Switch Theme:

Shooting Under Skimmers.  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in gb
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime







GW Also says you can ignore any rule you want at any time, so long as you both agree.

They also say that you always use TLoS under all circumstances, down to individual trees in area terrain blocking LoS.

Following the strict RaW, any models that have their View blocked by their skimmer transport, may not fire.

Of course, because of the small nature of the table, and the fact you look from behind the model, one can debate of they can see or not, hence my original question in the OP.

Having read through the well thought out replies in this thread (and admittedly a few rather less thought out ones) I have come to the decision that it would just save time and effort to just model the skimmer in a manner that I could deploy and then still be able to draw LoS.

Thank you for the compliment though. Nice to know some people still like advocating the Playing of Warhammer 40k and not Househammer 40k

Now, here's something you you all. Lets say I have a skimmer transport, on one of those flying bases that have the ball joint at the top, that allow the skimmer to "bank and pitch".
Do you guys think, under RaW, one could have the transport modelled high enough so the unit could draw clear line of sight under it, and therefore move the transport the 6" or whatever, and bank the tailend back, so that the access points would then be in a legal position, deploy the unit, then return the transport to a flat level. I cannot find anything that would suggest doing so (returning the model to a flat level) counts as movement at all, and would therefore be allowed, even though it severely modifies LoS corridors?

This message was edited 3 times. Last update was at 2009/03/31 05:12:45


Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!)
 
   
Made in gb
Proud Phantom Titan







Gwar! wrote:GW Also says you can ignore any rule you want at any time, so long as you both agree.

They also say that you always use TLoS under all circumstances, down to individual trees in area terrain blocking LoS.

Following the strict RaW, any models that have their View blocked by their skimmer transport, may not fire.

Of course, because of the small nature of the table, and the fact you look from behind the model, one can debate of they can see or not, hence my original question in the OP.

Having read through the well thought out replies in this thread (and admittedly a few rather less thought out ones) I have come to the decision that it would just save time and effort to just model the skimmer in a manner that I could deploy and then still be able to draw LoS.

Thank you for the compliment though. Nice to know some people still like advocating the Playing of Warhammer 40k and not Househammer 40k

Now, here's something you you all. Lets say I have a skimmer transport, on one of those flying bases that have the ball joint at the top, that allow the skimmer to "bank and pitch".
Do you guys think, under RaW, one could have the transport modelled high enough so the unit could draw clear line of sight under it, and therefore move the transport the 6" or whatever, and bank the tailend back, so that the access points would then be in a legal position, deploy the unit, then return the transport to a flat level. I cannot find anything that would suggest doing so (returning the model to a flat level) counts as movement at all, and would therefore be allowed, even though it severely modifies LoS corridors?


I would count that as movement with all restrictions and penalty involved ... but I would happily let you move your skimmer so it could deploy troops (exception would be the dark eldar with scaling nets move deploy and then finish moving)

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2009/03/31 12:14:11


 
   
Made in au
Quick-fingered Warlord Moderatus






Gwar! wrote:Now, here's something you you all. Lets say I have a skimmer transport, on one of those flying bases that have the ball joint at the top, that allow the skimmer to "bank and pitch".
Do you guys think, under RaW, one could have the transport modelled high enough so the unit could draw clear line of sight under it, and therefore move the transport the 6" or whatever, and bank the tailend back, so that the access points would then be in a legal position, deploy the unit, then return the transport to a flat level. I cannot find anything that would suggest doing so (returning the model to a flat level) counts as movement at all, and would therefore be allowed, even though it severely modifies LoS corridors?


Even better, bank it to one side, climb out that side's hatch, then bank it back the otherway so your models can draw head to shin LOS but the enemy can't see them. As far as I'm concerned you can do whatever you want with banking your skimmer as long as it comes with one of the ball joint flying stands.

Interceptor Drones can disembark at any point during the Sun Shark's move (even though models cannot normally disembark from Zooming Flyers).


-Jeremy Vetock, only man at Games Workshop who understands Zooming Flyers 
   
Made in us
Eternally-Stimulated Slaanesh Dreadnought






New York, NY

I would simply like to retract any statements I made that contradict the rules permitting a player to fire "through or past" a friendly unity as long as appropriate cover saves are afforded the targeted unit. I was thinking oooolllddd rules. Sorry all

I have a love /hate relationship with anything green. 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: