Switch Theme:

[rules question] - pile in distance modifiers  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Slaanesh Havoc with Blastmaster





New Orleans

ok...
my Beast of Chaos Hungering Warherd Battalion gives the ability
"units from this battalion can move an extra 3" when they pile in"

my local gaming group agreed this means can pile in 6",
and that the unit can be activated in the combat round if within 6" of an enemy
thus allowing my units to move up within 6" without charging,
then activate and pile in the 6" to the enemy

I can also see the other interp,
which is the unit still has to be within 3" to pile in,
and then can pile in up to 6"...
which really doesn't seem that useful
(maybe hitting a second unit, or get more troops into combat?)

what have y'all been doing in this instance?

Chris
(happy that my local crowd is letting me use the better interpretation)

   
Made in ca
Anointed Dark Priest of Chaos





British Columbia

I think the second is the correct interpretation as the Beasts rule doesn't alter what distance you can pile in.

Did they touch on this in the FAQ?

 Crimson Devil wrote:
That's what 7th edition is about. Yelling "Forge the Narrative Pussy!" while kicking your opponent in the dick.
 BlaxicanX wrote:
A young business man named Tom Kirby, who was a pupil of mine until he turned greedy, helped the capitalists hunt down and destroy the wargamers. He betrayed and murdered Games Workshop.


 
   
Made in be
Dakka Veteran






Q: If an ability allows a unit to pile in more than the standard
3", can the unit pile in and attack in the combat phase if it is
more than 3" from the enemy?
A: No, unless the ability specifically states otherwise


core rules designer commentary
   
Made in us
Slaanesh Havoc with Blastmaster





New Orleans

Ah! thank y'all,
it is as I feared then...
Thank you for the quick replies!

Chris
   
Made in us
Slaanesh Havoc with Blastmaster





New Orleans

more of a tactical question, then...

how DO I use the extra 3" pile in to advantage?
I'm trying to figure it out...

Chris
   
Made in ca
Anointed Dark Priest of Chaos





British Columbia

If against monsters or other large base models you can envelop them far faster.

 Crimson Devil wrote:
That's what 7th edition is about. Yelling "Forge the Narrative Pussy!" while kicking your opponent in the dick.
 BlaxicanX wrote:
A young business man named Tom Kirby, who was a pupil of mine until he turned greedy, helped the capitalists hunt down and destroy the wargamers. He betrayed and murdered Games Workshop.


 
   
Made in us
Death-Dealing Dark Angels Devastator




USA

You can get more models from a large unit into melee range.

Cadians
Dark Angels
Dusk Raiders
Imperial Fists 
   
Made in us
Irked Necron Immortal




On the charge it matters on initial positioning and lets you put another unit within range for combat. Lets say you have 2 enemy units you want to tie up. You roll your charge but are, at best, 5" from one of the units you want to tie up after moving your models. You can now pile in part of that unit, as long as you keep coherency, the needed 5" to get into range of the 2nd unit to attack it.

Basically it lets you reach out farther then your opponent might be expecting when you charge tying up units that might otherwise be safe from a normal 3" pile-in
   
Made in us
Slaanesh Havoc with Blastmaster





New Orleans

OK, starting to get it...

but since you have to pile in towards the nearest enemy model,
how can you swing out and catch other units?

also, as the battalion is for Bullgore/Minotaurs so there will only be 3-4 figures in each of my units... is it even worth the points (150) to get this battalion?
   
Made in be
Dakka Veteran






 NOLA Chris wrote:
OK, starting to get it...

but since you have to pile in towards the nearest enemy model,
how can you swing out and catch other units?

also, as the battalion is for Bullgore/Minotaurs so there will only be 3-4 figures in each of my units... is it even worth the points (150) to get this battalion?


you only have to finish the move closer to the closest model. Nothing states that that model needs to remain the closest model.

Also if you charge, nothing says you have to get all models in. You can charge the corner of a unit, get in with 1 guy and leave the rest out in a conga line taking up 20" of the battlefield (having other units as there closest model...)
   
Made in us
Crazed Spirit of the Defiler





I think it's worth the 150 points for the Hungering Warherd. Bullgors are on big bases so the extra pile-in can sometimes really help get more into combat. I've had plenty of times with my Azgorh Bull-centaurs where the big bases and 1" weapon range means only 1 guy can strike that turn, even after a pile-in.

However, for my Bullgors and Doombull, they'll be rerolling 1s with their Greataxes in the Brass Despoilers. You might try that out too sometime and compare performance.
   
 
Forum Index » AoS War Council
Go to: