Switch Theme:

[KT] Can you advance during Take Forward Position?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Omnipotent Lord of Change





Albany, NY

When using Take Forward Positions in the Scouting Phase, can a model advance? Can it charge (say against a mini who deployed within 12", ala Eliminators)?

The text of Scouting #5 says "it may make a normal move as if it were your turn in the Movement phase" - because it doesn't say "Normal move" and talks about the Movement phase, we've played it as yes, you can advance. Seems legit, right?

Part two, does that model count as having advanced in the beginning of their actual turn? Apparently there's an argument that it does, which would mean you can't Take Forward Position and then charge if you win initiative. I don't quite see it, unless there's a line about when model states are reset that I never picked up on (like if model states, like Advanced, are cleared at the end of a turn, but the Scouting Phase doesn't have a turn end, since it isn't a turn).

Anyway, curious what Dakka thinks.

KOW BATREPS: BLOODFIRE
INSTAGRAM: @boss_salvage 
   
Made in gb
Leader of the Sept







I dont have the book to hand, but your quote appears to contradict your statement directly after about "normal move". Is that just a typo on your part?

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2019/07/23 17:06:23


Please excuse any spelling errors. I use a tablet frequently and software keyboards are a pain!

Terranwing - w3;d1;l1
51st Dunedinw2;d0;l0
Cadre Coronal Afterglow w1;d0;l0 
   
Made in us
Omnipotent Lord of Change





Albany, NY

I'm not sure I catch your meaning? Here's the actual text:



I can make my question simpler if needed:

Do you allow advancing when you use TFP?
Do you allow charging when you use TFP?

We have played it as yes and ruled yes to charging as well, although it hasn't come up due to the few models who can deploy anywhere.

My other question is in response to arguments we're seeing online where people declare advancing in TFP means no charging in Turn 1, because a model can't charge if they've advanced (or something). I don't buy it. The case with a veteran moving before moving again is more clear, as it says it happens in Turn 1, not the nebulous post-deployment phase.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2019/07/23 17:32:54


KOW BATREPS: BLOODFIRE
INSTAGRAM: @boss_salvage 
   
Made in us
Fixture of Dakka





Advancing isn't a normal move. Other movements which allow this, Veteran for example, state that you can Advance.

Normal Move is a specific type of move as listed on pg 22.

"'players must agree how they are going to select their armies, and if any restrictions apply to the number and type of models they can use."

This is an actual rule in the actual rulebook. Quit whining about how you can imagine someone's army touching you in a bad place and play by the actual rules.


Freelance Ontologist

When people ask, "What's the point in understanding everything?" they've just disqualified themselves from using questions and should disappear in a puff of paradox. But they don't understand and just continue existing, which are also their only two strategies for life. 
   
 
Forum Index » Other 40K/30K Universe Games
Go to: