Switch Theme:

An idiot asks....unmodified 6?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in gb
Ridin' on a Snotling Pump Wagon






How do?

This really is a simpletons question I’m afraid.

But when a rule says, for example, “for each to hit roll of an unmodified 6, this weapon scores two additional hits”.

Am I right in thinking that provided the initial dice roll was a 6, I get the exploding effect?

Fed up of Scalpers? But still want your Exclusives? Why not join us?

Hey look! It’s my 2025 Hobby Log/Blog/Project/Whatevs 
   
Made in gb
Been Around the Block





Yes.

If the die rolls a 6 you get the effect.
If the die rolls a 5 and you add a 1 for whatever modifier, then you don't get the effect.
If the die rolls a 6 and you add a -1 modifier, you still get the effect.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2020/10/01 07:06:13


 
   
Made in gb
Norn Queen






 Mad Doc Grotsnik wrote:
How do?

This really is a simpletons question I’m afraid.

But when a rule says, for example, “for each to hit roll of an unmodified 6, this weapon scores two additional hits”.

Am I right in thinking that provided the initial dice roll was a 6, I get the exploding effect?
BRB, Page 200 wrote:Rules that refer to the value of an ‘unmodified’ dice roll are referring to the dice result after any re-rolls, but before any modifiers are applied.
As Juxtimon says, the effect only happens if you physically roll a 6. A 5 that is modified to a 6 doesn't count, and a 6 that gets modified to a 5 or a 7 via modifiers does.
   
Made in de
Nihilistic Necron Lord






Germany

BCB, you mean a 6 that gets modified to a 5 or a 7 via modifiers doesnt as well.
   
Made in gb
Longtime Dakkanaut






 p5freak wrote:
BCB, you mean a 6 that gets modified to a 5 or a 7 via modifiers doesnt as well.


I was under the impression that an unmodified 6 meant a 6 was rolled before modifiers were applied, not that a 6 was rolled and wasn't modified afterwards? Are you saying that dakkadakkadakka doesn't work against targets with -1 to hit, or +1 to hit?

12,300 points of Orks
9th W/D/L with Orks, 4/0/2
I am Thoruk, the Barbarian, Slayer of Ducks, and This is my blog!

I'm Selling Infinity, 40k, dystopian wars, UK based!

I also make designs for t-shirts and mugs and such on Redbubble! 
   
Made in gb
Norn Queen






 p5freak wrote:
BCB, you mean a 6 that gets modified to a 5 or a 7 via modifiers doesnt as well.
If you roll a 6, that then gets modified to a 5, that is an unmodified 6.
BRB, Page 200 wrote:Rules that refer to the value of an ‘unmodified’ dice roll are referring to the dice result after any re-rolls, but before any modifiers are applied.
Rules that ask for an unmodified 6 look at the result BEFORE modifiers are applied.
   
Made in de
Nihilistic Necron Lord






Germany

Yes, of course. Sorry, my fault.
   
Made in it
Waaagh! Ork Warboss




Italy

 p5freak wrote:
BCB, you mean a 6 that gets modified to a 5 or a 7 via modifiers doesnt as well.


No, he is right. A 6 that becomes a 5 or a 7 still counts as an unmodified 6.

 
   
Made in gb
Chalice-Wielding Sanguinary High Priest





Stevenage, UK

For those of us with old-school D&D knowledge... "unmodified" is basically the same as "natural".

"Hard pressed on my right. My centre is yielding. Impossible to manoeuvre. Situation excellent. I am attacking." - General Ferdinand Foch  
   
Made in gb
Ridin' on a Snotling Pump Wagon






Brilliant, thank you folks!

Fed up of Scalpers? But still want your Exclusives? Why not join us?

Hey look! It’s my 2025 Hobby Log/Blog/Project/Whatevs 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: