Switch Theme:

Charging / combat - fly rule  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in gb
Regular Dakkanaut





Hi all,

Part way through painting up my Nighthaunts and yet to play them. Given that pretty much everything has fly, I'm a little confused over how this works in combat in terms of charging and piling in as my current armies I don't have any models with fly.

The question therefore is how fly affects the movement of charging and piling in.

For example, assuming I am 3 inches away from my opponent and I get a roll of 7 inches. I need to charge in the closest but once the first rank is full, can my charging models fly over the enemy unit and be placed into base to base on the opposite side (as opposed to measuring around the unit).

Obviously they would be done in such a way as to maintain coherency but just wondering due to the 1 inch range of some of the good units, if I can move over enemy models on the charge then I could maximise the full charge range.

As above for piling in as well.
   
Made in us
Insect-Infested Nurgle Chaos Lord






When charging, the first model you move must end within 1/2" of an enemy model. You can do this any way you want; any model from the charging unit can be moved first, any distance (up to the result of the charge roll), in any direction, so long as it ends within 1/2" of an enemy model. You do not need to move towards the closest enemy, nor move the model that is closest first (you also do not need to declare a target for the charge in the first place).

After that, each other model moves a distance up to the result of the charge roll. Like any other move, they must end this in coherency.

This means that with a sufficient charge roll you can hop straight over an enemy unit and land behind it, which is a pretty common tactic for flying units.

Does that make sense?

"Putting a statement in quotations makes it seem more legitimate."
--Bette R. Withname

Imagine three people with the same set of values but radically different emotional states, each of them believes their position is more valid than the other two, they all post using the same account, and your job is to make it coherent. 
   
Made in gb
Regular Dakkanaut





 NinthMusketeer wrote:
When charging, the first model you move must end within 1/2" of an enemy model. You can do this any way you want; any model from the charging unit can be moved first, any distance (up to the result of the charge roll), in any direction, so long as it ends within 1/2" of an enemy model. You do not need to move towards the closest enemy, nor move the model that is closest first (you also do not need to declare a target for the charge in the first place).

After that, each other model moves a distance up to the result of the charge roll. Like any other move, they must end this in coherency.

This means that with a sufficient charge roll you can hop straight over an enemy unit and land behind it, which is a pretty common tactic for flying units.

Does that make sense?


Exact answer I was hoping for. Thanks.
   
Made in us
Crazed Spirit of the Defiler





Wow, this is really good for K'daai Fireborn too. I was also unsure about that.
   
 
Forum Index » AoS Tactics, Army Lists & Rules Questions
Go to: