Switch Theme:

Yet Another GK Falchions question  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Fresh-Faced New User




Maybe this is a forest beyond the trees thing but I just read that falchion description as you have a pair, you get +1 attack. Then again I have never been a RAI player so I ignore the fluff in this summation.
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut






Actually a pair does always mean two. Thats kinda the defination.

1 pant does nothing as an article of clothing, while a pair of pants is useful. I assume that was your point, but 1 nemesis falchion is a 1 handed force weapon, which is very different from 1 pant, which is not a 1 handed force weapon. Actually, what is 1 pant?
   
Made in us
Fresh-Faced New User




Cecil replies:

Fret not, my little anchovy. Ann Landers might puppy out and tell you to get professional counseling, but here at the Straight Dope, we deliver.

Now for the facts.

First of all, let's note there is a class of objects that are thought to consist of two independent but connected parts, usually identical or at least similar to each other. In addition to pants and trousers, there are eyeglasses, scissors, tweezers, shears, pliers, and so on.

The terms for these objects are always plural in form, and they are usually referred to as "a pair of ...." This usage goes back to at least 1297 AD, when we have the expression "a peire of hosen."

The implication is that the two parts are separable in some sense, and in fact a pair of hose can often mean two separate pieces. (True, you can't separate tweezers, but I never claimed the English language was rational.)

In contrast to trousers, a shirt is thought of mainly as a covering for the torso, and may or may not have sleeves. Hence no pair.

The "pair of ..." designation is somewhat arbitrarily applied. At one time it was common to speak of a pair of compasses (for drawing), a pair of nutcrackers, or a pair of bellows. But I would venture to say that in the U.S., at least, these expressions are dying out.

On the other hand, we do speak of a pair of panties, even though panties aren't really a pair of anything, having (usually) no legs. But clearly this is merely an extension of the expression, "pair of pants."

Further confusing matters is "a dozen pairs of rosaries," even though there are 50-some beads. This harks back to an old use of the word "pair" to mean "a set of more than two like or equal things making a whole."

A related usage, supposedly common in the theater business for many years, is "a pair [flight] of stairs." Occasionally theatrical types will say of a pair that it is "nice," and one assumes the rest of the superstructure ain't bad either. But that's a discussion for another day.

— Cecil Adams
   
Made in my
Resourceful Gutterscum



Miri, Sarawak, Malaysia

We should never accept this sort of argument, "Just because it did not say no, I could do it." It shows no supporting material and it is a short not well though answer.

If there is something that seem strange or descriptions that maybe weird, citing the page and the codex to support the rules for your unit is the best possible answer.

My statement for purifiers armed with 2 falchions having 4 attacks (5 Attacks for charge),

Break down:
Purifier base attack: 2 Attack

I cite the Extra CCW weapon for the model has 2 of the same CCW due to the wording "pair" of falchions.
2 CCW same weapon: +1 Attack

I quote, "The wielder of a pair of Nemesis falchions have +1 Attack."
Statement description gives: +1 Attack

Charging rules: +1 Attack

However, I have read the tenets of YMDA. I do not wish to invoke the anger and hellfire of the mods (I say this with respect, not mockery). I agree, to what nosferatu1001 told me in my last post. I apologise for behavior that time.

Though it may not be a good source, I am calling GW to regarding the Falchions. A company rep telling on the on the phone is a loose fact, but better than nothing. If anyone does not believe the loose fact, they should call to reconfirm at GW. For those that doubt me, my chances of lying are extremely slim. They are just a phone call away. I never call once, I call thrice as always.

I have a mock tourney with a Bruneian player in Singapore on the 1st of May when I am there to stock up on models from Paradigm Infitium and we both are playing GK vs GK.

As a new face on DakkaDakka, I wish to contribute as much as possible in anyway I could. Since I am calling soon in a few hours, I may as well share what I got later for you all.

Guess I take the 40K You Make Da Call to the letter.
   
Made in se
Ferocious Black Templar Castellan






Sweden

SeattleDV8 wrote:Damn it!
I ordered a pair of pants, and they only gave me one pant.....grrrr.

HEH a pair does not always mean two.


http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Plurale_tantum

There is such a thing as a falchion in singular, thus your "argument" is moot.

For thirteen years I had a dog with fur the darkest black. For thirteen years he was my friend, oh how I want him back. 
   
Made in se
Wicked Warp Spider






Ios

This thread has gone off topic fast. If you wish to debate whether or not you get an additional extra attack for 2 CCW, I suggest you take that to a relevant thread.

The original question was: do I get an extra attack for having a pair of Nemesis Force Falchions (NFF) and a Storm Bolter?

The answer is two-fold:
1. No, a pair of NFF takes up both the model's hands as it is two weapons, and you can't use a pistol at the same time. They are, additionally, special close combat weapons and therefore do not allow you to mix/match with other weapons.
2. No, Storm Bolters are not pistols and do not count as a one-handed close combat weapon in melee, and would never grant additional attacks.

I really need to stay away from the 40K forums. 
   
Made in my
Resourceful Gutterscum



Miri, Sarawak, Malaysia

Oh hell, I forgot today of all days, IT'S SUNDAY!!!!!!

I'll have to call them tommorrow. ON MONDAY!!!!!!!
   
Made in au
Fresh-Faced New User




Mahtamori wrote:

The answer is two-fold:
1. No, a pair of NFF takes up both the model's hands as it is two weapons, and you can't use a pistol at the same time. They are, additionally, special close combat weapons and therefore do not allow you to mix/match with other weapons.


Actually, you can have a falchion and a pistol (in theory) and still get an extra attack for 2 weapons. The only weapons that need to be the same are Lightning Claws, Power Fists and Thunder Hammers. The rule book is actually very specific for once.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: