Switch Theme:

Charging / Pile in Question  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Fixture of Dakka





Feasting on the souls of unworthy opponents

Hey folks!

I had an 8th edition 40k demo game today, and I'm curious about the mechanics of something that occurred.

-I had a unit of tactical marines.
-An inch or two away was a Lieutenant, and a second tactical squad.
-Opponent charged my tactical marine squad.
-Opponent moved closest model into within 1" of my tactical marine squad.
-Opponent moved the rest of his models forward.
-Opponent chose his charging unit to fight with.
-Opponent piled in 3".
-His 3" pile-in moved models from his charging unit inside of 1" of the non-charged Lieutenant and the non-charged second unit of tactical marines - engaging them so that the following turn they would not be able to fire.
-My Lieutenant made a heroic intervention to join the assault, and since he ended within 1" of the second tactical squad, they also piled in and fought.

Poring through the core rules tonight:

From "Make Charge Move"
The first model you move must finish within 1" of an enemy model from one of the target units. No models in the charging unit can move within 1" of an enemy unit that was not a target of its charge.

From "Pile In."
You may move each model in the unit up to 3" – this move can be in any direction so long as the model ends the move closer to the nearest enemy model.


I asked if we were playing it correctly, because he was moving within 1" of unit that was not a target of the charge, and he noted that pile in movements happen separately, and allow piling into within 1" of other units. Did we do it right?

   
Made in gb
Norn Queen






Yes, you did it right other than the timing of the Heroic Intervention which happens after the enemy has completed all of their charge moves. It's a moot point however since because he piled in to within 1" of the Lieutenant he could pile in when it was his turn to fight. You can pile into unit that were not a target of your charge, but you cannot attack them with the charging unit and the charged unit gets to hit back, so it's only worth it to tie up shooty squads.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2018/12/30 04:19:19


 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: