Switch Theme:

Warptime, Index FAQ and Codex Replacement?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in gb
Sagitarius with a Big F'in Gun





North-East UK

Ok so I was having this discussion with a friend over my NL for tactics reasons and warptime was brought up. Now in the Index FAQ, it says that Warptime cannot be used after a unit Deep Strikes. A Nerf that hit hard but ok.

However how GW has clarified in their flowcharts and such, is that anything that exists in the Index that transitioned over to the codex, the codex takes priority. Now by this information does that include FAQ's? As the CSM Codex now has it's own FAQ which makes no mention of this restriction, ergo does both the CSM Codex and FAQ then override the index ones for this specific power since it's a power that was used in the Index and has now transitioned over to the Codex?

Black Templars: WIP
Night Lords (30/40k): WIP
Red Corsairs: WIP
Iron Warriors: WIP
Orks: 6000pts
Batman Miniatures Game: Mr.Freeze, Joker
Ever wanted a better 5th ed. 40k? Take a look at 5th ed. Reforged! https://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/0/794253.page 
   
Made in nz
Longtime Dakkanaut





Auckland, NZ

That particular FAQ ruling is also included in the main rulebook FAQ, in a more generic form. So it still applies.


The rules for reinforcements say that when a unit is set up on the battlefield as reinforcements, it cannot move or Advance further that turn, but can otherwise act normally (shoot, charge, etc.).

Q: Can such a unit make a charge move? Can it pile in and consolidate?
A: Yes to both questions – the unit can declare a charge and make a charge move, and if it is chosen to fight, it can pile in and consolidate.

Q: Can such a unit move or Advance for any other reason e.g. because of an ability such as The Swarmlord’s Hive Commander ability, or because of a psychic power such as Warptime from the Dark Hereticus discipline, or because of a Stratagem like Metabolic Overdrive from Codex: Tyranids, etc.?
A: No.



While that only partially answers your question, I'll leave it to others to answer the other bit about whether index rulings in general apply to codexes. As I don't really have a good answer to that.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2019/03/18 06:27:55


 
   
Made in gb
Grim Dark Angels Interrogator-Chaplain





Cardiff

With a reasonable head on, some have to carry over, else we have no info on what to do in certain situations, like a Hive Tyrant with Lash Whip fighting after death - i think this is still only in Index Xenos 2 FAQ. In other situations there’s no need as the Codex has updated or corrected things. Requires a level of critical judgement and common sense. The Lash Whip is still relevant guidance on how to handle the situation, so for me it’s useful and I’d apply that FAQ when needed.

The other option is to insert your head into the sand, or put your fingers in your ears, and go “la la la la we have no guidance” when such guidance may well exist, but in an Index FAQ. Depends what kind of game experience you prefer. Like, one you can finish, or one you bicker about.

No, it’s not necessarily intuitive; yes, “GW SHOULD HAVE FIXED THIS REEEEE”; whatever your take, there’s guidance available in the Index FAQs that you can apply if relevant. Knowing which ones are relevant is the tricky and key bit!

 Stormonu wrote:
For me, the joy is in putting some good-looking models on the board and playing out a fantasy battle - not arguing over the poorly-made rules of some 3rd party who neither has any power over my play nor will be visiting me (and my opponent) to ensure we are "playing by the rules"
 
   
Made in de
Longtime Dakkanaut




Warptime was never usable after a Deep Strike. The no-movement after reinforcements (including Tactical Reserves as well as all other forms of Reinforcements that aren't Tactical Reserves) rule is printed in the rulebook since May 2017 or whenever 8th edition was released and was pointed out from day one many times.

It's sad it took some word-twisters a double-down FAQ (not errata) to (again) point out the RAW.

But it's been the rule since day one of 8th Edition. It's also been one of the most contentious things in the Twitch stream of the january 2018 finals, when both players incorrectly quickened their Shining Spears after deep strike and no judge caught it or seemed to care.

This message was edited 3 times. Last update was at 2019/03/18 08:44:01


 
   
Made in gb
Norn Queen






Sunny Side Up wrote:
Warptime was never usable after a Deep Strike. The no-movement after reinforcements (including Tactical Reserves as well as all other forms of Reinforcements that aren't Tactical Reserves) rule is printed in the rulebook since May 2017 or whenever 8th edition was released and was pointed out from day one many times.

It's sad it took some word-twisters a double-down FAQ (not errata) to (again) point out the RAW.

But it's been the rule since day one of 8th Edition. It's also been one of the most contentious things in the Twitch stream of the january 2018 finals, when both players incorrectly quickened their Shining Spears after deep strike and no judge caught it or seemed to care.

Actually, the opposite is true. It was RaW and Permitted at launch, and then FAQed to not be permitted.
   
Made in gb
Horrific Hive Tyrant





 BaconCatBug wrote:
Sunny Side Up wrote:
Warptime was never usable after a Deep Strike. The no-movement after reinforcements (including Tactical Reserves as well as all other forms of Reinforcements that aren't Tactical Reserves) rule is printed in the rulebook since May 2017 or whenever 8th edition was released and was pointed out from day one many times.

It's sad it took some word-twisters a double-down FAQ (not errata) to (again) point out the RAW.

But it's been the rule since day one of 8th Edition. It's also been one of the most contentious things in the Twitch stream of the january 2018 finals, when both players incorrectly quickened their Shining Spears after deep strike and no judge caught it or seemed to care.

Actually, the opposite is true. It was RaW and Permitted at launch, and then FAQed to not be permitted.


Doesn't really matter though does it.

We know for certain now, that's what matters.
   
Made in gb
Grim Dark Angels Interrogator-Chaplain





Cardiff

Indeed. Crowing “I used to be right, technically” at best adds nothing at and at worst confuses.

 Stormonu wrote:
For me, the joy is in putting some good-looking models on the board and playing out a fantasy battle - not arguing over the poorly-made rules of some 3rd party who neither has any power over my play nor will be visiting me (and my opponent) to ensure we are "playing by the rules"
 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: