Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/01/20 02:13:59
Subject: The FAQ, Impaler Cannons, and Vehicle Cover.
|
 |
Powerful Phoenix Lord
|
Other than name calling, do you have anything constructive to add to this thread?
|
Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/01/20 04:19:35
Subject: The FAQ, Impaler Cannons, and Vehicle Cover.
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
second half of my post? Or did you not bother reading that far? infact pretty much anything after my first couple of sentences.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/01/20 04:20:47
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/01/20 05:02:44
Subject: The FAQ, Impaler Cannons, and Vehicle Cover.
|
 |
Confessor Of Sins
|
rigeld2 wrote:Spetulhu wrote:Just disregard the FAQ answer... it's incorrect. And if it was a rules change to the Impaler cannon it should be in Errata.
Can you cite how it's incorrect?
The question is the wrong question and the answer is false. Impaler cannons deny you "the benefits of cover" in certain circumstances - cover saves are never mentioned. Being in cover might ofc grant you a cover save... which benefit the cannons can potentially deny you.
Blame GW for the badly worded rules.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/01/20 05:06:59
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/01/20 05:05:13
Subject: The FAQ, Impaler Cannons, and Vehicle Cover.
|
 |
Powerful Phoenix Lord
|
And then the FAQ clarified this to mean all cover saves unless you are in/touching terrain.
|
Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/01/22 12:34:28
Subject: The FAQ, Impaler Cannons, and Vehicle Cover.
|
 |
Enginseer with a Wrench
|
1st:
Impaler Cannons don't ignore ALL cover saves. Models with a Wound (W) profile are still allowed to take cover saves, after meeting certain requirements. However, they only ignore cover saves if any actual Wounds were caused. Notice it is Wounds, and NOT wounds. The Rulebook makes a distinction between Wound and wound, as is reflected in the FAQ.
2nd.
The cover save rule for vehicles allows them to take a cover save, as a non vehicle model would have as well against a wound (again, NOT Wound (W)). However the Wounds caused by Impaler Cannons, must go directly against the Wounds characteristic profile of the model, in order for it to ignore the cover save, since that is how one inflicts Wounds. As vehicles DO NOT have a Wounds (W) characteristics profile, this leaves them immune to the effects of the Impaler Cannon in regards to their own cover saves. It also allows wounds caused by template weapons to ignore their cover saves, since they refer to wounds and NOT Wounds(W).
So in short and in reiteration. Vehicles DONT have Wounds, so Impaler Cannons don't ignore their cover saves.
|
3000
3000
2500
on the other hand Nobz they decided it was in the best interest of ork society that they "Go Green" as such they specifically modified their warbikes to not make giant smoke, dust, grit, clouds. Instead they are all about driving with clean air, one might say their bikes Gak out rainbows.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/01/22 12:40:31
Subject: The FAQ, Impaler Cannons, and Vehicle Cover.
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
2nd is not true, and yes vehicle cover saves unless generated by cover are ignored.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/01/22 14:13:00
Subject: The FAQ, Impaler Cannons, and Vehicle Cover.
|
 |
The Hive Mind
|
THE_GODLYNESS wrote:So in short and in reiteration. Vehicles DONT have Wounds, so Impaler Cannons don't ignore their cover saves.
This is the most convoluted and incorrect post I've read in here in a while. edit: ignoring the Impaler Cannon can you find a single place in the rules where wound does not also equate to a glance/pen on vehicles?
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/01/22 14:15:21
My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/01/22 15:21:36
Subject: The FAQ, Impaler Cannons, and Vehicle Cover.
|
 |
Tough Tyrant Guard
|
nosferatu1001 wrote:2nd is not true, and yes vehicle cover saves unless generated by cover are ignored.
I think you meant to say generated by terrain (As is the wording in the FAQ). Cover can be granted by vehicles, intervening models, etc. I know you know the difference, but some people may misunderstand the difference.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/01/22 15:30:56
Subject: The FAQ, Impaler Cannons, and Vehicle Cover.
|
 |
Battlewagon Driver with Charged Engine
|
THE_GODLYNESS wrote:1st:
Impaler Cannons don't ignore ALL cover saves. Models with a Wound (W) profile are still allowed to take cover saves, after meeting certain requirements. However, they only ignore cover saves if any actual Wounds were caused. Notice it is Wounds, and NOT wounds. The Rulebook makes a distinction between Wound and wound, as is reflected in the FAQ.
2nd.
The cover save rule for vehicles allows them to take a cover save, as a non vehicle model would have as well against a wound (again, NOT Wound (W)). However the Wounds caused by Impaler Cannons, must go directly against the Wounds characteristic profile of the model, in order for it to ignore the cover save, since that is how one inflicts Wounds. As vehicles DO NOT have a Wounds (W) characteristics profile, this leaves them immune to the effects of the Impaler Cannon in regards to their own cover saves. It also allows wounds caused by template weapons to ignore their cover saves, since they refer to wounds and NOT Wounds(W).
So in short and in reiteration. Vehicles DONT have Wounds, so Impaler Cannons don't ignore their cover saves.
This is all incorrect, because you are making a false distinction. There is only ever one thing meant by 'wound' in the BGB, namely the consequence of a hit which succeeds at wounding and is then not saved; there is no distinction ever drawn between 'wound' and 'Wound'. The Wounds characteristic on a model is an indication of exactly how many wounds the model can suffer before it dies (meaning how many wounding hits it can fail to save).
Furthermore, vehicles take saves against hits EXACTLY like other models take saves against wounds. . . which means that, as you are arguing that there is a situation in which vehicles and non-vehicle models take their saves differently, you're wrong. If vehicles and non-vehicle models save differently against this weapon, then the vehicles are not saving exactly like the other models, in which case you're breaking the rules.
|
|
|
 |
 |
|