Switch Theme:

Sabotaged armoury and explode on 6  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in de
Nihilistic Necron Lord






Germany

Am i right in thinking that a vehicle which explodes on a 6 only explodes when a 3 is rolled ?

Spoiler:


   
Made in us
Battlefortress Driver with Krusha Wheel




Douglasville, GA

Technically, yes, but I seriously doubt that's what GW intended with the Stratagem.


Automatically Appended Next Post:
That said, some things explode on a #+ roll, so (in those cases), it would actually adjust the roll as it should. A Snazzwagon, for example, explodes on a 4+, so using this Stratagem would make it explode on a 1+. But vehicles that say "on a roll of 6" would just be shifting the number required to explode, rather than increasing the range.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2019/11/21 07:19:01


 
   
Made in de
Nihilistic Necron Lord






Germany

Well done GW, looks like imperial vehicles are very resilient against sabotage from alpha legion

I am aware that its different for vehicles which explode on X+.
   
Made in gb
Norn Queen






As flandarz stated, GW seem to have forgotten that most vehicles explode on 6, not 6+.

While this may be intended, I would not be surprised to see them errata the stratagem to say "to a maximum of 6", as opposed to errataing almost every single vehicle in the game.
   
Made in au
Calm Celestian




Wait, now I have to check Hellhound's wording...

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2019/11/21 09:13:43


   
Made in eu
Ork Admiral Kroozin Da Kosmos on Da Hulk






Well, good thing they used a keyworded rule with a unified wording so they only need to change it in one place...

Related to that, is Crash and Burn an explosion?

7 Ork facts people always get wrong:
Ragnar did not win against Thrakka, but suffered two crushing defeats within a few days of each other.
A lasgun is powerful enough to sever an ork's appendage or head in a single, well aimed shot.
Orks meks have a better understanding of electrics and mechanics than most Tech Priests.
Orks actually do not think that purple makes them harder to see. The joke was made canon by Alex Stewart's Caphias Cain books.
Gharkull Blackfang did not even come close to killing the emperor.
Orks can be corrupted by chaos, but few of them have any interest in what chaos offers.
Orks do not have the power of believe. 
   
Made in gb
Lesser Daemon of Chaos





West Yorkshire

 Jidmah wrote:
Well, good thing they used a keyworded rule with a unified wording so they only need to change it in one place...

Related to that, is Crash and Burn an explosion?


Just checked rules on this and yeah, it is in effect the same rule as explodes , just under a different name. you still have a roll to see if it explodes, meeting the requirements for the stratagem.

5000pts W4/ D0/ L5
5000pts W10/ D2/ L7
 
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

Tristanleo wrote:
 Jidmah wrote:
Well, good thing they used a keyworded rule with a unified wording so they only need to change it in one place...

Related to that, is Crash and Burn an explosion?


Just checked rules on this and yeah, it is in effect the same rule as explodes , just under a different name. you still have a roll to see if it explodes, meeting the requirements for the stratagem.


Repulsor Datasheet P.123 Blood Angel Codex wrote:Explodes:If this model is reduced to 0 wounds, roll a D6 before removing the model from the battlefield and before any embarked models disembark. On a 6 it explodes, and each unit within 6" suffers D6 mortal wounds.


This is the rule the stratagem is referencing.

Crash and Burn is not the Explodes rule.

"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in gb
Lesser Daemon of Chaos





West Yorkshire

 DeathReaper wrote:
Tristanleo wrote:
 Jidmah wrote:
Well, good thing they used a keyworded rule with a unified wording so they only need to change it in one place...

Related to that, is Crash and Burn an explosion?


Just checked rules on this and yeah, it is in effect the same rule as explodes , just under a different name. you still have a roll to see if it explodes, meeting the requirements for the stratagem.


Repulsor Datasheet P.123 Blood Angel Codex wrote:Explodes:If this model is reduced to 0 wounds, roll a D6 before removing the model from the battlefield and before any embarked models disembark. On a 6 it explodes, and each unit within 6" suffers D6 mortal wounds.


This is the rule the stratagem is referencing.

Crash and Burn is not the Explodes rule.


Except the stratagem doesn't reference the Explodes rule, which would be denoted as Explodes. It references when your opponent makes a roll to see if the vehicle explodes, which you do for both the Crash and burn and Explodes rule.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2019/11/21 10:55:02


5000pts W4/ D0/ L5
5000pts W10/ D2/ L7
 
   
Made in gb
Grim Dark Angels Interrogator-Chaplain





Cardiff

Is anyone in doubt of how this actually works?
Is there any legitimate confusion, save for posturing?
Is this actually an issue outside of internet points scoring?

No, it isn’t. Everyone knows what to do. Nothing to see here.

 Stormonu wrote:
For me, the joy is in putting some good-looking models on the board and playing out a fantasy battle - not arguing over the poorly-made rules of some 3rd party who neither has any power over my play nor will be visiting me (and my opponent) to ensure we are "playing by the rules"
 
   
Made in eu
Ork Admiral Kroozin Da Kosmos on Da Hulk






I actually had one member of our group asking whether he could make my burna bommers auto-crash&burn with that stratagem - so it's a real question.

7 Ork facts people always get wrong:
Ragnar did not win against Thrakka, but suffered two crushing defeats within a few days of each other.
A lasgun is powerful enough to sever an ork's appendage or head in a single, well aimed shot.
Orks meks have a better understanding of electrics and mechanics than most Tech Priests.
Orks actually do not think that purple makes them harder to see. The joke was made canon by Alex Stewart's Caphias Cain books.
Gharkull Blackfang did not even come close to killing the emperor.
Orks can be corrupted by chaos, but few of them have any interest in what chaos offers.
Orks do not have the power of believe. 
   
Made in gb
Grim Dark Angels Interrogator-Chaplain





Cardiff

 Jidmah wrote:
I actually had one member of our group asking whether he could make my burna bommers auto-crash&burn with that stratagem - so it's a real question.


I meant the 6/6+ thing from the OP. There is no problem there.

Crash & Burn also uses the words ‘explodes’ so it’s covered.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2019/11/21 12:27:17


 Stormonu wrote:
For me, the joy is in putting some good-looking models on the board and playing out a fantasy battle - not arguing over the poorly-made rules of some 3rd party who neither has any power over my play nor will be visiting me (and my opponent) to ensure we are "playing by the rules"
 
   
Made in eu
Ork Admiral Kroozin Da Kosmos on Da Hulk






Huh, I actually never noticed that.

Thanks.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2019/11/21 12:38:35


7 Ork facts people always get wrong:
Ragnar did not win against Thrakka, but suffered two crushing defeats within a few days of each other.
A lasgun is powerful enough to sever an ork's appendage or head in a single, well aimed shot.
Orks meks have a better understanding of electrics and mechanics than most Tech Priests.
Orks actually do not think that purple makes them harder to see. The joke was made canon by Alex Stewart's Caphias Cain books.
Gharkull Blackfang did not even come close to killing the emperor.
Orks can be corrupted by chaos, but few of them have any interest in what chaos offers.
Orks do not have the power of believe. 
   
Made in us
Confessor Of Sins





Tacoma, WA, USA

This all being said, looks like GW needs to do quite a bit of work fixing the wording on this Stratagem.
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Need to do a tiny bit of work
(To a maximum of 6) fixes it completely.
   
Made in gb
Norn Queen






An FAQ regarding Crash and Burn would also be welcome (because GW can't ever write rules clearly).
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Crash and burn is a Roll to explode, which this rule covers. I don't see the issue
   
Made in gb
Norn Queen






nosferatu1001 wrote:
Crash and burn is a Roll to explode, which this rule covers. I don't see the issue
Where is this defined in the rules though? "Crash and Burn" is not synonymous with "Explodes" in English. Grenades explode, they don't crash and burn.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2019/11/21 15:57:50


 
   
Made in ca
Discriminating Deathmark Assassin





Stasis

I don't have the exact ruling at hand, but I believe people are saying the the stratagem isn't referencing the "Explodes" rule by name, but rather any time the opponent "rolls to see if a VEHICLE model from their army explodes". There are a number of rules that can make a model explode that aren't the "Explodes" rule.

213PL 60PL 12PL 9-17PL
(she/her) 
   
Made in eu
Ork Admiral Kroozin Da Kosmos on Da Hulk






 BaconCatBug wrote:
nosferatu1001 wrote:
Crash and burn is a Roll to explode, which this rule covers. I don't see the issue
Where is this defined in the rules though? "Crash and Burn" is not synonymous with "Explodes" in English. Grenades explode, they don't crash and burn.


As JohnnyHell correctly pointed out, all those rules (and others, like the DG 7" explosion) actually tell you that the vehicle explodes as part of their bespoke rule. The name actually doesn't matter.

7 Ork facts people always get wrong:
Ragnar did not win against Thrakka, but suffered two crushing defeats within a few days of each other.
A lasgun is powerful enough to sever an ork's appendage or head in a single, well aimed shot.
Orks meks have a better understanding of electrics and mechanics than most Tech Priests.
Orks actually do not think that purple makes them harder to see. The joke was made canon by Alex Stewart's Caphias Cain books.
Gharkull Blackfang did not even come close to killing the emperor.
Orks can be corrupted by chaos, but few of them have any interest in what chaos offers.
Orks do not have the power of believe. 
   
Made in gb
Norn Queen






 Jidmah wrote:
 BaconCatBug wrote:
nosferatu1001 wrote:
Crash and burn is a Roll to explode, which this rule covers. I don't see the issue
Where is this defined in the rules though? "Crash and Burn" is not synonymous with "Explodes" in English. Grenades explode, they don't crash and burn.


As JohnnyHell correctly pointed out, all those rules (and others, like the DG 7" explosion) actually tell you that the vehicle explodes as part of their bespoke rule. The name actually doesn't matter.
A fair point, it describes it as a "fiery explosion". I didn't see his post as he is the only (non-spambot) person I have ever blocked anywhere due to a previous arrangement with a former moderator and as per my signature I have a userscript that fully hides blocked users. I guess an FAQ would still be helpful, as this thread proves it's not initially 100% clear, it needs some thought to parse.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2019/11/21 16:30:24


 
   
Made in ca
Arch Magos w/ 4 Meg of RAM






a great example of why bringing back USRs would help the game greatly
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

Tristanleo wrote:
Spoiler:
 DeathReaper wrote:
Tristanleo wrote:
 Jidmah wrote:
Well, good thing they used a keyworded rule with a unified wording so they only need to change it in one place...

Related to that, is Crash and Burn an explosion?


Just checked rules on this and yeah, it is in effect the same rule as explodes , just under a different name. you still have a roll to see if it explodes, meeting the requirements for the stratagem.


Repulsor Datasheet P.123 Blood Angel Codex wrote:Explodes:If this model is reduced to 0 wounds, roll a D6 before removing the model from the battlefield and before any embarked models disembark. On a 6 it explodes, and each unit within 6" suffers D6 mortal wounds.


This is the rule the stratagem is referencing.

Crash and Burn is not the Explodes rule.


Except the stratagem doesn't reference the Explodes rule, which would be denoted as Explodes. It references when your opponent makes a roll to see if the vehicle explodes, which you do for both the Crash and burn and Explodes rule.
(Emphasis mine)

Citation needed. It seems more than unclear. It says explodes, there is a rule that is called explodes, so it works with that.

Crash and burn is not the explodes rule though.

Lets leave it as FAQ needed if it works on Crash and burn.


"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in gb
Norn Queen






It says "explodes", not "Explodes". It's not a name of a rule, it's a general descriptor. A bad thing in rules writing, but it is what it is. Agreed on the FAQ needed though.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2019/11/21 19:01:24


 
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

 BaconCatBug wrote:
It says "explodes", not "Explodes". It's not a name of a rule, it's a general descriptor. A bad thing in rules writing, but it is what it is. Agreed on the FAQ needed though.

I know it says "explodes", not "Explodes" but that means either only the explodes rule is valid, or anything that mentions explodes even in fluff is valid. So it really needs an FAQ because of GW's terrible rules writing.

"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in gb
Lesser Daemon of Chaos





West Yorkshire

 DeathReaper wrote:
 BaconCatBug wrote:
It says "explodes", not "Explodes". It's not a name of a rule, it's a general descriptor. A bad thing in rules writing, but it is what it is. Agreed on the FAQ needed though.

I know it says "explodes", not "Explodes" but that means either only the explodes rule is valid, or anything that mentions explodes even in fluff is valid. So it really needs an FAQ because of GW's terrible rules writing.


It's really not though, if it was referencing the Explodes rule, it would bold in the word "explodes" in the sentence. It does however bold in the "vehicle" keyword, which means that while yes other models may explode, this only works if you have to roll to see if that model explodes and it it has the "vehicle" keyword.

5000pts W4/ D0/ L5
5000pts W10/ D2/ L7
 
   
Made in gb
Norn Queen






Tristanleo wrote:
 DeathReaper wrote:
 BaconCatBug wrote:
It says "explodes", not "Explodes". It's not a name of a rule, it's a general descriptor. A bad thing in rules writing, but it is what it is. Agreed on the FAQ needed though.

I know it says "explodes", not "Explodes" but that means either only the explodes rule is valid, or anything that mentions explodes even in fluff is valid. So it really needs an FAQ because of GW's terrible rules writing.


It's really not though, if it was referencing the Explodes rule, it would bold in the word "explodes" in the sentence. It does however bold in the "vehicle" keyword, which means that while yes other models may explode, this only works if you have to roll to see if that model explodes and it it has the "vehicle" keyword.
Sorry, but that is simply not how it works. Only keywords are specially formatted (Bold Caps), rules are not. See for example the Angels of Death ability, which states
This unit has the following abilities: And They Shall Know No Fear, Bolter Discipline, Shock Assault and Combat Doctrines.
No bolding anywhere. Or how about Chaplains
This model knows the Litany of Hate (see below) and one litany from the Litanies of Battle (pg 188).
also no bolding.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2019/11/21 20:42:02


 
   
Made in gb
Grim Dark Angels Interrogator-Chaplain





Cardiff

But there is a capital in the rule name “Explodes” but not in (paraphrased) the “when a VEHICLE explodes” colloquial wording of the rule. So it covers Crash and Burn just fine. That rule pertains to VEHICLES and they explode on a certain roll. There’s no need to pretend it applies to exploding weapons or grenades or fluff... that’s trying to complicate matters. TL;DR the wording could be neater for some folk, but it works just fine.

 Stormonu wrote:
For me, the joy is in putting some good-looking models on the board and playing out a fantasy battle - not arguing over the poorly-made rules of some 3rd party who neither has any power over my play nor will be visiting me (and my opponent) to ensure we are "playing by the rules"
 
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

 JohnnyHell wrote:
But there is a capital in the rule name “Explodes” but not in (paraphrased) the “when a VEHICLE explodes” colloquial wording of the rule. So it covers Crash and Burn just fine.
Except it really doesn't as written. They reference the explodes rule, not the crash and burn rule.



"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in us
Battlefortress Driver with Krusha Wheel




Douglasville, GA

It doesn't reference the Explodes rule at all... it just says "...opponent rolls to see if a VEHICLE model from their army explodes." Crash and Burn ALSO requires that you make a roll to see if a VEHICLE model from your army explodes. There's no real argument for the Stratagem not being able to apply to both.


Automatically Appended Next Post:
Unless you're trying to say that, despite Crash and Burn specifically stating "on a 6 it crashes in a fiery explosion", you're not rolling to see if your model explodes when you resolve that rule.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2019/11/22 00:11:58


 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: