Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2018/09/28 14:37:19
Subject: Changes to STFS
|
 |
Lord of the Fleet
|
40k September FAQ wrote:Use this Stratagem when you set up a Raven Guard Infantry unit from your army during deployment. At the start of the first battle round but before the first turn begins, you can move that unit up to 9". It cannot end this move within 9" of any enemy models. Is this treated as a normal move, ie; my Marines with a 6" move can only move up to 6"? Can they advance as part of this move?
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2018/09/28 14:40:10
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2018/09/28 14:43:17
Subject: Changes to STFS
|
 |
Prescient Cryptek of Eternity
|
Valkyrie wrote:40k September FAQ wrote:Use this Stratagem when you set up a Raven Guard Infantry unit from your army during deployment. At the start of the first battle round but before the first turn begins, you can move that unit up to 9". It cannot end this move within 9" of any enemy models.
Is this treated as a normal move, ie; my Marines with a 6" move can only move up to 6"? Can they advance as part of this move?
It says you can move the unit up to 9". I'd stick with 9". It doesn't say you can move up to 9" or your move stat, whichever is lower.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2018/09/28 14:44:22
Subject: Changes to STFS
|
 |
Norn Queen
|
Valkyrie wrote:40k September FAQ wrote:Use this Stratagem when you set up a Raven Guard Infantry unit from your army during deployment. At the start of the first battle round but before the first turn begins, you can move that unit up to 9". It cannot end this move within 9" of any enemy models. Is this treated as a normal move, ie; my Marines with a 6" move can only move up to 6"? Can they advance as part of this move?
You can move them up to 9". You're still limited by your maximum movement characteristic. You cannot advance because it is not the movement phase. A Tacticool Mahrine can only move 6", a StabbyStabbyJumpy Marine could move 9" BRB Page 177 wrote:A model can be moved in any direction, to a distance, in inches, equal to or less than the Move characteristic on its datasheet.
BRB Page 177 wrote:When you pick a unit to move in the Movement phase, you can declare that it will Advance.
Notice the lack of restriction to the movement phase for the first rule, compared to the second.
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2018/09/28 14:45:39
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2018/09/28 14:55:08
Subject: Changes to STFS
|
 |
Nihilistic Necron Lord
|
BaconCatBug wrote:You can move them up to 9". You're still limited by your maximum movement characteristic. You cannot advance because it is not the movement phase. A Tacticool Mahrine can only move 6", a StabbyStabbyJumpy Marine could move 9"
I agree on not being able to advance, because its not the movement phase. I dont agree that its limited to movement characteristic. The rule gives me permission to move up to 9", it does not say up to the maximum movement characteristic.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2018/09/28 15:30:39
Subject: Changes to STFS
|
 |
Norn Queen
|
p5freak wrote: BaconCatBug wrote:You can move them up to 9". You're still limited by your maximum movement characteristic. You cannot advance because it is not the movement phase. A Tacticool Mahrine can only move 6", a StabbyStabbyJumpy Marine could move 9" I agree on not being able to advance, because its not the movement phase. I dont agree that its limited to movement characteristic. The rule gives me permission to move up to 9", it does not say up to the maximum movement characteristic.
It says "up to" because other factors might limit it. Remember, rules are an AND gate, not an OR gate. You must satisfy all rules for the action to be legal. If you have a model with an M of 6, and a rule says you may move up to 9", which of the following breaks no rules? You move 9", or you move 6". If you move 9", you're breaking one of the two rules, so it's not legal. if you move 6", you're breaking no rules, so the move is legal.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2018/09/28 15:31:30
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2018/09/28 15:46:48
Subject: Re:Changes to STFS
|
 |
Nihilistic Necron Lord
|
Yes, there is a limit : "It cannot end this move within 9" of any enemy models." But not the maximum movement characteristic. Its happening before the first turn, during deployment. Its not a regular move, like in the movement phase.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2018/09/28 15:58:50
Subject: Re:Changes to STFS
|
 |
Norn Queen
|
p5freak wrote:Yes, there is a limit : "It cannot end this move within 9" of any enemy models." But not the maximum movement characteristic. Its happening before the first turn, during deployment. Its not a regular move, like in the movement phase.
On further reading, I find that the Charge rules use the same wording. I guess you're right here. I still contend it's unintuitive but if the charge rules allow you to move more than your movement, so does this special move.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2018/09/28 22:03:03
Subject: Changes to STFS
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
The only time your move characteristic matters is during the movement phase, or if a rule specifically references your move characteristic. There is no general restriction against moving more than your move characteristic outside of the movement phase rules.
|
|
 |
 |
|