Switch Theme:

Daemon Prince, does it get the keyword of the faction?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Fresh-Faced New User





The Daemon Prince has Immortal Champion where your declare its dedicated to a chaos god, but does it get that keyword for allegiance abilities? Seems odd that it wouldn't. And if it doesn't then couldn't I choose a different dedicated god than the one I'm playing with?

For Example I'm a Slaanesh player. I want to take the the daemon prince as an ally but can I dedicate it to one of the other gods of chaos, if it doesn't even receive the keyword of the god it's dedicated to. Seems strange to me.
   
Made in us
Insect-Infested Nurgle Chaos Lord






The DP and all markable units are part of the specific allegiance if you give them that mark. So a Slaanesh daemon prince is part of the army and not an ally (those note it is still not Hedonite which matters for some rules).

"Putting a statement in quotations makes it seem more legitimate."
--Bette R. Withname

Imagine three people with the same set of values but radically different emotional states, each of them believes their position is more valid than the other two, they all post using the same account, and your job is to make it coherent. 
   
Made in us
Fresh-Faced New User





 NinthMusketeer wrote:
The DP and all markable units are part of the specific allegiance if you give them that mark. So a Slaanesh daemon prince is part of the army and not an ally (those note it is still not Hedonite which matters for some rules).



Where are the rules regarding markable units?
   
Made in us
Insect-Infested Nurgle Chaos Lord






It's in the Core Rule FAQ as I recall, but has been a thing since GHB1.

"Putting a statement in quotations makes it seem more legitimate."
--Bette R. Withname

Imagine three people with the same set of values but radically different emotional states, each of them believes their position is more valid than the other two, they all post using the same account, and your job is to make it coherent. 
   
Made in gb
Fresh-Faced New User




warpig wrote:
 NinthMusketeer wrote:
The DP and all markable units are part of the specific allegiance if you give them that mark. So a Slaanesh daemon prince is part of the army and not an ally (those note it is still not Hedonite which matters for some rules).



Where are the rules regarding markable units?


It states on page 15 of the core rules that an army can have an allegiance to a specific faction if all units in the army have the appropriate keyword including units that would pick the keyword during setup. So if you wanted to take slaanesh allegiance you could take it as long as you gave any <mark of chaos> units the Slaanesh keyword during setup but as a previous poster said a few of thier rules are tied to the hedonite keyword and wouldnt work on slaves to darkness units.
   
Made in us
Androgynous Daemon Prince of Slaanesh





Norwalk, Connecticut

Right, but the abilities are tied to “Marks”. The Prince gains an add-on rule tied to its allegiance. No mention of a Mark.

Reality is a nice place to visit, but I'd hate to live there.

Manchu wrote:I'm a Catholic. We eat our God.


Due to work, I can usually only ship any sales or trades out on Saturday morning. Please trade/purchase with this in mind.  
   
Made in gb
Fresh-Faced New User




You can also find the correct warscroll at https://www.games-workshop.com/en-GB/Daemon-Prince-2016

The app doesnt translate it well and so it looks like it doesn't get the keywords when infact it does. There are only two small changes you need to make to that when reading it. The faq for GA Chaos adds Slaves of Darkness keyword to all keyword lines on the scroll and removes the summon rule.
   
Made in us
Androgynous Daemon Prince of Slaanesh





Norwalk, Connecticut

The keywords will do the trick! Cool!

Reality is a nice place to visit, but I'd hate to live there.

Manchu wrote:I'm a Catholic. We eat our God.


Due to work, I can usually only ship any sales or trades out on Saturday morning. Please trade/purchase with this in mind.  
   
 
Forum Index » AoS War Council
Go to: