BaconCatBug wrote:Jimbobbyish wrote:I am reading this right, right? Page 7 of the Warhammer
40k rulebook
FAQ: Q: What does within 1" mean? Does it mean any distance up to 1", or does it mean any distance up to and including 1"?
A: It means any distance up to and including 1".
Combined with "4. Make Charge Move" on page 182 of the core rule book: "The first model you move must finish
within 1" of an enemy model -"
Does this mean I only need roll a 8 or more" charge distance from deep strike for a successful charge?
No, because all (to my knowledge) rules that allow you to set up a unit that has been deployed somewhere other than the battlefield onto the battlefield state they must be placed "more" than a certain number of inches away from any enemy units.
If a rule says you must place a unit "more than 9" from any enemy models", then you cannot place them 9" away, you must place them 9" plus an infinitesimally small amount, meaning you need 9" plus an infinitesimally small amount of charge distance in order to move within 1" of an enemy model, which a roll of 9 does not provide.
Slight correction.
For example. we are using the "9" plus an infinitesimally small amount" as a measurement. In this case I am going to use 9.1 inches.
I am going to change what you said slightly to correct it.
If a rule says you must place a unit "more than 9" from any enemy models", then you cannot place them 9" away, you must place them 9.1 inches away. Meaning you need 9.1 inches of charge distance in order to move
into base contact with an enemy model, which a roll of 9 does not provide.
However. If a rule says you must place a unit "more than 9" from any enemy models", then you cannot place them 9" away, you must place them 9.1 inches away. Meaning you need 8.1 inches of charge distance in order to move within 1" of an enemy model, which a roll of 9 provides since you will now be 0.1 inches away and successfully charge.
You only need to get within 1 inch to succeed on a charge, you do not need to get into base contact.