Switch Theme:

9th edition rule of 3 allows extra units through reinforcements?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Storm Trooper with Maglight





Virginia

So I've been reading the 9th edition rulebook, and I found this little tidbit with the rule of 3.

"With the exception of units with the Troops or Dedicated Transport Battlefield Roles, or units that are added to your army during the battle that cost Reinforcement points, each player can only include the same datasheet in their army three times."


With reinforcements being made a specific exception, does this mean you could, for instance, have 3 company commanders on the board at the start, and additional ones in strategic reserves? Or am I missing what "Reinforcement points" are, as I could not locate them in the rulebook either.


 
   
Made in gb
Norn Queen






 Smitty wrote:
So I've been reading the 9th edition rulebook, and I found this little tidbit with the rule of 3.

"With the exception of units with the Troops or Dedicated Transport Battlefield Roles, or units that are added to your army during the battle that cost Reinforcement points, each player can only include the same datasheet in their army three times."


With reinforcements being made a specific exception, does this mean you could, for instance, have 3 company commanders on the board at the start, and additional ones in strategic reserves? Or am I missing what "Reinforcement points" are, as I could not locate them in the rulebook either.
Strategic Reserves don't use Reinforcement Points. Summoning Daemons or spawning Termagants and the like are what use Reinforcement Points.

Strategic Reserves places a unit you have in your army into said Strategic Reserves to arrive later. You have already paid the points and Detachment Slot for them.

Reinforcement Points work the exact same in 9th as they did in 8th. You set up a separate pool of Reinforcement Points that count towards your armies points limit to spawn units mid game (e.g. You have 1800 points of units in your army and 200 Reinforcement points set aside to summon Daemons).

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2020/07/25 22:14:26


 
   
Made in de
Junior Officer with Laspistol






It should work with Valhallas "send in the next wave" stratagem though, allowing to take more than three command/special weapon/heavy weapon/veteran squads.

~7510 build and painted
1312 build and painted
1200 
   
Made in us
Storm Trooper with Maglight





Virginia

 BaconCatBug wrote:
 Smitty wrote:
So I've been reading the 9th edition rulebook, and I found this little tidbit with the rule of 3.

"With the exception of units with the Troops or Dedicated Transport Battlefield Roles, or units that are added to your army during the battle that cost Reinforcement points, each player can only include the same datasheet in their army three times."


With reinforcements being made a specific exception, does this mean you could, for instance, have 3 company commanders on the board at the start, and additional ones in strategic reserves? Or am I missing what "Reinforcement points" are, as I could not locate them in the rulebook either.
Strategic Reserves don't use Reinforcement Points. Summoning Daemons or spawning Termagants and the like are what use Reinforcement Points.

Strategic Reserves places a unit you have in your army into said Strategic Reserves to arrive later. You have already paid the points and Detachment Slot for them.


I must have been missing the reinforcement points in the book then, that's what I was thinking the more I thought about it.


Automatically Appended Next Post:
 Pyroalchi wrote:
It should work with Valhallas "send in the next wave" stratagem though, allowing to take more than three command/special weapon/heavy weapon/veteran squads.


Huh, it would, yeah.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2020/07/25 22:17:20



 
   
Made in gb
Twisting Tzeentch Horror






Haha! I completely forgot that the rule of three was even a thing.

Yes, you can add a 4th daemon herald to your army if you want to. this type of reinforcement is summoning, and I can't really think of a situation where you reallyyyy want to summon a 4th copy of something that is restricted.


edit- by my interpretation, 'reinforcement point' are the points you'd keep spare in your list for say an assassin. Or to summon a blob of bloodletters.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2020/07/25 23:06:53


 insaniak wrote:

You can choose to focus on the parts of a hobby that make you unhappy, or you can choose to focus on the parts that you enjoy.
 
   
Made in au
Owns Whole Set of Skullz Techpriests






Versteckt in den Schatten deines Geistes.

 McMagnus Mindbullets wrote:
Haha! I completely forgot that the rule of three was even a thing.
It wasn't, in 8th at least. Now it is.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2020/07/25 23:59:03


Industrial Insanity - My Terrain Blog
"GW really needs to understand 'Less is more' when it comes to AoS." - Wha-Mu-077

 
   
Made in de
Nihilistic Necron Lord






Germany

 H.B.M.C. wrote:
 McMagnus Mindbullets wrote:
Haha! I completely forgot that the rule of three was even a thing.
It wasn't, in 8th at least. Now it is.



Only in eternal war missions. And GW still hasnt clarified if a DA devastator squad counts as the same datasheet as a BA devastator squad. They are in different books, so they cant be the same datasheet.
   
Made in gb
Grim Dark Angels Interrogator-Chaplain





Cardiff

 p5freak wrote:
 H.B.M.C. wrote:
 McMagnus Mindbullets wrote:
Haha! I completely forgot that the rule of three was even a thing.
It wasn't, in 8th at least. Now it is.



Only in eternal war missions. And GW still hasnt clarified if a DA devastator squad counts as the same datasheet as a BA devastator squad. They are in different books, so they cant be the same datasheet.


They don’t need to, because the new book rolls all Chapters into one, plus supplements. So problem solved as those duplicates go away.

 Stormonu wrote:
For me, the joy is in putting some good-looking models on the board and playing out a fantasy battle - not arguing over the poorly-made rules of some 3rd party who neither has any power over my play nor will be visiting me (and my opponent) to ensure we are "playing by the rules"
 
   
Made in de
Nihilistic Necron Lord






Germany

 JohnnyHell wrote:
 p5freak wrote:
 H.B.M.C. wrote:
 McMagnus Mindbullets wrote:
Haha! I completely forgot that the rule of three was even a thing.
It wasn't, in 8th at least. Now it is.



Only in eternal war missions. And GW still hasnt clarified if a DA devastator squad counts as the same datasheet as a BA devastator squad. They are in different books, so they cant be the same datasheet.


They don’t need to, because the new book rolls all Chapters into one, plus supplements. So problem solved as those duplicates go away.


The new codex will be released in october. Until then we still dont know, we also dont know if devastators will all be the same. SW for example dont have devastators, they have long fangs.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: