Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2023/07/07 12:02:33
Subject: can transports carry more than one unit?
|
 |
Evasive Eshin Assassin
|
my gut says yes because they tend to use plurals in the transport rules but maybe I'm jaded by other editions so now I'm not sure.
is there anything that says yes or no explicitly one way or the other?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2023/07/07 12:28:52
Subject: can transports carry more than one unit?
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
There is no restriction on how many units can embark. The rules are based on models embarking.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2023/07/09 11:36:54
Subject: can transports carry more than one unit?
|
 |
Raging-on-the-Inside Blood Angel Sergeant
netherlands
|
The only restriction i see is how many models a transport vehicle can carry.
|
full compagny of bloodangels, 5000 pnt of epic bloodangels
5000 pnt imperial guard
5000 pnt orks
2500 pnt grey knights
5000 pnt gsc
5000 pnts Chaos legionars
4000 pnt tyranids
4000 pnt Tau
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2023/07/09 15:43:35
Subject: Re:can transports carry more than one unit?
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Bear in mind this restriction: * Every Dedicated Transport unit from your army must start the battle with at least one unit embarked within it, or it cannot be deployed for that battle and will instead count as having been destroyed during the first battle round.
from the Select Units stage of Muster Your Army (page 56 of the core rules) So the implication is definitely that a transport can have more than one unit in it, and dedicated transports must start with at least one unit embarked.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2023/07/09 15:47:54
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2023/07/14 10:25:27
Subject: Re:can transports carry more than one unit?
|
 |
Guard Heavy Weapon Crewman
|
I can second every answer I have seen to this post.
A transport can carry any number of units, as long as all the models can fit into the transport at once.
A dedicated transport has to have its own unit in it at setup.
It doesn't have to be the only unit in it at setup.
F.X. a space marine rhino can have 12 infantry models in it. The rhino can only be taken as a dedicated transport. You buy the rhino for a 5 man tactical squad. This squad HAS to start in the rhino. Their buddies, the next 5 man squad, can ride along with them, as can two characters, for a total of 12 models.
|
Inexperience is not a permanent condition. Stupidity is!
“When in deadly danger, When beset by doubt, Run in little circles, Wave your arms and shout.” |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2023/07/14 14:59:47
Subject: Re:can transports carry more than one unit?
|
 |
Owns Whole Set of Skullz Techpriests
Versteckt in den Schatten deines Geistes.
|
Snowcloak wrote:F.X. a space marine rhino can have 12 infantry models in it. The rhino can only be taken as a dedicated transport. You buy the rhino for a 5 man tactical squad. This squad HAS to start in the rhino. Their buddies, the next 5 man squad, can ride along with them, as can two characters, for a total of 12 models.
1. You don't buy dedicated transports for units. You just buy the dedicated transport and have to have something in it.
2. No such thing as a 5-man Tactical Squad anymore. Tacs, stupidly, have to be 10-men strong and that's it. It's one of the reasons the Razorback has become almost unusable in 10th.
|
|
|
 |
 |
|