Switch Theme:

Resolving charge abilities to clear path for other charging models  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Rotting Sorcerer of Nurgle






Jacksonville, NC

Yesterday I had a game against orcs that raised a number of questions.

Scenerio: My opponent charged with the Gargantuan Squiggoth into a Bloat Drone and Foul Blightspawn. After moving (before declaring any other charges) he resolved his stompy rule, which killed my foul blightspawn. This cleared him and then he declared a charge with a different model to a model that was behind the spawn. Is this legal or do you need to declare all your charges, one at a time, before resolving charge abilities? I know you roll for overwatch for each unit as they are charged. This was a weird scenario.

Check out my P&M Blog!
Check out my YouTube channel, Heretic Wargaming USA: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCLiPUI3zwSxPiHzWjFQKcNA
Latest Tourney results:
1st Place Special Mission tourney 12/15/18 (Battlereps)
2nd Place ITC tourney 08/20/18 ( Battlerep)
3rd Place ITC Tourney 06/08/18(Battlereps
   
Made in us
Pious Palatine





Tacoma, WA, USA

When does the rule say it is resolved? If at the end of the Charge Move, than it was correct to resolve the rule before moving on to declaring his next charge. Charges are declared and resolved before declaring the next charge.
   
Made in gb
Potent Possessed Daemonvessel





Why Aye Ya Canny Dakkanaughts!

Yep, the ork player was right.

Ghorros wrote:
The moral of the story: Don't park your Imperial Knight in a field of Gretchin carrying power tools.
 Marmatag wrote:
All the while, my opponent is furious, throwing his codex on the floor, trying to slash his wrists with safety scissors.
 
   
Made in us
Rotting Sorcerer of Nurgle






Jacksonville, NC

 alextroy wrote:
When does the rule say it is resolved? If at the end of the Charge Move, than it was correct to resolve the rule before moving on to declaring his next charge. Charges are declared and resolved before declaring the next charge.


Ah I see, yes then it was legal.

Follow up question, the guy declared a charge that would have caused the Gargantuan to "pass through" 2 Poxwalkers, this is an illegal move, correct?

Check out my P&M Blog!
Check out my YouTube channel, Heretic Wargaming USA: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCLiPUI3zwSxPiHzWjFQKcNA
Latest Tourney results:
1st Place Special Mission tourney 12/15/18 (Battlereps)
2nd Place ITC tourney 08/20/18 ( Battlerep)
3rd Place ITC Tourney 06/08/18(Battlereps
   
Made in gb
Potent Possessed Daemonvessel





Why Aye Ya Canny Dakkanaughts!

 Zid wrote:
 alextroy wrote:
When does the rule say it is resolved? If at the end of the Charge Move, than it was correct to resolve the rule before moving on to declaring his next charge. Charges are declared and resolved before declaring the next charge.


Ah I see, yes then it was legal.

Follow up question, the guy declared a charge that would have caused the Gargantuan to "pass through" 2 Poxwalkers, this is an illegal move, correct?

Aye, your opponent probably presumed that the titanic keyword gave them the ability to walk over infantry but that has to be given as a separate rule now.

Ghorros wrote:
The moral of the story: Don't park your Imperial Knight in a field of Gretchin carrying power tools.
 Marmatag wrote:
All the while, my opponent is furious, throwing his codex on the floor, trying to slash his wrists with safety scissors.
 
   
Made in us
Rotting Sorcerer of Nurgle






Jacksonville, NC

 mrhappyface wrote:
 Zid wrote:
 alextroy wrote:
When does the rule say it is resolved? If at the end of the Charge Move, than it was correct to resolve the rule before moving on to declaring his next charge. Charges are declared and resolved before declaring the next charge.


Ah I see, yes then it was legal.

Follow up question, the guy declared a charge that would have caused the Gargantuan to "pass through" 2 Poxwalkers, this is an illegal move, correct?

Aye, your opponent probably presumed that the titanic keyword gave them the ability to walk over infantry but that has to be given as a separate rule now.


Well the way he would have been placed he would have been "standing" on the unit, but the squiggoth didn't have a base and I didn't know what to do lol. The charge rule killed the two poxwalkers, but yeah, I assumed it was completely illegal. Thanks!

Check out my P&M Blog!
Check out my YouTube channel, Heretic Wargaming USA: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCLiPUI3zwSxPiHzWjFQKcNA
Latest Tourney results:
1st Place Special Mission tourney 12/15/18 (Battlereps)
2nd Place ITC tourney 08/20/18 ( Battlerep)
3rd Place ITC Tourney 06/08/18(Battlereps
   
Made in us
Pious Palatine





Tacoma, WA, USA

To be strictly correct, he can declare a charge against any unit that is with 12", regardless of whether he can actually reach them.

After Overwatch, he rolls his charge distance and then moves up to the charge distance if that will leave with within 1" of a model in a charged unit and does require movement within 1" of a model not in a unit he charged. As normal, he cannot move through other models unless he has a rule that states otherwise.

As to whether he can loom over other models when he doesn't have a base, not well defined in the rules.
   
Made in us
Rotting Sorcerer of Nurgle






Jacksonville, NC

 alextroy wrote:
To be strictly correct, he can declare a charge against any unit that is with 12", regardless of whether he can actually reach them.

After Overwatch, he rolls his charge distance and then moves up to the charge distance if that will leave with within 1" of a model in a charged unit and does require movement within 1" of a model not in a unit he charged. As normal, he cannot move through other models unless he has a rule that states otherwise.

As to whether he can loom over other models when he doesn't have a base, not well defined in the rules.


Right, the poxwalkers in question were "in the path" he would have to take to charge. The Squiggoth had 2 disembarked HQ models on both sides of it, so it wouldn't be able to "curve" around the poxwalkers to avoid them. Instead, he charged straight through and "loomed" over the poxwalkers after completing the charge.

Check out my P&M Blog!
Check out my YouTube channel, Heretic Wargaming USA: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCLiPUI3zwSxPiHzWjFQKcNA
Latest Tourney results:
1st Place Special Mission tourney 12/15/18 (Battlereps)
2nd Place ITC tourney 08/20/18 ( Battlerep)
3rd Place ITC Tourney 06/08/18(Battlereps
   
Made in us
Preacher of the Emperor





St. Louis, Missouri USA

Did the poxwalkers fit under the squiggoth without having to move the poxwalkers models in any way?

 
   
Made in gb
Grim Dark Angels Interrogator-Chaplain





Cardiff

 deviantduck wrote:
Did the poxwalkers fit under the squiggoth without having to move the poxwalkers models in any way?


That doesn't matter - two models cant occupy the same space, as you can't be within 1" of an enemy model, and can't be on top of your own models. Being under it certainly isn't more than 1" away.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2018/03/12 14:17:39


 Stormonu wrote:
For me, the joy is in putting some good-looking models on the board and playing out a fantasy battle - not arguing over the poorly-made rules of some 3rd party who neither has any power over my play nor will be visiting me (and my opponent) to ensure we are "playing by the rules"
 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




He can be within 1” but would have to declare them as a target.
   
Made in gb
Grim Dark Angels Interrogator-Chaplain





Cardiff

nosferatu1001 wrote:
He can be within 1” but would have to declare them as a target.


Of course. Can't be on top though, so point stands.

 Stormonu wrote:
For me, the joy is in putting some good-looking models on the board and playing out a fantasy battle - not arguing over the poorly-made rules of some 3rd party who neither has any power over my play nor will be visiting me (and my opponent) to ensure we are "playing by the rules"
 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: