Switch Theme:

Stormcast - when do I lose shield ability?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in gb
Regular Dakkanaut





Hi all,

Taking a short break from 40k to go back to building my Stormcasts and hopefully start to play a few games (I'll only use painted models. Happy to play against unpainted, it's just a personal rule to stop me buying too much).

Anyways, I have a rule question regarding Liberators and Sequitors and their re-roll of 1s for their saves. In 40k, if I were putting 20 saves onto a single model with a storm shield, I would be rolling the dice individually until dead, then the rest for what remains due to having a worse save. Yet when I see games on MWG and such, they just throw all the saves even if There is only 1 guy left in the unit with a shield.

So the question is, how should I be rolling it for example if I have a unit of 4 models but only 1 of them remaining has a shield? 2 at a time (2 wounds) or assume that one guys benefit applies to all saves from the start?

If the latter, does the unit keep that ability if the last guy with a shield dies?

Any clarification much appreciated.
   
Made in us
Insect-Infested Nurgle Chaos Lord






When resolving multiple attacks you roll all hits, wounds, then saves for a given weapon, then allocate the damage. Since the damage is not allocated until all the saves have already been rolled they get the benefit. If there are no models with shields in the unit when saves are rolled, they do not.

Note that when an attacker has multiple different weapons all of the attacks for one weapon are fully resolved before attacks from the next, meaning that if the weapon they swing with first kills all the shield guys then the stomcast unit will not benefit from re-rolls against the subsequent weapon(s).

This is different from abilities that cancel or negate wounds. Tzaangors, for instance, have mixed weapon options where a wound allocated to a model with a shield is cancelled on a 6+. In this case it works like you said because that roll is made when the wound is allocated, and wounds are allocated one at a time.

Does that make sense?

"Putting a statement in quotations makes it seem more legitimate."
--Bette R. Withname

Imagine three people with the same set of values but radically different emotional states, each of them believes their position is more valid than the other two, they all post using the same account, and your job is to make it coherent. 
   
Made in gb
Regular Dakkanaut





 NinthMusketeer wrote:
When resolving multiple attacks you roll all hits, wounds, then saves for a given weapon, then allocate the damage. Since the damage is not allocated until all the saves have already been rolled they get the benefit. If there are no models with shields in the unit when saves are rolled, they do not.

Note that when an attacker has multiple different weapons all of the attacks for one weapon are fully resolved before attacks from the next, meaning that if the weapon they swing with first kills all the shield guys then the stomcast unit will not benefit from re-rolls against the subsequent weapon(s).

This is different from abilities that cancel or negate wounds. Tzaangors, for instance, have mixed weapon options where a wound allocated to a model with a shield is cancelled on a 6+. In this case it works like you said because that roll is made when the wound is allocated, and wounds are allocated one at a time.

Does that make sense?


Great, very clear.

Much appreciated
   
Made in us
Insect-Infested Nurgle Chaos Lord






Happy to help

"Putting a statement in quotations makes it seem more legitimate."
--Bette R. Withname

Imagine three people with the same set of values but radically different emotional states, each of them believes their position is more valid than the other two, they all post using the same account, and your job is to make it coherent. 
   
Made in de
Bounding Black Templar Assault Marine




To add to that, the rules for shields are typically written something like this: "as long as any models have a shield the unit rerolls saves of 1" whereas in 40k only the model with the stormshield gets the better save.





 
   
 
Forum Index » AoS Tactics, Army Lists & Rules Questions
Go to: