| Author |
Message |
 |
|
|
 |
|
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2018/07/02 00:34:28
Subject: Lord Arcanum - Cycle of the Storm - so many questions
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
Honestly, I don't even know where to start with the questions regarding this rule so I just wanted to check with everyone as to their understanding:
It says "once per turn" so does this mean I can fire it off even if it's my opponents turn. (so long as I didn't use it in mine with the same turn number)
I assume that I must declare that I'm using it as soon as the targeted model is slain?
What is the model (let's say a hero) had 5 wounds and lost 20 in combat? Does he still come back with 1 wound?
Given the "Stormcast Eternal" keyword, I could bring back a Celestant on a Stardrake on 1 wound?
If I had 2 Lord Arcanum, am I right in thinking they could theoretically keep any character I want alive so long as they only have 1 unit attacking them? (Eg. Turn 1, my Celestant on foot dies to a unit of Skeletons but I bring him back. My opponents turn 1, the same Celestant on foot dies to the same unit of Skeletons but my other Lord Arcanum brings him back.
It's all worded a little too vague for my liking and if it is as I suspect, sounds waaaaaay overpowered if you bring 2 (you could essentially keep a Stardrake alive forever and heal it!)
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2018/07/02 00:48:53
Subject: Lord Arcanum - Cycle of the Storm - so many questions
|
 |
Humming Great Unclean One of Nurgle
|
It's actually pretty straightforward once you understand it, but can be a bit strange up front.
Once per turn means once per player turn (while infrequent there are a decent number of abilities that work like this).
If a model had 5 wounds and lost 20 it would lose 5, you would prevent it from dying and keep it alive with 1 wound left, at which point it would suffer the remaining 15.
You could do it on a Stardrake.
With two Lord Arcanum you could stack the ability to keep a character alive unless they suffered their remaining wounds +2 in damage (or more), in which case they would still die even after the Arcanum 'saved' them.
|
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2018/07/02 00:49:56
Road to Renown! It's like classic Path to Glory, but repaired, remastered, expanded! https://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/778170.page
I chose an avatar I feel best represents the quality of my post history.
I try to view Warhammer as more of a toolbox with examples than fully complete games. |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2018/07/02 08:19:27
Subject: Lord Arcanum - Cycle of the Storm - so many questions
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
NinthMusketeer wrote:It's actually pretty straightforward once you understand it, but can be a bit strange up front.
Once per turn means once per player turn (while infrequent there are a decent number of abilities that work like this).
If a model had 5 wounds and lost 20 it would lose 5, you would prevent it from dying and keep it alive with 1 wound left, at which point it would suffer the remaining 15.
You could do it on a Stardrake.
With two Lord Arcanum you could stack the ability to keep a character alive unless they suffered their remaining wounds +2 in damage (or more), in which case they would still die even after the Arcanum 'saved' them.
Thanks
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2018/07/03 15:28:50
Subject: Re:Lord Arcanum - Cycle of the Storm - so many questions
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
I dunno. Ive read so many opnions on how it works it really does need a FAQ. Problem is people say "it works like this" and no one shows how its actually done via backing up of rules.
Not saying your wrong NinthMusketeer but can you show where in core rules it is?
So my 1 wound model takes 20 wounds allocated to it. Why cant I use it on the last wound and bring him back?
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2018/07/03 21:05:46
Subject: Re:Lord Arcanum - Cycle of the Storm - so many questions
|
 |
Humming Great Unclean One of Nurgle
|
Huh, didn't realize it was an issue for so many people. In that case lemme break it down:
Core rules say:
"Once all of a unit's attacks have been resolved, add up the damage that was inflicted. The player commanding the target unit must then allocate a number of wounds to the target unit equal to the damage that was inflicted."
"Once the number of wounds allocated to a model during the battle equals its Wounds characteristic, the model is slain."
"Some abilities allow wounds that have been allocated to a model to be healed. For each wound that is healed, remove one of the wounds that have been allocated to the model. You can't heal wounds on a model that has been slain."
Lord Arcanum says:
"Once per turn, when a friendly Stormcast Eternal model is slain within 18" of this model, instead of removing the slain model, you can heal 1 wound that has been allocated to it."
So Liberator Bob has 2 wounds and is inflicted 5 damage. The first one is allocated and he lives, the second is allocated and now equals his Wounds characteristic, so he is slain. A Lord Arcanum then says 'nah' and instead of removing slain Bob he heals a wound, putting him back at 1 allocated wound. However, nothing about that has changed that Bob must be allocated "a number of wounds equal to the damage that was inflicted" --he has only been allocated 2 wounds, and so must still be allocated 3 more. So Bob is allocated another wound, so he is again slain. Another Lord Arcanum then says 'nah' and slain Bob heals a wound instead of being removed, again. But he still must be allocated 2 more wounds, so unless there are two other Lord Arcanum around who really like Bob he's gunna die.
|
Road to Renown! It's like classic Path to Glory, but repaired, remastered, expanded! https://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/778170.page
I chose an avatar I feel best represents the quality of my post history.
I try to view Warhammer as more of a toolbox with examples than fully complete games. |
|
|
 |
 |
|
|