Switch Theme:

Only need to get within 1"?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Steadfast Grey Hunter






I am reading this right, right? Page 7 of the Warhammer 40k rulebook FAQ: Q: What does within 1" mean? Does it mean any distance up to 1", or does it mean any distance up to and including 1"? A: It means any distance up to and including 1".
Combined with "4. Make Charge Move" on page 182 of the core rule book: "The first model you move must finish within 1" of an enemy model -"

Does this mean I only need roll a 8 or more" charge distance from deep strike for a successful charge?

Primaris fanboy: "NO, you can't just give old marines 2W, they're supposed to be squatted!" GW: "Heavy Bolters go brrrrrrrr"
Slayer-Fan123 wrote:

If the argument for their uniqueness is spamming Wulfen and Thunderwolves, then it wasn't really a unique army to begin with whether you like it or not.
nervous sweating
Regal Hunt, A custom space wolf army: https://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/774993.page#10435681 
   
Made in ca
Arch Magos w/ 4 Meg of RAM






Jimbobbyish wrote:
I am reading this right, right? Page 7 of the Warhammer 40k rulebook FAQ: Q: What does within 1" mean? Does it mean any distance up to 1", or does it mean any distance up to and including 1"? A: It means any distance up to and including 1".
Combined with "4. Make Charge Move" on page 182 of the core rule book: "The first model you move must finish within 1" of an enemy model -"

Does this mean I only need roll a 8 or more" charge distance from deep strike for a successful charge?


No, because deepstrike tells you to place your models OUTSIDE 9".

So lets say you deepstrike 9.001" away and you roll a 8 for your charge.

9.001 - 8 = 1.001, meaning youre still not within 1"
   
Made in gb
Norn Queen






Jimbobbyish wrote:
I am reading this right, right? Page 7 of the Warhammer 40k rulebook FAQ: Q: What does within 1" mean? Does it mean any distance up to 1", or does it mean any distance up to and including 1"? A: It means any distance up to and including 1".
Combined with "4. Make Charge Move" on page 182 of the core rule book: "The first model you move must finish within 1" of an enemy model -"

Does this mean I only need roll a 8 or more" charge distance from deep strike for a successful charge?
No, because all (to my knowledge) rules that allow you to set up a unit that has been deployed somewhere other than the battlefield onto the battlefield state they must be placed "more" than a certain number of inches away from any enemy units.

If a rule says you must place a unit "more than 9" from any enemy models", then you cannot place them 9" away, you must place them 9" plus an infinitesimally small amount, meaning you need 9" plus an infinitesimally small amount of charge distance in order to move within 1" of an enemy model, which a roll of 9 does not provide.
   
Made in us
Steadfast Grey Hunter






 BaconCatBug wrote:
Jimbobbyish wrote:
I am reading this right, right? Page 7 of the Warhammer 40k rulebook FAQ: Q: What does within 1" mean? Does it mean any distance up to 1", or does it mean any distance up to and including 1"? A: It means any distance up to and including 1".
Combined with "4. Make Charge Move" on page 182 of the core rule book: "The first model you move must finish within 1" of an enemy model -"

Does this mean I only need roll a 8 or more" charge distance from deep strike for a successful charge?
No, because all (to my knowledge) rules that allow you to set up a unit that has been deployed somewhere other than the battlefield onto the battlefield state they must be placed "more" than a certain number of inches away from any enemy units.

If a rule says you must place a unit "more than 9" from any enemy models", then you cannot place them 9" away, you must place them 9" plus an infinitesimally small amount, meaning you need 9" plus an infinitesimally small amount of charge distance in order to move within 1" of an enemy model, which a roll of 9 does not provide.

aw I missed the more part. thanks.

Primaris fanboy: "NO, you can't just give old marines 2W, they're supposed to be squatted!" GW: "Heavy Bolters go brrrrrrrr"
Slayer-Fan123 wrote:

If the argument for their uniqueness is spamming Wulfen and Thunderwolves, then it wasn't really a unique army to begin with whether you like it or not.
nervous sweating
Regal Hunt, A custom space wolf army: https://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/774993.page#10435681 
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

 BaconCatBug wrote:
Jimbobbyish wrote:
I am reading this right, right? Page 7 of the Warhammer 40k rulebook FAQ: Q: What does within 1" mean? Does it mean any distance up to 1", or does it mean any distance up to and including 1"? A: It means any distance up to and including 1".
Combined with "4. Make Charge Move" on page 182 of the core rule book: "The first model you move must finish within 1" of an enemy model -"

Does this mean I only need roll a 8 or more" charge distance from deep strike for a successful charge?
No, because all (to my knowledge) rules that allow you to set up a unit that has been deployed somewhere other than the battlefield onto the battlefield state they must be placed "more" than a certain number of inches away from any enemy units.

If a rule says you must place a unit "more than 9" from any enemy models", then you cannot place them 9" away, you must place them 9" plus an infinitesimally small amount, meaning you need 9" plus an infinitesimally small amount of charge distance in order to move within 1" of an enemy model, which a roll of 9 does not provide.

Slight correction.

For example. we are using the "9" plus an infinitesimally small amount" as a measurement. In this case I am going to use 9.1 inches.

I am going to change what you said slightly to correct it.
If a rule says you must place a unit "more than 9" from any enemy models", then you cannot place them 9" away, you must place them 9.1 inches away. Meaning you need 9.1 inches of charge distance in order to move into base contact with an enemy model, which a roll of 9 does not provide.

However. If a rule says you must place a unit "more than 9" from any enemy models", then you cannot place them 9" away, you must place them 9.1 inches away. Meaning you need 8.1 inches of charge distance in order to move within 1" of an enemy model, which a roll of 9 provides since you will now be 0.1 inches away and successfully charge.

You only need to get within 1 inch to succeed on a charge, you do not need to get into base contact.


"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: