Switch Theme:

Genestealer Cult Mind Control question.  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Oozing Spawning Vat





If I manage to Mind Control a Leman Russ tank, can I fire all of it's weapons such as the main turret and sponson weapons or do I need to fire one weapon of my choice? I've seen a previous thread with a similar question, until I saw the psychic power in a tactics guide in a website that contradicts it. Did the rule for the spell change?
Screenshot of Mind Control rule in website: https://m.imgur.com/a/nJEyd
Actual website: https://1d4chan.org/wiki/Warhammer_40,000/Tactics/Genestealer_Cults(8E)#Broodmind_Discipline

 
   
Made in de
Nihilistic Necron Lord






Germany

"...the model immediately makes a single ranged or melee attack against another enemy unit."

I have marked the important word, in red color. You do know what the word single means, dont you ? Its 1, not 2, not 3, not 4, not 5, not 6, not 7, not 8, not 9, just 1 attack. Even if the russ had 126 guns, you would only make 1 attack with 1 gun of your choice.
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





Not just one attack, one shot. From the Number of Shots section

"Each time a model shoots a ranged weapon, it will make a number of attacks. You roll once dice for each attack being made".

So, you're rolling one die for one attack.
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut




Los Angeles

Power is improperly quoted. The power actually reads: "...but if it is equal to or greater, that model may immediately shoot another enemy unit of your choice, or make a single close combat attack against it, as if it were a part of your army."

Via the actual power, when you shoot, you may use any number of weapons available to one model in the unit selected. In the case of a Leman Russ tank, you may fire all of its weapons.
   
Made in us
Oozing Spawning Vat





 p5freak wrote:
"...the model immediately makes a single ranged or melee attack against another enemy unit."

I have marked the important word, in red color. You do know what the word single means, dont you ? Its 1, not 2, not 3, not 4, not 5, not 6, not 7, not 8, not 9, just 1 attack. Even if the russ had 126 guns, you would only make 1 attack with 1 gun of your choice.

There has been a misunderstanding and it could have been prevented if I posted the rule.

Mind Control: Pick an enemy model within 12" of the psyker and roll 3D6. If the score is less than the model's Leadership nothing happens, but if it is equal or greater, that model can immediately shoot another enemy unit of your choice, or make one single close combat attack against it, as if it were part of your army. Models cannot attack themselves, but they can attack members of their unit.

That rule was copy pasted from Battlescribe, but the Xenos 2 Index has the exact same text for Mind Control. in Battlescribe, the one attack is only applied for close quarters attacks. Why are the rules different between the Index and the Website? Did it change and the rule on the website was up to date?


Automatically Appended Next Post:
Partial Arc LLC. wrote:
Power is improperly quoted. The power actually reads: "...but if it is equal to or greater, that model may immediately shoot another enemy unit of your choice, or make a single close combat attack against it, as if it were a part of your army."

Via the actual power, when you shoot, you may use any number of weapons available to one model in the unit selected. In the case of a Leman Russ tank, you may fire all of its weapons.

Thanks for the correction, don't know why the website didn't bother to copy and paste the psychic power, it caused so much confusion.


This message was edited 8 times. Last update was at 2018/02/13 22:46:39


 
   
Made in de
Nihilistic Necron Lord






Germany

Ok, wrong quote. But even with the right quote the power wouldnt work, if we follow RAW. Core rules pg. 3 defines what enemy models are :

Enemy Models

All models in the same army are friendly models. Models controlled by an opposing player are enemy models.


The stratagem doesnt make the unit part of your army. It doesnt say you control it. You would have to attack one of your own units.

   
Made in gb
Grim Dark Angels Interrogator-Chaplain





Cardiff

 p5freak wrote:
Ok, wrong quote. But even with the right quote the power wouldnt work, if we follow RAW. Core rules pg. 3 defines what enemy models are :

Enemy Models

All models in the same army are friendly models. Models controlled by an opposing player are enemy models.


The stratagem doesnt make the unit part of your army. It doesnt say you control it. You would have to attack one of your own units.



What are you on about? You can fire all guns, as others have demonstrated by quoting correctly. Also, you in no way have to target your own forces. Don't be silly. It's referring to your enemy, not the enemies of the controlled unit (i.e. your own army). Twisting this to claim you have to shoot your own dudes is ridiculous.

 Stormonu wrote:
For me, the joy is in putting some good-looking models on the board and playing out a fantasy battle - not arguing over the poorly-made rules of some 3rd party who neither has any power over my play nor will be visiting me (and my opponent) to ensure we are "playing by the rules"
 
   
Made in de
Nihilistic Necron Lord






Germany

 JohnnyHell wrote:

What are you on about? You can fire all guns, as others have demonstrated by quoting correctly. Also, you in no way have to target your own forces. Don't be silly. It's referring to your enemy, not the enemies of the controlled unit (i.e. your own army). Twisting this to claim you have to shoot your own dudes is ridiculous.


Yes, you can fire all guns. Read the definition in the core rules what friendly units are, and what enemy units are. If you mind control the unit its still in the same army. The stratagem doesnt change to which player the mind controlled unit belongs to. You can shoot its guns, but only at the enemy. Which, by definition, are your own units.
   
Made in nl
Been Around the Block




 p5freak wrote:
 JohnnyHell wrote:

What are you on about? You can fire all guns, as others have demonstrated by quoting correctly. Also, you in no way have to target your own forces. Don't be silly. It's referring to your enemy, not the enemies of the controlled unit (i.e. your own army). Twisting this to claim you have to shoot your own dudes is ridiculous.


Yes, you can fire all guns. Read the definition in the core rules what friendly units are, and what enemy units are. If you mind control the unit its still in the same army. The stratagem doesnt change to which player the mind controlled unit belongs to. You can shoot its guns, but only at the enemy. Which, by definition, are your own units.


If you'd argue this to me in an actual battle, I'd quit immediately. Whatever you think the rule says, it is 100% clear to everyone that you would be shooting the enemy units and not your own.
   
Made in gb
Regular Dakkanaut






Yes, you can fire all guns. Read the definition in the core rules what friendly units are, and what enemy units are. If you mind control the unit its still in the same army. The stratagem doesnt change to which player the mind controlled unit belongs to. You can shoot its guns, but only at the enemy. Which, by definition, are your own units.


Seriously? You want to be that guy?

If you are trying to be a windup merchant - you have succeeded

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2018/02/14 11:09:40


 
   
Made in us
[DCM]
Sentient OverBear






Clearwater, FL

 p5freak wrote:
Yes, you can fire all guns. Read the definition in the core rules what friendly units are, and what enemy units are. If you mind control the unit its still in the same army. The stratagem doesnt change to which player the mind controlled unit belongs to. You can shoot its guns, but only at the enemy. Which, by definition, are your own units.


You are being purposefully obtuse and dragging this thread into a bad direction. Stop.

DQ:70S++G+++M+B++I+Pw40k94+ID+++A++/sWD178R+++T(I)DM+++

Trust me, no matter what damage they have the potential to do, single-shot weapons always flatter to deceive in 40k.                                                                                                       Rule #1
- BBAP

 
   
Made in gb
Grim Dark Angels Interrogator-Chaplain





Cardiff

 p5freak wrote:
 JohnnyHell wrote:

What are you on about? You can fire all guns, as others have demonstrated by quoting correctly. Also, you in no way have to target your own forces. Don't be silly. It's referring to your enemy, not the enemies of the controlled unit (i.e. your own army). Twisting this to claim you have to shoot your own dudes is ridiculous.


Yes, you can fire all guns. Read the definition in the core rules what friendly units are, and what enemy units are. If you mind control the unit its still in the same army. The stratagem doesnt change to which player the mind controlled unit belongs to. You can shoot its guns, but only at the enemy. Which, by definition, are your own units.


Ridiculous. Wilfully misinterpreting a clear rule.

 Stormonu wrote:
For me, the joy is in putting some good-looking models on the board and playing out a fantasy battle - not arguing over the poorly-made rules of some 3rd party who neither has any power over my play nor will be visiting me (and my opponent) to ensure we are "playing by the rules"
 
   
Made in us
Oozing Spawning Vat





 p5freak wrote:
 JohnnyHell wrote:

What are you on about? You can fire all guns, as others have demonstrated by quoting correctly. Also, you in no way have to target your own forces. Don't be silly. It's referring to your enemy, not the enemies of the controlled unit (i.e. your own army). Twisting this to claim you have to shoot your own dudes is ridiculous.


Yes, you can fire all guns. Read the definition in the core rules what friendly units are, and what enemy units are. If you mind control the unit its still in the same army. The stratagem doesnt change to which player the mind controlled unit belongs to. You can shoot its guns, but only at the enemy. Which, by definition, are your own units.


Mind Control: Pick an enemy model within 12" of the psyker and roll 3D6. If the score is less than the model's Leadership nothing happens, but if it is equal or greater, that model can immediately shoot another enemy unit of your choice, or make one single close combat attack against it, as if it were part of your army. Models cannot attack themselves, but they can attack members of their unit.

This message was edited 4 times. Last update was at 2018/02/14 18:53:32


 
   
Made in gb
Dakka Veteran





 p5freak wrote:
 JohnnyHell wrote:

What are you on about? You can fire all guns, as others have demonstrated by quoting correctly. Also, you in no way have to target your own forces. Don't be silly. It's referring to your enemy, not the enemies of the controlled unit (i.e. your own army). Twisting this to claim you have to shoot your own dudes is ridiculous.


Yes, you can fire all guns. Read the definition in the core rules what friendly units are, and what enemy units are. If you mind control the unit its still in the same army. The stratagem doesnt change to which player the mind controlled unit belongs to. You can shoot its guns, but only at the enemy. Which, by definition, are your own units.

So the part about shooting a different enemy unit isn't enough?

 
   
Made in de
Nihilistic Necron Lord






Germany

 Alchemys wrote:

Mind Control: Pick an enemy model within 12" of the psyker and roll 3D6. If the score is less than the model's Leadership nothing happens, but if it is equal or greater, that model can immediately shoot another enemy unit of your choice, or make one single close combat attack against it, as if it were part of your army. Models cannot attack themselves, but they can attack members of their unit.


Sorry, i didnt see " as if it were part of your army."
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: