Iron-Fist wrote:Can tallarn ambush (strategem and/or dagger) starting at the end of turn 1 movement phase despite the
FAQ, unlike all the deepstriking units?
No, why would you think that? The Ambush rule is no different to any other "Deep Strike" effect. If you're using the beta rule, "in matched play games, units that are not placed on the battlefield during deployment in order to arrive on the battle mid-game as reinforcements cannot arrive on the battlefield during the first battle round." Ambush says to "set up in ambush instead of placing them on the battlefield", and the dagger says "behind enemy lines instead of placing them on the battlefield". As you can see, both rules explicitly place the unit not on the battlefield, thus they are limited by the beta rule.
Broken Sig Disclaimer: My
YMDC answers are from a "What the rules, as written in the rulebook, actually say" perspective, not a "What I wish the rules said" perspective