Switch Theme:

Multiples of "This Weapon": does it mean (one instance) or (all instances)  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Decrepit Dakkanaut






Springfield, VA

A Keeper of Secrets Witstealer Sword says:
Chapter Approved 2019 wrote:When resolving an attack made by a model that has lost one or more wounds from an attack made by this weapon, subtract 1 from the hit roll.


If I have, say, 2 keepers, and each of them wounds with their Witstealer Swords on something big enough to survive like a Knight, then what is the result? Is it:

1) The Knight is -1, because the "this weapon" refers to (all instances of) a Witstealer Sword
2) The Knight is -2, because "this weapon" refers to this (specific instance of a) Witstealer Sword
   
Made in us
Lieutenant General





Florence, KY

It's that specific Witstealer Sword, otherwise it would be worded something like "... each Witstealer Sword..."

Also note that the use of the term "this weapon" is quite common in the datasheets. For example the Keeper of Secrets datasheet uses the term "this weapon" for the Living Whip and Snapping Claws in addition to the Witstealer Sword.

This message was edited 3 times. Last update was at 2020/03/18 02:41:07


'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents
cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable
defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'

- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty
Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim
 
   
Made in gb
Norn Queen






It all depends on what you define "this weapon" to be. GW seem to be incapable of writing rules correctly so both arguments have some validity to them.

FWIW I agree with Ghaz.
   
Made in gb
Horrific Hive Tyrant





Agreed. While there is some ambiguity, the most sensible interpretation in my opinion is that it is referring to that specific instance of the weapon.
   
Made in de
Junior Officer with Laspistol






it's interesting, since a while back I asked the same question for the IG Valdor Tank Hunter which has a similar worded rule and the consensus seemed to be: RAW yes, but most likely it is not intended that way.
https://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/778453.page

~7510 build and painted
1312 build and painted
1200 
   
Made in gb
Horrific Hive Tyrant





Theres no consensus in that thread! One person said it worked.

My position was the same as now. It's not great wording, but it makes most sense to restrict it to the specific instance of the weapon.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2020/03/18 10:18:09


 
   
Made in de
Junior Officer with Laspistol






You are right. It would be more correct to write "it was my Impression that..." instead of "Consensus". I apologize

~7510 build and painted
1312 build and painted
1200 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: