Switch Theme:

Adding Damage to Variable rolls  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Dakka Veteran





If a character uses an ability that adds 1 to the damage characteristic, and the damage is D3 does the new damage become D4 or D3+1.
   
Made in gb
Longtime Dakkanaut





The new damage is D3 +1
   
Made in de
Nihilistic Necron Lord






Germany

mhalko1 wrote:
If a character uses an ability that adds 1 to the damage characteristic, and the damage is D3 does the new damage become D4 or D3+1.


Why do you think it could be D4 ? You can only use D6 in 40k, nothing else is allowed.
   
Made in gb
Norn Queen






mhalko1 wrote:
If a character uses an ability that adds 1 to the damage characteristic, and the damage is D3 does the new damage become D4 or D3+1.
It's D3+1. That is what Add means.

Think about it, if you're adding 1, and the damage is normally between 1-3, how can you be adding one and only inflicting 1 damage?

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2020/05/21 16:12:52


 
   
Made in us
Deathwing Terminator with Assault Cannon






I think OP may have been asking "do you add 1 to the dice roll or after you determine the results of d3". Either way, yes the resulting damage is d3+1.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2020/05/21 18:08:03


 
   
Made in us
Dakka Veteran





 skchsan wrote:
I think OP may have been asking "do you add 1 to the dice roll or after you determine the results of d3". Either way, yes the resulting damage is d3+1.
yes this is what i was asking. i have always played it as d3+1 but some other mediums i use have been throwing around d4 for an example so i wanted to get some context outside that specific forum.

I also didn't know since it says damage characteristic if that mattered. The rule in question belongs to Astorath the grim and is a litany he can use "If this litany is inspiring, add 1 to this model's attacks and strength characteristic and add 1 to the damage characteristic of melee weapons this model is equipped with. His weapon does D3 damage.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2020/05/22 19:30:22


 
   
Made in gb
Norn Queen






Yeah that means his weapon becomes D3+1 damage.
   
Made in us
Dakka Veteran





 BaconCatBug wrote:
Yeah that means his weapon becomes D3+1 damage.
thought so.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: