: Some tyranids stratagem questions
|
 |
Norn Queen
|
Drager wrote:I'd say you can fight even if outside of the 1" range, due to the fact that per RAW fighting starts at step 2, whereas step 1 is selection of a unit, which has the 1" restriction. The unit is selected in a different way via the stratagem, then fights as if it were the fight phase, step 2 onwards. There are previous threads about this: Here and Here.
Pretty sure "fight as if it were your Fight phase" includes step 1.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2018/01/26 12:09:31
Subject: Some tyranids stratagem questions
|
 |
Never Forget Isstvan!
|
As for the strat activating, it would be just another activation, similar to berzerkers fighting multiple times. They get to pile in and fight outside of 1" so same for this unit.
|
JOIN MY CRUSADE and gain 4000 RT points!
http://www.eternalcrusade.com/account/sign-up/?ref_code=EC-PLCIKYCABW8PG |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2018/01/26 12:18:24
Subject: Some tyranids stratagem questions
|
 |
Witch Hunter in the Shadows
Aachen
|
BaconCatBug wrote:Drager wrote:I'd say you can fight even if outside of the 1" range, due to the fact that per RAW fighting starts at step 2, whereas step 1 is selection of a unit, which has the 1" restriction. The unit is selected in a different way via the stratagem, then fights as if it were the fight phase, step 2 onwards. There are previous threads about this: Here and Here.
Pretty sure "fight as if it were your Fight phase" includes step 1.
No it doesn't. Because you don't choose a unit, it is chosen for you, so you move directly to step 2. Otherwise a lot of things would break based on that Step 1 also includes "no unit can be selected to fight more than once". And literally the last line of Step 1 says:
A fight is resolved in the following steps:
2. Pile in ...
...
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2018/01/26 12:21:11
Subject: Some tyranids stratagem questions
|
 |
Norn Queen
|
Fair enough, I guess that's pretty clear.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2018/01/26 12:30:21
Subject: Some tyranids stratagem questions
|
 |
Sinewy Scourge
|
nekooni wrote: BaconCatBug wrote:Drager wrote:I'd say you can fight even if outside of the 1" range, due to the fact that per RAW fighting starts at step 2, whereas step 1 is selection of a unit, which has the 1" restriction. The unit is selected in a different way via the stratagem, then fights as if it were the fight phase, step 2 onwards. There are previous threads about this: Here and Here.
Pretty sure "fight as if it were your Fight phase" includes step 1.
No it doesn't. Because you don't choose a unit, it is chosen for you, so you move directly to step 2. Otherwise a lot of things would break based on that Step 1 also includes "no unit can be selected to fight more than once". And literally the last line of Step 1 says:
A fight is resolved in the following steps:
2. Pile in ...
...
Thanks, that is exactly what I was referring to.
|
|
 |
 |
|