Switch Theme:

Teleport Strike and similar abilities  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in au
Purposeful Hammerhead Pilot






Newcastle, NSW ,Australia

Hi all, so I was having a discussion with my mate who tried to argue that when you can use the Teleport Strike ability to place a model(s) exactly 9" away from an enemy unit. Therefore when declaring a charge that your only need to roll 8" because you only need to end up within 1" to make a successful charge.

I argued that "set them up anywhere on the battlefield that is more than 9" away from any enemy models" means a distance greater than 9", so anything 9.01" and further. Meaning you cannot charge without rolling a 9" charge.

Am I correct?

For The Greater Good - Desert Tau Painting Blog!
http://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/0/670437.page#8273427
Chaos Space Marines 4100 Points
Tau Empire 3000 Points

Blood For The Blood God !!!
 
   
Made in de
Nihilistic Necron Lord






Germany

BRB rulebook update 1.1 (released 23 month ago !)

Q: A number of abilities allow a unit to arrive during the battle
and be set up more than 9" from any enemy models. If I use
such an ability to set up as close as allowed towards an enemy
unit and then select it as the target of the charge, what is the
minimum charge distance I need to roll to make a successful
charge (assuming no modifiers)?
A: 9.
   
Made in au
Purposeful Hammerhead Pilot






Newcastle, NSW ,Australia

I checked the FAQ, I must have missed that. cheers

For The Greater Good - Desert Tau Painting Blog!
http://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/0/670437.page#8273427
Chaos Space Marines 4100 Points
Tau Empire 3000 Points

Blood For The Blood God !!!
 
   
Made in gb
Horrific Hive Tyrant





Here's the logic to it:

To get into melee you need to be WITHIN 1", not exactly 1".
If a roll of 8 would get you to within 1", your distance before moving must be within 9".
If you are within 9" then you set up illegally.

If you think exactly 1" is included as part of within 1", then it logically follows that you cannot setup exactly 9" away because you are told you cannot setup within 9".

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2020/02/04 08:10:35


 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: