Switch Theme:

Returning player needs some help regarding forge world rules and minis.  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in nl
Guard Heavy Weapon Crewman




Edinburgh, Scotland

Howdy, I recently got back into the hobby a few years ago but had to stop due to work but after a short stint away I’m back into the hobby once again. I remember when I was a kid looking at forge world minis and I’m looking into getting a few minis ordered for my Guard army, I was curious about the rules for the death korps rules as in how to deploy or use them in games, can they be used along side a regular guard army or is there separate rules etc that must be followed. Thanks in advance
Cheers Mike

O Flower of Scotland,
Nuair a bhios sinn a 'faicinn
Do leithid a-rithist,
Sin shabaid agus bhàsaich airson,
Do beagan Hill agus Gleann,
Agus sheas an aghaidh dha,
Proud arm Eideird,
Agus chuir e dhachaigh sàbhailte,
Tae a 'smaoineachadh a-rithist  
   
Made in us
Da Head Honcho Boss Grot





Rheumatoid wrote:
Howdy, I recently got back into the hobby a few years ago but had to stop due to work but after a short stint away I’m back into the hobby once again. I remember when I was a kid looking at forge world minis and I’m looking into getting a few minis ordered for my Guard army, I was curious about the rules for the death korps rules as in how to deploy or use them in games, can they be used along side a regular guard army or is there separate rules etc that must be followed. Thanks in advance
Cheers Mike


DKOK does have rules for its stuff in the forgeworld Index: Astra Militarum. They can be freely used alongside a regular guard army, and can be in a keyword: Astra Militarum detachment with other units from that codex.

However, codex Astra Militarum has several special detachment benefits for having all of your models unified under the same regiment keyword. DKOK units don't have a Regiment keyword you can choose, so they remove that rule from your army. You can't get a benefit for being all, say, Cadian if your army includes 1 squad of DKOK.

So theoretically, yes, you can use the two together in the same detachment. But practically you should design your purchases such that you have a full detachment of DKOK to run alongside your regular guards.
   
Made in gb
Painting Within the Lines




Sheep Loveland

the_scotsman wrote:
Rheumatoid wrote:
Howdy, I recently got back into the hobby a few years ago but had to stop due to work but after a short stint away I’m back into the hobby once again. I remember when I was a kid looking at forge world minis and I’m looking into getting a few minis ordered for my Guard army, I was curious about the rules for the death korps rules as in how to deploy or use them in games, can they be used along side a regular guard army or is there separate rules etc that must be followed. Thanks in advance
Cheers Mike


DKOK does have rules for its stuff in the forgeworld Index: Astra Militarum. They can be freely used alongside a regular guard army, and can be in a keyword: Astra Militarum detachment with other units from that codex.

However, codex Astra Militarum has several special detachment benefits for having all of your models unified under the same regiment keyword. DKOK units don't have a Regiment keyword you can choose, so they remove that rule from your army. You can't get a benefit for being all, say, Cadian if your army includes 1 squad of DKOK.

So theoretically, yes, you can use the two together in the same detachment. But practically you should design your purchases such that you have a full detachment of DKOK to run alongside your regular guards.


Adding on to this, while they are DKoK riders, there is nothing stopping you from running them as Rough Rider squads if desired. Of course this is the means that they are a proxy, but to be honest, you will hardly ever find any complaint if you field them like this, to keep your regiment bonus.

Only the most anal of That guys or WAAC bellends would take offense.

Minatours 2,000pts 70% painted 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K General Discussion
Go to: