Switch Theme:

Necron Translocation Beam + Veil of Darkness  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in de
Been Around the Block




Can I place a unit with Translocation Beams (Nephrek Strategem) and then use Veil on them to port them agian?

I thought about this option to keep a unit safe from first turn shooting and still place it out of my deployment zone first turn....
   
Made in gb
Norn Queen






Melionodr wrote:
Can I place a unit with Translocation Beams (Nephrek Strategem) and then use Veil on them to port them agian?

I thought about this option to keep a unit safe from first turn shooting and still place it out of my deployment zone first turn....
My gut instinct was that no, you may not. However, on closer inspection, both have to be declared at the end of the movement phase. You announce that you will use the Veil of Darkness and bring in a unit via the Translocation Crypt. Both happen at the end of the movement phase, and the Veil doesn't require you to pick the unit when you declare it, only once you have used it.

Thus, via the sequencing rules, you can resolve the Translocation Crypt first, then resolve the Veil of Darkness, at which point there is a unit available for you to port. Since Veil of Darkness is not movement, it's unaffected by the Special Snowflake FAQ denying movement after arriving as reinforcements.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2018/06/09 08:52:17


 
   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Buffalo, NY

 BaconCatBug wrote:
Melionodr wrote:
Can I place a unit with Translocation Beams (Nephrek Strategem) and then use Veil on them to port them agian?

I thought about this option to keep a unit safe from first turn shooting and still place it out of my deployment zone first turn....
My gut instinct was that no, you may not. However, on closer inspection, both have to be declared at the end of the movement phase. You announce that you will use the Veil of Darkness and bring in a unit via the Translocation Crypt. Both happen at the end of the movement phase, and the Veil doesn't require you to pick the unit when you declare it, only once you have used it.

Thus, via the sequencing rules, you can resolve the Translocation Crypt first, then resolve the Veil of Darkness, at which point there is a unit available for you to port. Since Veil of Darkness is not movement, it's unaffected by the Special Snowflake FAQ denying movement after arriving as reinforcements.


I'm assuming by "special Snowflake FAQ" you are referring to page 3 of the Battle Primer that states "Units that are set up in this manner cannot move or Advance further during the turn they arrive" under "Reinforcements". Is that correct?

Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: