Switch Theme:

Votann Rail Weapons “splash” damage  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in gb
Ridin' on a Snotling Pump Wagon






How do!

Idly browsing my Eldar Codex, and I noticed the Corsair Voidscarred can have one model carrying Channeller Stones.

These are a fairly nifty item, as Once Per Turn, the first time a saving throw is failed for the bearer’s unit, the Damage characteristic for that attack is reduced to 0.

So far, so nice and simple, yes?

But what about the Votann Rail Weapons “splash” damage, where in the right circumstances, the damage roll is spread out among the enemy unit.

I suspect the answer to my next question is “yes”, but my rules knowledge is so woeful I thought it best to ask.

Votann Railgun hits a unit of Corsair Voidscarred. It triggers its own “splash” damage effect. But, it seems the Channeller Stones means its damage roll is now 0 - so despite the “splash” the Corsair Voidscarred walk away entirely unscathed?

The important bit for my understanding? If not, why not?

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2023/02/15 00:14:54


Fed up of Scalpers? But still want your Exclusives? Why not join us?

Hey look! It’s my 2025 Hobby Log/Blog/Project/Whatevs 
   
Made in gb
Lord of the Fleet






London

My gut feeling is yes, it's ignored as the damage would spill over, but it's Damage 0 so nothing happens. If the weapon causes mortal wounds in addition (like Railguns) then they would still affect the Corsairs.
   
Made in ro
Servoarm Flailing Magos




Germany

 Mad Doc Grotsnik wrote:
How do!

Idly browsing my Eldar Codex, and I noticed the Corsair Voidscarred can have one model carrying Channeller Stones.

These are a fairly nifty item, as Once Per Turn, the first time a saving throw is failed for the bearer’s unit, the Damage characteristic for that attack is reduced to 0.

So far, so nice and simple, yes?

But what about the Votann Rail Weapons “splash” damage, where in the right circumstances, the damage roll is spread out among the enemy unit.

I suspect the answer to my next question is “yes”, but my rules knowledge is so woeful I thought it best to ask.

Votann Railgun hits a unit of Corsair Voidscarred. It triggers its own “splash” damage effect. But, it seems the Channeller Stones means its damage roll is now 0 - so despite the “splash” the Corsair Voidscarred walk away entirely unscathed?

The important bit for my understanding? If not, why not?


Imho you are correct. It's easy to see why if you stick strictly to the sequence of events in the rules.

- The magna-rail's special effect triggers on a wound roll of 6 - note that this happens long before any damage is actually dealt. We now know that excess damage will roll over to other models, and keep that in mind for later.

- The attacker allocates the attack, which is not important, since the stones protect the whole unit.

- The defender makes a saving throw - two possible outcomes: the save is made, which terminates the sequence and is of no importance to us, or is failed, in which case the stones activate.

- Now the attacker would determine damage for his rail weapon by consulting the profile and rolling the appropriate dice. But here the stones intercede and set the result of the roll to 0 before any actual damage is done - so the attacker has 0 damage to allocate, and thus no excess damage can happen, as excess damage is defined as 'Damage exceeding the remaining wounds of the damaged model'.

- Thus the sequence ends for this particular shot. Further shots in the same phase against the same unit work as normal.

The important point is that the Stone's rule directly tells you that the result of the 'Determine damage' step is == 0, so there never is any damage, and thus also never any excess damage, to allocate.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2023/02/14 13:27:12


 
   
Made in gb
Dakka Veteran





The damage is reduced to 0 so there is no damage to spill over.

8930 points 6800 points 75 points 600 points
2810 points 5740 points 2650 points 3275 points
55 points 640 points 1840 points 435 points
2990 points 700 points 2235 points 1935 points
3460 points 1595 points 2480 points 2895 points
 
   
Made in gb
Grim Dark Angels Interrogator-Chaplain





Cardiff

Agree the damage is zeroed so there’s nothing to spill.

 Stormonu wrote:
For me, the joy is in putting some good-looking models on the board and playing out a fantasy battle - not arguing over the poorly-made rules of some 3rd party who neither has any power over my play nor will be visiting me (and my opponent) to ensure we are "playing by the rules"
 
   
Made in gb
Ridin' on a Snotling Pump Wagon






Thanks all

Fed up of Scalpers? But still want your Exclusives? Why not join us?

Hey look! It’s my 2025 Hobby Log/Blog/Project/Whatevs 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: