Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2020/02/07 03:07:37
Subject: Re-rolls and modifiers have me confused
|
 |
Purposeful Hammerhead Pilot
Newcastle, NSW ,Australia
|
My friends and I have always re-rolled fail hits after modifiers. After reading over this FAQ I am confused and think we are playing it wrong.
For example:
Unit A has +1 to Hit rolls and has re-roll all failed to Hit rolls.
Unit A fires 8 shots hitting with a BS of 4+.
The roll is 1, 2, 3, 3, 4, 4, 5, 6.
The results are modified to 1, 3, 4, 4, 5, 5, 6, 7 (rolls of 1 are always a fail and thus we read them as no modifiers)
Re-roll the 1 and 3
The re-rolls are a 2 and 3
The result are modified to a 3 and 4
Unit A has scored 7 Hits
Rule book FAQ
Page 178 – Re-rolls
Change this paragraph to read:
‘Some rules allow you to re-roll a dice roll, which means
you get to roll some or all of the dice again. If a rule
allows you to re-roll a result that was made by adding
several dice together (e.g. 2D6, 3D6, etc.) then, unless
otherwise stated, you must roll all of those dice again.
You can never re-roll a dice more than once, and re-rolls
happen before modifiers (if any) are applied.
Example:
Unit A has +1 to Hit rolls and has re-roll all failed to Hit rolls.
Unit A fires 8 shots hitting with a BS of 4+.
The roll is 1, 2, 3, 3, 4, 4, 5, 6.
Per the FAQ - the rolls of 1, 2, 3 and 3 are failed because our shooting unit needs 4+ to Hit. These failed hits get re-rolled.
The results are 1, 2, 3, 4.
No re-rolls are allowed but Unit A has +1 to Hit rolls
The results are modified to 1, 3, 4, 5
Unit has scored 6 Hits
Which way is correct?
Thanks
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2020/02/07 03:07:57
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2020/02/07 03:25:13
Subject: Re-rolls and modifiers have me confused
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
Re-rolls happen before modifiers, but remember most things that let you re-roll all failed to Hit rolls are usually optional. They usually have the wording that says May re-roll or can re-roll.
If you were forced to re-roll all failed to hit rolls, then if the roll is 1, 2, 3, 3, 4, 4, 5, 6. and you had a 4+ you would indeed re-roll the 1,2,3, and 3.
|
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2020/02/07 03:31:22
Subject: Re-rolls and modifiers have me confused
|
 |
Purposeful Hammerhead Pilot
Newcastle, NSW ,Australia
|
DeathReaper wrote:Re-rolls happen before modifiers, but remember most things that let you re-roll all failed to Hit rolls are usually optional. They usually have the wording that says May re-roll or can re-roll.
If you were forced to re-roll all failed to hit rolls, then if the roll is 1, 2, 3, 3, 4, 4, 5, 6. and you had a 4+ you would indeed re-roll the 1,2,3, and 3.
So your saying take the best of both worlds so to speak. choosing not to re-roll the 3, 3 so that it get modified to a 4, 4. If your rule lets you choose!
interesting...
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2020/02/07 03:36:49
Subject: Re:Re-rolls and modifiers have me confused
|
 |
Nihilistic Necron Lord
|
If you have BS3+, and you suffer -1 to hit, and you can reroll failed hits, you can reroll 1s and 2s. You can't reroll 3s, because rerolls before modifiers. At that point the 3s would be hits, not failed hits, no rerolling them, you can only reroll failed hits. After you are done rerolling those 1s and 2s, the 3s get modified to 2s, and fail to hit.
In the recent past GW probably realised that this is a very stupid rule, and they changed reroll failed hits to reroll hits. Which means you get to to reroll 3s as well.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2020/02/07 03:47:45
Subject: Re-rolls and modifiers have me confused
|
 |
Purposeful Hammerhead Pilot
Newcastle, NSW ,Australia
|
What about something like a Venerable Dreadnought firing an overcharged heavy plasma cannon that has moved but has re-roll 1's
Hit on 2+
Rolls 1, 2 and 3
Re-roll the 1 and get a 5
apply modifiers so that becomes 1, 2, and 4
Correct?
We would usually roll 1, 2, 3 and pick up any dice that are 3+ but re-roll the 1's in this scenario. And then modify the re-roll as well picking up 3+ again.
I guess we really modify the requirement not the roll.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2020/02/07 04:25:57
Subject: Re-rolls and modifiers have me confused
|
 |
Nihilistic Necron Lord
|
IXLoiero95XI wrote:What about something like a Venerable Dreadnought firing an overcharged heavy plasma cannon that has moved but has re-roll 1's
Hit on 2+
Rolls 1, 2 and 3
Re-roll the 1 and get a 5
apply modifiers so that becomes 1, 2, and 4
Correct?
Yes. You would suffer 1MW from overcharged plasma, because the 2 gets modified to a 1. Not a good idea to overcharge when you suffer any minus to hit. It gets even worse when you have -2 or -3 to hit. That's 1s, 2s, 3s and 4s (at -3) turning into MWs.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2020/02/07 04:27:18
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2020/02/07 09:45:15
Subject: Re:Re-rolls and modifiers have me confused
|
 |
Focused Dark Angels Land Raider Pilot
|
RAW roll's happen one at a time and re-roll's are before modifiers are applied.
For the purposes of fast rolling. You only re-roll what would naturally be a hit normally not what is now a miss because of modifiers.
Plasma's are exclusion to this as they are roll's of 1 not natural roll's of 1 so they do go boom boom after the modifier.
So when I fire my Hellblasters that are in the Az castle bubble with Lieutenant against an Eldar unit that is -1 to hit because there will be an Eldar unit in a game that is -1 to hit.. 10 Shots. 3+ hit. I want to fast roll so I roll all 10 same time. I get 6,6,4,4,5,3,3,1,2,2. As my original roll. I Only re roll the 1, 2, 2. The two three become 2's but don;t get to re-roll so I throw them aside. I re-roll the 1,2,2 . I now get a 4, 2, and 1. So my final result is 6,6,4,4,5,3,3,4,2,1. Which because of the -1 hit is now 5,5,3,3,4,2,2,3,1,1 essentially. So four miss, 6 hit and two explode. I have the banner and luckily the dice gods are with me and both hellblasters shoot on death. So roll two more I get a 4 and a 3. No re-rolls for me as the 3 would normally hit. Now I apply modifer and I have 3 and a 2. So in total my hits are 7 hits and two dead hellblasters. I roll to wound now and kill 6-7 men with my -4 ap and cause them to fail morale because they're Eldar.
Hopefully this helps.
|
5500
2500 |
|
 |
 |
|
|