Switch Theme:

can all charged units consolidate?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in fi
Raging-on-the-Inside Blood Angel Sergeant





So I charge with two units against a rhino. the first units kills the rhino. can both charging units consolidate the unit inside or just the unit which kdestroyed the rhino?
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





One unit completes the "pile in, fight, consolidate" sequence before another unit begins the sequence.

If 2 units charge a rhino, one of the two is selected in the fight phase. It will pile in, then fight (in your example it destroys the rhino which results in the troops it was carrying disembarking) and then it consolidates.

The second charging unit is now selected, and it can pile in. It cannot fight because it charged the rhino and not the unit inside it, and charging units can only fight against the unit(s) it declared a charge against, or units that have heroically intervened. It can then consolidate without having fought.

Note there is no way to declare a charge against the occupants of the rhino, because you must successfully reach engagement range of all targets of a charge and there is no way to be in engagement range of an embarked unit.
   
Made in fi
Raging-on-the-Inside Blood Angel Sergeant





so I can always pile in and consolidate with all charging units even the first unit that was selected to fight killed the only target? so free 6" movev(3+3) towards the closest enemy unit with rest of the chargers?
   
Made in gb
Dakka Veteran





Xirax wrote:
so I can always pile in and consolidate with all charging units even the first unit that was selected to fight killed the only target? so free 6" movev(3+3) towards the closest enemy unit with rest of the chargers?

Correct. Everyone who successfully charged can activate. Everyone who activates can do their pile in and consolidate moves.

8930 points 6800 points 75 points 600 points
2810 points 5740 points 2650 points 3275 points
55 points 640 points 1840 points 435 points
2990 points 700 points 2235 points 1935 points
3460 points 1595 points 2480 points 2895 points
 
   
Made in gb
Norn Queen






If you charge, you get to activate, even if not within engagement range.

What you can't do is attack the unit that came out of the rhino as you did not declare a charge against them, but you can still Pile in and consolidate into them.
   
Made in fi
Raging-on-the-Inside Blood Angel Sergeant





and the units you got contact with can hit you.
   
Made in au
Frenzied Berserker Terminator






Aash wrote:
The second charging unit is now selected, and it can pile in. It cannot fight because it charged the rhino and not the unit inside it, and charging units can only fight against the unit(s) it declared a charge against, or units that have heroically intervened. It can then consolidate without having fought.

This, but with one small correction: in the rules, "fight" means "pile in, attack, consolidate".

So if a unit charged but the enemies it was in engagement range with are all dead, then it can still fight. It would pile in, but not be allowed to attack, and then would be allowed to consolidate.

This might sound a bit nitpicky, but IMHO the biggest reason this question (or similar questions) seems to keep popping up is because people conflate "fight" with "attack".
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: