Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2019/05/03 13:45:00
Subject: Frenzon Doesn't re-write the Charge Rules
|
 |
Morally-Flexible Malleus Hearing Whispers
|
So,
Played a game this weekend, my Custodes vs. her Knights+. She had a Eversor, which long story short she attempted to charge from about 15". I stated no, you can only charge from 12". She stated the 3d6 charge rule equated to distance. I let her do it because I couldn't find where it had been resolved in a FAQ, and I didn't want to waste the time looking. All I had was the BRB stating Any unit within 12" may charge. Did this get faq'd somewhere either yea or nea?
Thanks
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2019/05/03 13:49:35
Subject: Re:Frenzon Doesn't re-write the Charge Rules
|
 |
Storm Trooper with Maglight
|
You can only declare a charge at a unit up to 12" away. The Eversor does not override this rule. Rolling 3D6 just gives them massively increased odds of making a long charge, not allowing them to declare a charge on a target 15" away.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2019/05/03 13:59:42
Subject: Frenzon Doesn't re-write the Charge Rules
|
 |
Never Forget Isstvan!
|
The only unit I know of that can declare a charge from more than 12" away is howling banshee's that have advanced. This is because they have a special rule that lets them do so.
|
JOIN MY CRUSADE and gain 4000 RT points!
http://www.eternalcrusade.com/account/sign-up/?ref_code=EC-PLCIKYCABW8PG |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2019/05/03 14:05:00
Subject: Frenzon Doesn't re-write the Charge Rules
|
 |
Prescient Cryptek of Eternity
|
Frenzon - "When making a charge roll for this model, roll 3D6 rather than 2D6. In addition..."
Frenzon lets you roll another die. It doesn't give you permission to declare charges against targets more than 12" away. Automatically Appended Next Post: Eihnlazer wrote:The only unit I know of that can declare a charge from more than 12" away is howling banshee's that have advanced. This is because they have a special rule that lets them do so.
Harlequins have a similar ability. Several units in other armies do as well. It's uncommon, but not unique.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2019/05/03 14:06:20
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2019/05/03 14:06:41
Subject: Frenzon Doesn't re-write the Charge Rules
|
 |
Battlefortress Driver with Krusha Wheel
Douglasville, GA
|
RAW, no. HIWPI, I'd let her try her charge. She'd need to roll significantly above average to make it, so 75-80% of the time it's just gonna be free Overwatch for me.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2019/05/03 14:21:20
Subject: Frenzon Doesn't re-write the Charge Rules
|
 |
Morally-Flexible Malleus Hearing Whispers
|
I really appreciate all the confirmation that I was right. There is no real way to argue with the "GW never clarified..." crowd. They are going to misplay and mis-interpret every advantage they can.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2019/05/03 14:22:36
Subject: Re:Frenzon Doesn't re-write the Charge Rules
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
The Eversor does not have a rule that allows him to extend the range he can declare charges for (as Howling Banshees do, for example).
On a smaller scale, this is true for all units. They can only declare charges within 12”, so a charge roll of 11” would normally succeed.
A charge roll of 12” (e.g. a double six) would be sufficient to succeed on a charge against a unit that was just within 13” at the start, but you wouldn’t be allowed to declare a charge at that unit.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2019/05/03 14:36:26
Subject: Frenzon Doesn't re-write the Charge Rules
|
 |
Grim Dark Angels Interrogator-Chaplain
|
FezzikDaBullgryn wrote:I really appreciate all the confirmation that I was right. There is no real way to argue with the " GW never clarified..." crowd. They are going to misplay and mis-interpret every advantage they can.
It’s not in any way unclear, unless you attempt to misread it for advantage, which your opponent did. It doesn’t need an FAQ because there’s nothing to clarify. No permission to exceed 12” Charge declaration distance is given, unlike Howling Banshees, so there is no such permission.
|
Stormonu wrote:For me, the joy is in putting some good-looking models on the board and playing out a fantasy battle - not arguing over the poorly-made rules of some 3rd party who neither has any power over my play nor will be visiting me (and my opponent) to ensure we are "playing by the rules" |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2019/05/03 17:30:20
Subject: Frenzon Doesn't re-write the Charge Rules
|
 |
Morally-Flexible Malleus Hearing Whispers
|
JohnnyHell wrote: FezzikDaBullgryn wrote:I really appreciate all the confirmation that I was right. There is no real way to argue with the " GW never clarified..." crowd. They are going to misplay and mis-interpret every advantage they can.
It’s not in any way unclear, unless you attempt to misread it for advantage, which your opponent did. It doesn’t need an FAQ because there’s nothing to clarify. No permission to exceed 12” Charge declaration distance is given, unlike Howling Banshees, so there is no such permission.
Didn't we just have a FAQ explain that infact, yes, your models DO need to be ON THE BOARD to be in play.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2019/05/03 18:07:02
Subject: Frenzon Doesn't re-write the Charge Rules
|
 |
Battlefortress Driver with Krusha Wheel
Douglasville, GA
|
Sure? How does that apply to this conversation though?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2019/05/03 18:46:19
Subject: Frenzon Doesn't re-write the Charge Rules
|
 |
Morally-Flexible Malleus Hearing Whispers
|
People mis-interpret literally everything.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2019/05/03 20:19:48
Subject: Frenzon Doesn't re-write the Charge Rules
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
I think the mistake with Frenzon is a lot more reasonable, if you don't know the rules specifically state you can't declare outside of 12" and just assume 12" is the range people use because you only charge 2d6 normally it makes sense.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2019/05/03 20:20:02
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2019/05/04 03:34:58
Subject: Frenzon Doesn't re-write the Charge Rules
|
 |
Confessor Of Sins
|
You need to reread the rules. It literally says you can only declare a charge against units within 12".
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2019/05/04 03:48:26
Subject: Frenzon Doesn't re-write the Charge Rules
|
 |
Norn Queen
|
Same deal with Howling Banshees. They can move up to 15" but can still only declare a charge against units within 12"
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2019/05/04 05:26:32
Subject: Frenzon Doesn't re-write the Charge Rules
|
 |
Grim Dark Angels Interrogator-Chaplain
|
You know this, and have been told in multiple threads, but Howling Banshees can declare charges up to 15”. They have a rule expressly allowing it. That you think the grammar is incorrect and are claiming some linguistic wriggle room is irrelevant... the rest of the world understands what it means, but repeated posting amplifies the incorrect voice in this occasion. Doesn’t make you right. Don’t repeat your wrong hot takes please, it just dilutes the utility of this forum. Leave it to your sig if you must.
TL;DR the Eversor can declare up to the regular 12” (but has a bette chance of making it); Banshees can declare up to 15” due to a special rule.
|
Stormonu wrote:For me, the joy is in putting some good-looking models on the board and playing out a fantasy battle - not arguing over the poorly-made rules of some 3rd party who neither has any power over my play nor will be visiting me (and my opponent) to ensure we are "playing by the rules" |
|
 |
 |
|