Switch Theme:

Tallarn Ambush and First Turn Reserves FAQ  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut




Can tallarn ambush (strategem and/or dagger) starting at the end of turn 1 movement phase despite the FAQ, unlike all the deepstriking units?
   
Made in gb
Norn Queen






Iron-Fist wrote:
Can tallarn ambush (strategem and/or dagger) starting at the end of turn 1 movement phase despite the FAQ, unlike all the deepstriking units?
No, why would you think that? The Ambush rule is no different to any other "Deep Strike" effect. If you're using the beta rule, "in matched play games, units that are not placed on the battlefield during deployment in order to arrive on the battle mid-game as reinforcements cannot arrive on the battlefield during the first battle round." Ambush says to "set up in ambush instead of placing them on the battlefield", and the dagger says "behind enemy lines instead of placing them on the battlefield". As you can see, both rules explicitly place the unit not on the battlefield, thus they are limited by the beta rule.

Broken Sig Disclaimer: My YMDC answers are from a "What the rules, as written in the rulebook, actually say" perspective, not a "What I wish the rules said" perspective

This message was edited 3 times. Last update was at 2018/11/28 14:37:58


 
   
Made in gb
Longtime Dakkanaut



Glasgow

They do not have an exemption ergo they follow the rules
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut




Awesome, just wanted to check and make sure. Thanks!
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: