Switch Theme:

Keyword Confusion  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut




Slaanesh Daemon psychic power Hysterical Frenzy:
“Select a single friendly SLAANESH DAEMON unit within 18””

Emperor’s Children disco lord has SLAANESH and DAEMON, but I’ve noticed DAEMON isn’t a faction keyword like it is for the units in the daemon codex. Will it still work?
   
Made in de
Nihilistic Necron Lord






Germany

Yes, it works.

From the BRB update 1.6

Once the battle has begun, the distinction between keywords
and Faction keywords no longer has any effect – both are used
to interact with abilities identically.
   
Made in gb
Dakka Veteran





 p5freak wrote:
Yes, it works.

From the BRB update 1.6

Once the battle has begun, the distinction between keywords
and Faction keywords no longer has any effect – both are used
to interact with abilities identically.


with a small exception for stratagems

 
   
Made in gb
Norn Queen






terry wrote:
 p5freak wrote:
Yes, it works.

From the BRB update 1.6

Once the battle has begun, the distinction between keywords
and Faction keywords no longer has any effect – both are used
to interact with abilities identically.


with a small exception for stratagems
No, there isn't an exception for stratagems.

Codex: Tyranids, Codex: Chaos Daemons and Codex: Space Marines have special snowflake FAQs that restrict stratagems, it is not a basic rule.
   
Made in gb
Horrific Hive Tyrant





So... there is an exception. That is precisely what those FAQs are.
   
Made in gb
Grim Dark Angels Interrogator-Chaplain





Cardiff

 Stux wrote:
So... there is an exception. That is precisely what those FAQs are.


Indeed.

 Stormonu wrote:
For me, the joy is in putting some good-looking models on the board and playing out a fantasy battle - not arguing over the poorly-made rules of some 3rd party who neither has any power over my play nor will be visiting me (and my opponent) to ensure we are "playing by the rules"
 
   
Made in gb
Norn Queen






 Stux wrote:
So... there is an exception. That is precisely what those FAQs are.
That isn't what terry said though. He said "with a small exception for stratagems" with the implication that it applies to ALL stratagems. If he had said " with a small exception for some stratagems", he would have been correct. The exception only applies to those three book's stratagems, not to any other stratagems.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2019/12/11 12:04:25


 
   
Made in us
Prescient Cryptek of Eternity





East Coast, USA

 BaconCatBug wrote:
 Stux wrote:
So... there is an exception. That is precisely what those FAQs are.
That isn't what terry said though. He said "with a small exception for stratagems" with the implication that it applies to ALL stratagems. If he had said " with a small exception for some stratagems", he would have been correct. The exception only applies to those three book's stratagems, not to any other stratagems.


Sigh. Once again, BCB is technically correct and clarifies a point that did not really need to be clarified. Generally speaking, a small exception doesn't apply to every situation. Ergo, small exceptions usually only apply to SOME situations. It's possible to clarify something you think needs to be clarified without being so abrasive.

Check out my website. Editorials! Tutorials! Fun Times To Be Had! - kriswallminis.com


https://www.thingiverse.com/KrisWall/about


Completed Trades With: ultraatma 
   
Made in gb
Horrific Hive Tyrant





 BaconCatBug wrote:
 Stux wrote:
So... there is an exception. That is precisely what those FAQs are.
That isn't what terry said though. He said "with a small exception for stratagems" with the implication that it applies to ALL stratagems. If he had said " with a small exception for some stratagems", he would have been correct. The exception only applies to those three book's stratagems, not to any other stratagems.


Ok, fair enough. You could have clarified that you were referring to an implication you received, but I get what you are saying.

There are SOME exceptions for stratagems from certain sources, but not a blanket exception for all stratagems.
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





 Kriswall wrote:
 BaconCatBug wrote:
 Stux wrote:
So... there is an exception. That is precisely what those FAQs are.
That isn't what terry said though. He said "with a small exception for stratagems" with the implication that it applies to ALL stratagems. If he had said " with a small exception for some stratagems", he would have been correct. The exception only applies to those three book's stratagems, not to any other stratagems.


Sigh. Once again, BCB is technically correct and clarifies a point that did not really need to be clarified. Generally speaking, a small exception doesn't apply to every situation. Ergo, small exceptions usually only apply to SOME situations. It's possible to clarify something you think needs to be clarified without being so abrasive.


Actually BCB pointing out which FAQs have the special snowflake FAQs restricting stratagems is something that was good to clarify.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: