skchsan wrote:I think
OP may have been asking "do you add 1 to the dice roll or after you determine the results of d3". Either way, yes the resulting damage is d3+1.
yes this is what i was asking. i have always played it as d3+1 but some other mediums i use have been throwing around
d4 for an example so i wanted to get some context outside that specific forum.
I also didn't know since it says damage characteristic if that mattered. The rule in question belongs to Astorath the grim and is a litany he can use "If this litany is inspiring, add 1 to this model's attacks and strength characteristic and add 1 to the damage characteristic of melee weapons this model is equipped with. His weapon does D3 damage.