Aash wrote:The second charging unit is now selected, and it can pile in. It cannot fight because it charged the rhino and not the unit inside it, and charging units can only fight against the unit(s) it declared a charge against, or units that have heroically intervened. It can then consolidate without having fought.
This, but with one small correction: in the rules, "fight" means "pile in, attack, consolidate".
So if a unit charged but the enemies it was in engagement range with are all dead, then it can still
fight. It would pile in, but not be allowed to attack, and then would be allowed to consolidate.
This might sound a bit nitpicky, but
IMHO the biggest reason this question (or similar questions) seems to keep popping up is because people conflate "fight" with "attack".