Switch Theme:

apocalypse - adrenal glands  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Norn Queen






So when you issue an assault order it doubles the movement characteristic for units in the detachment. Hormagaunts are 9" so 18".

When you use adrenal glands (a nid card) 3 units in a detachment can make a free move action. Is that move action also doubled?

I.e. hormagaunts who are assaulting move

A) (9x2) + 9 = 27"

Or

B) (9x2) + (9×2) = 36"


Thoughts?

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2019/07/15 20:00:19



These are my opinions. This is how I feel. Others may feel differently. This needs to be stated for some reason.
 
   
Made in fi
Longtime Dakkanaut






It is not, because free actions are independent things that just might get activated at the time you do something else (like choose a detachment to activate).

Basically:
1) Choose to activate a thing.
2) Play a card that triggers on activating the thing.
3) Get free actions, that do what they say and nothing else.
4) Carry on with the actual activation, irrespective of the previous things. Now you double your Movement as that is part of the Order, whereas the free actions were not.

I'm reasonably confident, though I don't have the rulebook at hand now.

#ConvertEverything blog with loyalist Death Guard in true and Epic scales. Also Titans and killer robots! C&C welcome.
https://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/717557.page

Do you like narrative gaming? Ongoing Imp vs. PDF rebellion campaign reports here:
https://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/786958.page

 
   
Made in us
Norn Queen






I am less than confident in either direction. Im realy interested to hear others thoughts and happy just to reach a consensus


These are my opinions. This is how I feel. Others may feel differently. This needs to be stated for some reason.
 
   
Made in us
Been Around the Block




SherryPie has it right. You only get the benefits of an order while performing that order. No +1 to hit on Aimed Firing and firing twice (you get the +1 to hit for only 1 shooting attack).
   
Made in us
Norn Queen






Cool. So they move a total of m x 3.

Still great and im good with that ruling in general.


These are my opinions. This is how I feel. Others may feel differently. This needs to be stated for some reason.
 
   
Made in gb
Norn Queen






Yeah I agree that the free action is just that, a free action and is not affected by the Order for that turn. The double movement only applies when doing the move action granted by the order.

"When a Detachment carries out this order, each unit in that Detachment can make one Move action - double each unit's Move characteristic whilst doing so."

Getting to make a 27" charge with 90 Hormagants seems good enough.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2019/07/16 06:45:15


 
   
 
Forum Index » Other 40K/30K Universe Games
Go to: